$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
1,145 reviews
Chicago

Had a great stay!! Hotel is in a perfect location. See full review

  • Applesax
  • Dec 22, 2014
fantastic trip

the hotel is good location and is close to millennium park. we enjoy the beautiful sunrise in the... See full review

  • Myth barbara
  • Oct 28, 2014
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.3 mi

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1145)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1145 out of 1145
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 25, 2007

Basic need hotel

It is all fashioned, but well kept hotel. Really fast elevators! Room was clean, relatively small with decent bed and bathroom. Orientation toward local rails did not provide a great view. The noise of passing trains was present from early in AM until late evening. Location on Michigan Ave. was a plus, as walking even late at night appeared safe. It is somewhat away from main business center, shops and restaurants, however. The biggest disappointment - small, poorly ventilated exercise room with bad TV, in the basement. After initial visit, I did not have any desire to use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great trails next to the lake, just across the street. The Milenium park is few blocks away. The aquarium is 20 minute walking distance. Majority of restaurants and main shopping area require about 30 minutes of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Sep 2, 2007

great location

easy access to all parts of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walkable distance to all sorts of entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 4, 2007

Great Hotel to Stay

The Congress Plaza Hotel did more than meet my expectations. We were especiall pleased with the view from our room. It overlooked Michigan Avenue, past the statues of the warriors, the huge fountain in Grant Park and on to Lake Michigan. We arrived late Saturday evening and were able to view fireworks from Navy Pier. It was a great hotel to stay in as far as location to all the sites we wanted to see. The staff was friendly and very helpful with directions to places we wanted to get to. I would stay there again any time I am in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Art Institute of Chicago, Lake Michigan and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pschulz
Business
chesterton, in
Aug 2, 2009

july fireworks/taste of chicago

we went to the taste of chicago. everything was wonderful. we could not have asked for anything else. we are already talking about doing the same thing next year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

if you want to stay over night to go to the taste you couldn't ask for anything better. also, we watched the fireworks right around the corner from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago next trip...CONGRESS
Business
Indianapolis, In
Jun 15, 2010

Great STAY...

The website does NOT give this hotel JUSTICE! This place has a great view and its in walking distance of EVERYTHING! Please dont go by the frone view of the hotel...take my word-ITS GREAT! The Bell Service gentleman ([...]) was GREAT! The front desk staff (young ladies) were EXCELLENT! I never expected the room to be sooooo nice and roomy! It had a great appeal and the staff was GREAT-whenever I called and asked questions or needed anything...they came within 15mins! I have stayed at many hotels in many cities, but my next trip back to Chicago (in July) Ive already planned to stay at Congress Plaza! I was having 2nd thoughts but Im soooo GLAD I went with this hotel over all the "big" names on Michigan Ave. they didnt compare to this hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 3, 2007

very pleased!

I had just spent a night in a hostel that was very bare bones the night before. I was very pleased with the hotel as a whole. Beautifully decorated lobby, very nice staff, and easy check in. Although I ordered a pizza, I was suprised at the restaurant and room service options for meals. I will definately be back for my next trip to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beautiful Millenium Park is a few blocks away. Worth the walk in the cold!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, IL
Aug 1, 2009

A Magnificent Stay

We visited the Art Institute, the Burnham display, and the Culture Center. We also rode the elevated, since we're mass transit fans- and so enjoyed seeing the improvements made on the Brown and Pink lines (Ravenswood and Douglas). Nothing really was missing from our trip. It was one of the best trips we've ever had to Chicago, and we've been visiting the city for nearly 40 years- for both recreation and business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I already have passed information on to friends who come to Chicago occasionally. The Congress Plaza is only a short walk from public transit (e.g. the "L"and buses), and attractive sites, like the Art Institute. Dining services are at hand nearby as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patty mom on a budget
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Jul 6, 2010

perfect location

Brought my two youngest and my sons best friend for a concert--we had an awsome time there was s much to do and see--all attractions are close this hotels location has got to be the greatsest--concierge was so helpful the whole time--told us places to go, how to get there etc. etc. we had a extra large corner room with 3 full size beds-- perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 22, 2008

great view

very friendly and great location ,close to everything downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

many restaurants close, museum of ART , parks and lake close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Jun 27, 2007

great time

I had a great time and my hotel had easy access to getting around Chicago. It was near many sites within walking distance, which is the best way to see Chicago. I loved the rustic look and how the hotel was classy but old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top