$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
1,273 reviews
Perfect Home Base for Chicago

The hotel was charming and had tons of character. Not like your usual sterile chain environment. We... See full review

  • Susan D.
  • Apr 29, 2015
Every Stay

I have brought friends and family to stay at the Congress for years! I love the location of the... See full review

  • barbara b.
  • Apr 29, 2015
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.3 mi

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1273 out of 1273
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doctor Knight
Business
New York
Jan 22, 2014

No Wifi. No breakfast. Old rooms. Old hallways.

I can't remember the last time I checked into a hotel with no complimentary WiFi. They charge $12 per device, per 24hrs. How extremely disappointing. The rooms and halls look like they were taken out of a 1950 horror movie. The bed mattress is hard and the linens have never had contact with fabric softener. There's no way to control the heat in the rooms. If your business starts at 7, and it probably does, well tough luck you'll miss the breakfast that kicks off late at 6:30am. Not that it matters since that's not complimentary. Overall, way too many corners were cut here, and the location is all that's left. Given how efficient the underground transit is here in Chicago, I strongly recommend you find another hotel elsewhere, and just take a sub to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wantedfun
Business
Indiana
Mar 18, 2014

Worst trip ever

Hotel seemed dirty and staff rude and unfriendly. I would never reccomend this hotel to anyone. I should have paid 20 more to stay in the Blake or a little more to stay in the Swissotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 25, 2008

not good for anything, but it is in downtown

This hotel is nothing special. The rooms are really small and torn up and the location is not close to anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the buckingham fountains are across the street, but the were closed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wonder
Business
USA
Feb 24, 2008

The worst hotel ever !

The Congress Plaza Hotel, My room number wasn't clearly marked, they was a fire escape sign right above my room door I assumed that was the doorway to the fire escape. The room was very dated, broken head board, holes in the cieling the desk drawer didn't open are close because they were bented, the window view was the fire escaped and the drapery won't closed, I called the front desk the have someone fix this issue, I waited for a half an hour and went down stairs to speak with someone directly, (someone from the service department told the front desk person they fixed the issuse a while ago) I insisted that no one was been to my room, 15 mins lately a service guy came by. The vendening machine took my $1.75 for a can soda. Later I with down stairs to bar to wind down, after a bit I wanted to know if the hotel had a mircowave, so I was about to walk across the hall to the front desk, when I fell off the landing from one of the bar's enter way. The next morning I had a luke warm shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago is the place for great eats and things to do. I visited to Shedd Aquarium and a Latin Resturant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 22, 2007

Horrible Room

This Hotel had a nice Lobby, Check In was easy, and the location is great. That is the only good I have to say about this hotel. The room was disgusting, Holes in the carpet, Paint on the ceiling in the bathroom was all bubbled and cracked, towels were stained, carpet looks like it is from the 70's in style and dirt content. Draperies had tears in them. When we first got in the room none of the lights or electrical appliances (TV & Room Safe) would work. Come to find out everything is on one light switch. With out that on nothing works. I used the valet and my car sat there for over 45 minutes before finely being taken. I recommend to keep looking for other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's right on Michigan Avenue, lots to do there Millennium Park is about 2 blocks away, the Mag Mile is about 1/2 mile away. Everything is in walking distance and there is plenty of reasturants nearby to eat at (The hotel reasturant was closed the Saturday night I was there) but there is a local places and Bennigans near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montana
May 4, 2009

Congress Plaza Not Recommended

This is an old hotel that is trying to live on its former glory. Everything was old and not well maintained. The carpet in the rooms was very old and felt dirty. Had to walk around in socks. I would not recommend staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jan 11, 2010

Chicago Expereince

There was a strike going on outside the hotel. There was an older man at the valet parking area that was extremely rude when we checked in. The rooms smelled musty. The beds were uncomfortable. Parking was $33 a night, which was not included on any information that I receieved. The normal staff were not friendly. I was in Chicago visiting Northwestern Hospital for a surgical consulatation. This was the worst hotal I have ever stayed in! And that's beating out Motel 6 for a bad experience!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

If going down Michigan Ave. to go shopping, it was a pretty long trek! Stay closer in the middle, unless you like long walks on concrete.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
klrarch
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Aug 1, 2010

"Not as good as advertised"

Location was great. It should have been advertised that the parking at the hotel was an additional charge. We had to pay an additional $28/night which added $112 to our stay. The water in the shower took 15-20 min. to get hot in the morning which was very frustrating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
grewa02
Business
Antwerpen, Belgium
Aug 4, 2011

Was not pleased

Where do I begin. Room looked like it was from the 1930's. Bath and Toilet were dirty, signs of hair from previous user. Doors and Windows were old. Hotel Breakfast was expensive and even though I booked hotel with breakfast hotel told me that I did not qualify because hotel was booked via cheap ticket. So I was left helpless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dont eat in hotel restaurant is to expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CDP11
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Great location, but that's about it.

We stayed for the weekend, and were so disappointed in the entire experience. The room was dirty - carpet, stained comforter, mirrors were dirty, table surfaces smudged and grubby. Bathroom looked like it was going to fall apart. There were holes inbetween tiles in the shower, the shower head was loose and in need of repair. The hallways were poorly lit and ventilated, had very gross odors, and generally needed tending to. What was most disgusting was that we found A dead cockroach on the stairs inbetween the first and second floor on Friday night. We told the front desk several times, but it still wasn't cleaned when we checked out on Sunday afternoon. Also, all day Friday there was vomit in one of the elevators. Again, despite telling the front desk and housekeeping, the vomit was there all day? I have never been been so disappointed in a hotel visit,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top