$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
1,498 reviews
Great family get away

Stayed the weekend with wife, son, and daughter in law and we all loved this hotel, location, and... See full review

  • Terri and Sherrill
  • Jul 3, 2014
Room 755 in the Tower - great

pleasant weekend stay for the Chicago Blues Fest - right in the middle of all of it - happy to be... See full review

  • MLVMLV
  • Jun 16, 2014
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8751 -87.6243
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Midway and O'Hare International Airports
Area description
Adjacent to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain. Near Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower.

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1498)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
257 out of 1498
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenn and Mallory
Peoria, Illinois
Jul 7, 2014

Family Fun

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 3 year old. The room was huge and worked well for us. The a/c really worked, which would've been great for hot weather, but it was fairly mild while we visited. The hotel has a perfect location. Can walk everywhere. Our floor was under some major renovations but it didn't effect our stay. The rooms are old, but charming. The bed was a bit harder then we like and you can here a lot of street noise even from the eleventh floor. Overall it met our needs and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
1st hotel to disappoint
Birmingham, AL
Jul 4, 2014

Disappointed

My reservation was not there or acknowledged until a long 45 minute telephone call. I had a printout with confirmation numbers so they could not deny me yet I felt that they wanted to. Big wedding in the hotel was all they were addressing. I felt staff were resentful of guests and slow to help. Room was small but water was slow and never got past warm in shower. Loud bathroom fan ran with light so you could not "hear yourself think" in bathroom. It could not be turned off. I will not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terri and Sherrill
Denver, NC
Jul 3, 2014

Great family get away

Stayed the weekend with wife, son, and daughter in law and we all loved this hotel, location, and all the attractions. Everything in walking distance or a short cab ride. What a memorial family get together. The ambience of this hotel is incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GRL1
Ellisville, IL
Jun 30, 2014

Faded glory

The Congress looks nice in the common areas but underneath it needs a remodel. The lobby is nice the staff is friendly and helpful, our room however was lost in the sixties. The decor was outdated, the wallpaper was pealing the bathroom fixtures were rusted and the beds were hard and only double beds. The food in the restaurants was very good and the servers did a very good job but it was expensive and it took a long time to arrive. The parking garage staff were very friendly and willing to help but beware it is $39 a night to park. Overall The Congress is really close to being a very nice place to stay. It is just missing that extra something to make it a 4 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xelier
Puerto Rico
Jun 25, 2014

Perfect Location

Perfect location in front of millenium park and walking distance from all important places. Staff were very nice with us, most of them speaks spanish/english. Love it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the architectural river tour first because they give you the best places to go.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago Fun
San Diego, CA
Jun 25, 2014

Fantastic location

Old but historical building. Very convenient to major visits for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago museum

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VisTheGreat
Shelton
Jun 20, 2014

Overall Excellent

Friendly ,Good and Pleasant stay.It was very good to stay there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Narcie
Mpls, MN
Jun 18, 2014

Blues Fest

Building was old, but then most of the hotels in this area are from the late 1800s early 1900s. About the only complaint was that the shower water took long time to just get warm, did not have a hot shower, but all in all was a good place to stay, rates were high but every hotel was at the time for the festivals going on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

11 restaurant 11th/Wabash..

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lcee
lincoln, ne
Jun 6, 2014

pricey

for paying over $200/night, we had the SMALLEST hotel room i have ever stayed in. AND i called ahead to tell them we had our toddler with us so we need a crib and if there was maybe a larger room to accommodate that would be great. after seeing the other rooms while they were being cleaned...we had THE smallest room. thanks for nothing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AvonWalker
Orland Park, IL
Jun 2, 2014

Convenient, but needs a lot of work

This was our fourth year in a row staying for the Avon Walk. We love the location and the size of the rooms, but they definitely need maintenance. This the the third time we couldn't used the safe in our room. There were no batteries in it, so we called down. They sent a security officer about a half hour later, who asked if we were having problems with it, and wasn't told to bring batteries. He goes to get batteries, another half hour goes by, so we tell the front desk to forget about it, because it was already an hour later by then, 10pm, and we needed to be up at 4am. The security man comes back 10 min after that with batteries, which still doesn't make the safe work, then we're told we can either store our stuff in the vault downstairs or they can deliver a new safe in the morning. When we explained we had to leave at 5:30am for the Walk, they got an attitude and said it wouldn't be there by then, and told us to call when we "figure out what we want to do." Unbelievable. Don't advertise in-room safes if they don't work and can't be immediately replaced! We didn't feel comfortable leaving our gadgets with anyone else, so locked suitcases and Do Not Disturb signs were our security. The floors beneath the carpeting are very uneven in the rooms, there are holes in the walls from old fixtures, wood trim separating from the walls, our toilet rocked and there were holes in the floor next to its base, and the light switch outlet for the bathroom (oddly placed outside of the bathroom door) looked like it had been punched in, as there was a gap next to the outlet. This hotel is great for the location, but for the price, could be better. Unfortunately, hotels book up extremely fast months ahead for the Avon Walk weekend, so we get stuck booking this, as it's the only thing close to opening and closing ceremony, and doesn't cost $500+ like all the other hotels. I was hoping that by year 4 of being here, things would have been spruced up, but no such luck. Be careful for the quick valet guys who want to scoop up your luggage and put it in storage while you check in, just to make a quick buck. We didn't need this, and after literally the one minute we spent checking in, we had to wait for the man at the storage area to acknowledges us and give us our luggage. It may be handy for folks with lots of luggage or if there are long lines, but we could've been up in our room faster, had we have had our luggage in our hands. Oh and I hope you don't mind seeing an occasional cockroach. This was the second time we had one in the closet. Gross!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top