$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
1179 out of 1179
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Alexandria, VA
Jul 30, 2011

Great location

We were able to walk to almost all the sites we wanted to visit, and easily took a bus to those further away. The doorman was very helpful in telling us where to locate buses. Our room was to the back of the hotel but the trains were not near enough to disturb us. The view was open and not just looking at a wall. We could see the Sears Tower well from there. We did have to ask for wash cloths almost every day because they said there was a shortage, but they brought them promptly when we asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places for a quick breakfast, or other light meal, within 4 blocks. Hot Wok/Cool Sushi is a nice Asian restaurant with very reasonable prices.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
san mateo,ca
Jul 29, 2011

Very old, Needs a facelift

Great Location, but this was a very old building in need of some updating. A little paint modern shower curtain and room curtains could do this place a lot of justice. Some might like that old motel look and say it adds character. Air condition was not good not cold enough when it's 100 degrees outside. Huge hotel at times difficult to get to elevator depending on where your room is located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Minnetonka, MN.
Jul 26, 2011

the good and not so good

the room was o.k. check-in was supposed to be 3:00. Was there after 4:00 and was asked to wait because they were busy, not my fault. Had someone in next room VERY NOISY, like paper thin walls. Sunday night there was road construction going on, VERY NOISY, would have been nice to be on other side of this LARGE hotel away from the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, Texas
Jul 26, 2011

Old fashioned hotel has old feel

My husband is from the chicago area, and we were in town for a wedding last weekend, july 22-24. We decided to make a vacation out of it and stay at the Congress Plaza hotel, where the wedding party had rented out rooms. We regret staying there now, although there wasn't necessarily anything bad about the hotel - it just wasn't to our standards. It is a very historic hotel (historic is a nice word for old!) so if you can appreciate the history, then you can look past how badly it needs renovating. The mint green bathrooms made me feel sick to my stomac, and the shower had some rust spots in it. The towels barely covered my shoulders and were extremly thin. We thought the room was overpriced for a room so out of shape (we paid $125) but I do not know how this compares to other downtown chicago hotels. Oh also our bed was missing a fitted sheet. When we pulled down the covers after getting in late, it took us a minute to realize we were laying on a very old mattress pad cover. Gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 25, 2011

Congress Hotel

Great hotel, convenient to Grant and Millennium Parks. The staff was wonderful (free upgrade) and the room a step back into a more gracious time. Plenty of nearby restaurants. We walked a lot, but taxi and bus stands are close as is the Van Buren Metro station. We'll book here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Rockford, IL
Jul 25, 2011

ehhhh.... ok.....

Hotel was very clean.. and fresh.. just very out dated... king bed was uncomfortable.. I would recommend this hotel to someone who might be only staying downtown for one or two nights max. Or if you were planning on spending little to no time in your room. Also the AC in our room really sucked. It was barely cold... witch really sucked because it was over 100 Degree Outside and the room has such tall cealings it never cooled down the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy drinks at the hotel lounge... Walk two blocks down the street and save some money.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
mn
Jul 25, 2011

great

great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 25, 2011

We do no recommend this hotel

The hotel was old and not updated. They said there was Wifi in the Lobby, but we couldn't get it to work. The hotel location was convenient to our meeting, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blackwood, NJ
Jul 25, 2011

Room smelled

I was here on business, the location was pretty good and the lobby area was nice, but beyond that it needs serious updating and a more friendly staff. The front desk acted as if they cared less that I was there. The work out room was outdated and didn't have a water fountain. The room was pretty dated and the bathroom appeared to be 20+ years old. But the worst thing was the smell of the towels. The first day I showered I got out and after drying off I smelled worse. THe towels had a strong smell of smoke and must that transferred on to me, so I had to re-shower and use clean t-shirt I packed and the hair dryer. I did the same thing the followign morning, right before I checked out A DAY EARLY because I couldn't stand the smell. Also, I had a maid walk in without knocking for no apparent reason around 7 pm. I had the tv on pretty loud and was speaking on my cell phone, so she should have been able to tell pretty easily that someone was in the room. The smell in the room will be the reason I don't return. Also, when I was checking out I saw the staff speed away in my car. I asked the other guy working why he did that? He said, don't worry he'll bring it right back...40 minutes later (WHY?) he brought my car back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to train to take to Wrigley Stadium.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, Tx
Jul 25, 2011

fantastic location--old but nice

This hotel was picked for it's fantastic location...right accross from Grant Park/Buckingham Fountain. Easy walking access to many sites and good CTA (public transportation) access. The hotel concierge service was very helpful. Our only complaint was that the towels and bedding were of very poor quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the CTA and buy a 1, 3 or 7 day pass.

Back to menu Return to top