$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1200 out of 1200
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Champlin, MN
Jul 23, 2011

"Need to be updated"

The hotel stay was okay. The bathroom was too small and room need to be updated but it had a great view of the lake and fountain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Urbana, IL
Jul 22, 2011

"I ain't afraid of no ghosts"

So, I'll address what I'm sure everyone wants to know first: Is it REALLY haunted?! After booking this hotel, I discovered that it has been "rated" as the second most haunted hotel in the country. I stayed at the Congress for one night, and at no point did I feel like I wanted to call Ghostbusters. I really only used the room to relax for a few hours (on a Wednesday night) after a function down the street, then checked out around 10:00am. You can't beat the location; right across from Buckingham Fountain, which I had a great view in my lakeside, king bed room. I can't speak about the amenities from first hand experience, but I know they had a large, well decorated lobby and spacious bar area. The main reason why I'm only giving the hotel 3 stars instead of 4 or 5 is because for paying around $200 for a single night, I would expect to have a little more room to handle business in the restroom. The toilet was in the middle of the wall and tub, with only a few inches on either side. I'm 6'2", 35" waist, so I can only imagine how uncomfortable a person who is larger than me would be. Like I said earlier, the location is fantastic, but if you eat some bad Mexican food before you check-in, be prepared to be a tad uncomfortable on the John. The king bed, on the other hand, was fairly comfortable. Not the most cushiest, but I slept just fine. Overall, my stay was brief but enjoyable, and I wouldn't mind staying at the Congress again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Jul 22, 2011

pleasantly surprised

looking for properties....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jul 21, 2011

OK, but not worth the price

Was in Chicago over the weekend with friends and booked three rooms at this hotel. To begin with the good stuff: The location is great and we got a complementary upgrade to a suite. The not so good stuff: The staff is not that friendly or professional. The hotel is in bad condition, rooms have a weird smell and feels dirty. Rooms don't have any proper good air condition system. The hotel entrance really feels like a supermarket entrance, and the hotel is a bit scary overall. All in all this hotel is definitely don't worth the money. If you could pay half the price it would be OK place to just sleep for the night. We ended up just sleeping here, and spend no other time at the hotel what so ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Down on the Upside Traveler.
Business
Saginaw, MI
Jul 20, 2011

Affordable Michigan Ave Hotel!

Old style hotel (that has been updated). Great staff. Pricing was affordable as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa florida
Jul 20, 2011

great location

excellent accomodations. people were very pleasant and helpful. easy to get around.one of my most enjoyable trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

chicago style pizza at Lou Mandalis(not spelled correctly).. ask a local resident.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jul 18, 2011

Decent value

The Congress Plaza is an old, historic hotel. I suppose some would say it's a bit tired. The lobby is a very interesting throwback. The rooms have been updated and are very adequate. Mine was actuaally quite large. The location is great, right across from Grant Park. It's probably not for everyone, but I rather enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Took the L to the Cubs game. Always a great time in Wrigleyville.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City of New Orleans
Business
New Orleans
Jul 16, 2011

Amazing view, great staff, old hotel

The view on the lake side was amazing: Buckingham Fountain, Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museun, Millennium Park, the two Indian statues at Grant Park, not to mention Lake Michigan! The staff was very friendly, helpful, courteous, and professional. If you get a kick out of staying in eccentric old hotels, you will love this place. If you need brand new McConstruction offering the very latest in boring homogenized shades of off-white and beige, steer clear of the Congress. This place is perfectly situated next to all manner of transportation and attractions and has great character and history! They even have a sealed up room #666. I wondered if it still has a window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get a cab, bus, elevated train, subway train just out the door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
abmunoz702
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 16, 2011

You get what you pay for!

This hotel is definitily made for those who don't intend on staying in the room for too long. Don't get me wrong, the room was very clean and the staff helpful, but the rooms are small. The location of the hotel is a HUGE plus. It is a perfect distance to all tourist attractions and direct route to ORD airport. They have a cozy bar downstairs with a pool table and the bartenders were very helpful. Overall a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save money on cab fare to the airport and just take the CTA trains to ORD or MIDWAY airports. It only costs 2.25 and is very easy! Ask any local or concierge desk and they will point you in the right direction. We used the CTA train to get everywhere (Wrigley Field/Various Bars etc.) and saved AT LEAST $200 in cab fare!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JarredfromCongressConstructionRenovation
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 15, 2011

Construction Noise from 10th/11th Floor

While everything else went well including a great Bell Captain's recommendations, the incessant pounding that proved louder than cymbals clashing together from nearby construction wrecked the visit. Calling the front desk, they presumed to tell me that they had other noise calls and were sending security, but each day the same loud pounding noises occurred. I believe that they are doing construction without stating it to potential guests which to me is a fraud. I don't see how the loud noise could possibly be coming from a guest. The noise is so loud that it makes my entire being tense up from all the pounding. I write this as it is happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing city, as everyone knows.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top