$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
1,112 reviews
good expedience. get what you paid for

The room was clean. The lake view in my room itself was worth half of the money. The staff was... See full review

  • ali mohammad
  • Aug 22, 2014
Convenient Location

The Congress Hotel is in the middle of everywhere. Situated near a huge open park. You couldn't ask... See full review

  • Lazy man's lobster
  • Aug 13, 2014
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8751 -87.6243
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Midway and O'Hare International Airports
Area description
Adjacent to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain. Near Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.3 mi

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1112)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1112 out of 1112
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy D
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Excellent Experience

The hotel was wonderful, very historic! The proximity to everything we wanted to do was perfect, if you don't feel like walking everywhere there is a cab stand right outside the hotel, with cab drivers who dont make you scared for your life! The concierge was incredibly friendly. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lou Malnati's pizza, AMAZING. Try the Chicago Classic, with a Matilda Beer.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just Pleased
Business
Southern, IL, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Wonderful

I can not say enough about this hotel. Everyone was more than perfect. Don't change a thing! I can promise you when I travel through Chicago again, there will be no "trying to decide" where to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

"Buddy Guy's Legends" on a Saturday night..

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mikeh785
kansas
May 22, 2012

Great place

awesome hotel for a low price, very close to lots!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GGRICKER
Lake forest IL
Jun 4, 2012

Congress Plaza

We booked this room last minute - no rooms in the city and were expecting an alley view but instead had the most magnificent views of Lake Michigan, Buckingham Fountain and Grant Park!!!! Terrific!! Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baby Tiger
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 26, 2012

Business Trip

Excellent to stay and dining nearby restaurant was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PJ Little
Elkhart, IN
Jul 16, 2012

Wonderful Getaway Trip

From the minute we drove up, till the day we checked out, we received excellent service and we were delighted with our room. We will definetly stay at The Congress Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LOFSANDL
California
Jun 7, 2012

Great view

The room and view were fabulous !!! We were on the 10th floor with a picture window view of the lake with a 180 degree view looking north. The room was big and the bed was one of the most comfortable that I have slept in. Staff was great and added to the stay. I would stay here again in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TimeTraveler1885
Business
Miami, Fl.
Oct 21, 2012

Great for the price !

I went to Chicago on a business trip. Chose the hotel because of the pricing. It's location was perfect. Walking distance from a lot of fun & enjoyable places. The place is old & is in need of renovations but for the price the place was great. I was only in the room when I needed to go to sleep. I would definitely stay at this hotel again !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Starbucks in almost every block lol.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Girl Erica
Plainfield, Illinois
Nov 18, 2012

Amazing Birthday Weekend!

My boyfriend and I stayed one night at The Congress and we couldn't have been more pleased. The location is very convenient, right on Michigan Ave and within walking distance of any attraction you would like to go to. Being across from Grant Park was amazing too. The men who valeted our car were amazing. They were very helpful and understanding that we had no idea where anything was in Chicago! They gave us directions to the places we wanted to go and told us they would be there at all times if we had any other questions. When we walked inside to check in we were blown away. The lobby is so beautiful, very intricately painted walls, beautiful chandeliers and big red comfortable couches! The only problem I did have while staying here was we had a little trouble checking in. The woman who I dealt with was not very friendly and when I had trouble with my credit card going through she was not very understanding and told me "there's nothing I can do for you" that bothered me because I spent a good amount on the room for the night, so I was expecting for them to find something to do for me. Upon arriving in the room we were stunned, it was so beautiful, it reminded me of old, antique beauty. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable! All of the decor was unbelieveably beautiful. The bathroom was a bit tiny for our liking, but that wasn't of the biggest concern. The view from our room was indescribable. We sat in front of the window for about 30 minutes just looking outside. You are right across from the Buckingham Fountain, you can see all the skyscrapers and Lake Michigan. It was breath-taking. There were many restaurants and places to shop within walking distance of The Congress, it was very easy to get around. We had so much fun and it was such an amazing place to stay, it was well worth the money spent, it is a great place to create some lasting memories, with family or with a significant other!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to be in the city, make it a point to become familiar with the street names you will be close to, otherwise you will end up walking around in circles endlessly seeing the same streets over and over

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike Mount
Palm Harbor Fl
Dec 4, 2012

Fantastic trip to Chi-town

Hi, My name is Mike and I stayed in the Congress Plaza Hotel on Dec 1 - 3 and had the most wonderful experience. It was so close to everything and the views were breathtaking. Me and my girlfriend Jen will be back and know where to stay again. Thank you for your friendly staff and help with anything we needed and to make out stay in your beautiful city so comforting. Da Bears!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search