$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
1,508 reviews
nice place to stay

Valet was a little slow but, when checking in at 3 and everyone else is also checking in I... See full review

  • silly Philly
  • Jul 10, 2014
Great family get away

Stayed the weekend with wife, son, and daughter in law and we all loved this hotel, location, and... See full review

  • Terri and Sherrill
  • Jul 3, 2014
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8751 -87.6243
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Midway and O'Hare International Airports
Area description
Adjacent to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain. Near Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower.

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.3 mi

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1508)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
1508 out of 1508
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 22, 2007

great location

At the south end of the loop across from Grant Park you could'nt get a better location. I was traveling with a friend so I was very surprised to have a room with two seperate bed rooms with the bath between. The room was a little noisy, the bath did not have a exhaust fan and the hallway from the elevator to the room had no air condition. This was in the north wing. You can hear the El from the room. I still found the room adequate considering the great location and slept fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

buckingham fountain in Grant Park, Milleneum Park, Art Institute of Chicago, the El, the free trolley, the Chicago Architecture foundation for booking a architecture river tour of chicago, plenty of eating establishments in all price ranges. great bookstores,

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 1, 2008

Great location

The Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park is in a great location, right in Downtown Chicago. It is a short walk from Grant Park, Lake Michigan, and the Art Institute, one of the greatest art museums in the United States. I was in Chicago on business, so being in the heart of the cultural community, such as near the Spertus Institute of Jewish Studies, an architectural marvel, was important to me. The restaurant within the hotel was quite good, and we ate several memorable meals there. I would definitely recommend it; the service and food were excellent. Another aspect I loved about the hotel was its ambience and Old World charm. I enjoyed reading about its history, especially its role in national politics in the past. I actually took some of the postcards with pictures of the hotel to send to my family so they could see what it looked liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We especially enjoyed viewing he famed and beautiful paintings of the Impressionists!

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jakob
Geneva
Aug 8, 2007

Great location

Ideal place to stay for visiting. All the facilities (Tours, Theaters, Transport) in walking distance. Great town,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeremiah
Tampa, FL
Aug 14, 2007

great location

This hotel is in the perfect location, Right across from Grant park and Buckingham fountain, and a short walk from the sears tower. Getting to the train was a very short enjoyable walk as well, I will stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

If you walk down michigan ave going north you will cross the Chicago river and be in a great location for shopping.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Harris
Brentwood, CA
Jul 14, 2009

July 11th W/E at Congress Plaza Hotel

What a beautiful hotel. Yes the location is the best. Close to Birmingham Fountain and Grant Park. Millenium Park - all within walking distance. Clean rooms and great bar/lounge area. We had a great view of the Park and Lake Michigan from our hotel room. Only down-side was the noise, you could hear conversations in the hallways and rooms adjacent to our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Aug 3, 2007

Amazing View !!

It's an old hotel, and the workers have been striking since God knows when.. However, the folks there are friendly, and my room on the 14th floor facing Lake Michigan was GORGEOUS! Some of the reviews I read about the hotel were unfair. I mean, c'mon folks - it was built in the 1890's. They are trying to get everything fixed now. I suspect the Union and the striking workers are feeding some opf those bad reviews!! The room was old, but it was for the most part clean, and believe me, for the money it's a great bargain. I travel frequently to CHicago, and I will stay here again when I return next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 2, 2007

Great Location

The Congress Plaza was a great location to everything. We were there for the Taste of Chicago, and the hotel was right across the street. It was also close to everything else we went to see. Although its an older hotel, it is still maintained well. The rooms were larger than we anticipated and very comfortable. Seeing as this is more of a budget hotel, it had everything we needed. I would highly recommend this to anyone in the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street is Grant Park and Millenium Park. Two blocks away is Lake Michigan. You are very close to all the shopping and dining. They have free trolleys to take you to any attraction you may want to see.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 2, 2007

Great value

The Congress location is convenient and lakeside room view was great. Obviously an older hotel, but, clean and charming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk to the Chicago Art Museum

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sandy, OR
Oct 1, 2008

Charm from the Past

Lovely, well-maintained hotel with all the charm of the 1900's, yet modernized for comfort and business for the present. The view of Lake Michigan, Navy Pier, Museums, the stadium, Grant Park was exceptional from the 12h floor bay window! Staff was very friendly and made great suggestions for dining. They even gave a private tour of the movie famous Gold Room. Don't miss it! Wonderfulplace to experience our 35th wedding anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Art Museum, Millenium Park, Trolley touring bus, Theater, Michigan Avenue are easy walks. The Stadium for Bears Game are short bus rides to name just a few. You are in the heart of Downtown Michigan Avenue with lakeside view!

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Allen Chen
Philidelphia
May 7, 2014

on business

It;s good, just a little bit old. location is convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top