$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1273 out of 1273
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sultanamaria
Business
Medford, nj
Dec 9, 2014

Interesting

Very cool historic building, yet when you enter the room it looks like a jail cell and you can feel the springs in your back when you lay on the bed. Not impressed at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Merkie
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 8, 2014

Great location. Great Price

The hotel is old, but still clean and an incredible location. It's only a 3 block walk to the art institute and a little further for all the shopping. Great value for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susie G
Business
Massachusetts
Dec 7, 2014

Great location!

We have stayed in several hotels in the area and were pleasantly surprised by the spacious room with a view of the lake. Rooms were very quiet, staff was very accommodating. Excellent location near the museum campus, soldier field and the loop. Elegant hotel with a "historic patina." We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Bell men were very well informed and helpful. Buy the 3 day CTA pass and forget the car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eager traveller
Business
Terre Haute, Indiana
Nov 30, 2014

Exciting weekend trip

We stayed at the Congress Plaza for two nights while we went on a weekend getaway to downtown Chicago. The location was nice, within walking distance to many touristy sites. The hallways were hard to navigate, as weird as that may sound.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mayday shower
Business
Urbana
Nov 29, 2014

Thanksgiving Trip

When I booked this hotel it said that the breakfast will be included, however, when we got to the hotel, they said that breakfast will be free only if we booked the room through the hotel website, The carpet in the room smells really bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Courtnizzle
Business
Omaha
Nov 28, 2014

Meh

Room was ok I guess. Not what we were looking for for a romantic weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frugal Professor
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Nov 24, 2014

Great location, noisy if near the L

I stayed at the Congress Plaza for 5 days for a recent work trip and found that it worked fine for my needs. The location was perfect, very close to the conference I was attending and near attractions like the art museum. It is also easy to get there via the L, which I liked. The hotel seems very old, a bit dingy. And my room was on the back of the hotel, which meant it looked out over Wabash Street and the trains. It was pretty noisy during the day. But the room was clean, the people were friendly, and the noise actually didn't bother me at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reviewer 108
Business
Iowa
Nov 24, 2014

Basics missing

The Congress has a fine location and I got in for a reasonable price. The atmosphere of decayed elegance isn't bad. But basic services were poor: hot water pressure was very low, room wifi was unusable most of the time, and it took them 3 days to repair a major plumbing leak in my bathroom. Not recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Panthers Fan California
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 23, 2014

Sparse on amenities, not on price

This hotel is good if you're looking for something cheap. It's definitely not luxurious though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HaydenH
Business
boston, ma
Nov 16, 2014

Best location

The room was pretty simple, the hotel was cool, nostalgic and unique. The location... absolutely the best! Right in the middle of everything and so easy to get to. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top