$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1160 out of 1160
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike Mount
Palm Harbor Fl
Dec 4, 2012

Fantastic trip to Chi-town

Hi, My name is Mike and I stayed in the Congress Plaza Hotel on Dec 1 - 3 and had the most wonderful experience. It was so close to everything and the views were breathtaking. Me and my girlfriend Jen will be back and know where to stay again. Thank you for your friendly staff and help with anything we needed and to make out stay in your beautiful city so comforting. Da Bears!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Dec 2, 2007

good value

The room was good sized, obviously an old building but found it to be clean and neat. Bath tub drain was slow, but all other utilities worked well. View from 6th floor was enjoyable. Would consider staying there again. Pickets out front were no problem and showed themselves to be quite useless/foolish. Appeared to be obviously hired walkers for the day which should be illegal in itself in my view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago symphony/ Millenium Park/MI Ave.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 16, 2010

Great place to stay

This was a great place to stay especially for the price. It is an older hotel that is not brand new, but that was part of its' charm. The rooms were very clean, staff was friendly and efficient. The location was excellent for downtown Chicago and right across from Grant Park and the lake. You can pay more for a park view if you want. Our room looked out on the city and the El. I loved it, and did not think it was noisy for being in the middle of a city. This was our first time in Chicago and the staff was very helpful in getting us around town. I will definitly stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BKL FL
Business
Orlando, FL
Dec 6, 2007

great place to stay at the center of downtown

This is a great value for the money! Great location in heart of downtown Chicago! Room was very comfortable and clean. I arrived in Chicago by Amtrak and left by air staying at the hotel overnight(cost of train to O'Hare from hotel $2.05). Easy access to both modes of transportation. I had scheduled a late departure from Chicago so I had time to enjoy a walk around downtown and trip to the top of the Sears Tower. Will use this hotel on return trip to Chicago rather than hotel stay in suburbs nearer an airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sights, food and transportation are from 1 block to 10 blocks.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 30, 2007

Great to be in downtown Chicago.

The Congress Hotel was comfortable and clean with all the amenities needed. It is in a great location, right in the heart of downtown. It was great being in walking distance to the art institute and other tourist attractions. It was also great to be in walking distance to the train station. I felt safe walking downtown at night-- fairly unusual for a big city. I highly recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 22, 2007

great location

At the south end of the loop across from Grant Park you could'nt get a better location. I was traveling with a friend so I was very surprised to have a room with two seperate bed rooms with the bath between. The room was a little noisy, the bath did not have a exhaust fan and the hallway from the elevator to the room had no air condition. This was in the north wing. You can hear the El from the room. I still found the room adequate considering the great location and slept fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

buckingham fountain in Grant Park, Milleneum Park, Art Institute of Chicago, the El, the free trolley, the Chicago Architecture foundation for booking a architecture river tour of chicago, plenty of eating establishments in all price ranges. great bookstores,

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Jul 13, 2008

Hotel Review

The Congress Plaza is right on Michigan Avenue and very convenient to everything downtown. The hotel is older but reasonably well maintained. Bathroom was nicely update and the room was clean,neat, and also updated. I did not have the opportunity to try the hotel restaurant but it looked appealing, both in choices and prices. Parking is expensive at $41 per night, but not more than the majority of downtonw hotels. Overall, it was good value for the money. I would come again and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The large downtown park is just across the street and only a few blocks from the beach.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 9, 2008

Great location

I was apprehensive with the age of the Hotel, but was pleasantly surprised with the size and cleanliness of the room (even though the carpet was dated) and the beautiful view of the fountain and lake from our bay window. The staff was pleasant and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The quaint Corner Bakery Cafe has wonderful breakfast selections ~ great way to start your day.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Sep 11, 2007

Very Nice

Great hotel, especially liked the historic character and large room. Location is great, loved the restaurant too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grant Park, Millenium Park, museums, restaurants, CTA & METRA trains.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Oct 5, 2007

Stylish old world charm

If business or pleasure brings you to Chicago and you want to be a stone's throw away from Grant Park, the Art Institute, Millenium Park, the Miracle Mile, the Loop, Printer's Row or a sweep of the most incredibly varied architecture to be found anywhere on the planet, The Congress Plaza is your ticket. Built over a hundred years ago as part of the grand hotel system of the gilded age, the Congress Plaza offers high ceilings, real wooden moldings, a ballroom that is to die for and a lobby with gorgeous art work that invites gawking and lingering. The staff is competent, friendly and knowledgeable. It has plenty of amenities including a game room, a fine restaurant, coffee shop, convention facilities that don't overwhelm or intrude and plenty of nooks and crannies where you can sit and chat. Even though some aspects of the plant have, alas, not entirely withstood the ravages of age (plumbing in old hotels is particularly susceptible to odd quirks ) the hotel holds itself with grace, poise and an elegance rarely found in more modern establishments. For value and location the Congress Plaza can't be beat. It was a very worthwhile experience. I would come back in a heartbeat .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About three blocks away on Wabash is a fine and very reasonably priced Thai Restaurant named Tamarind. Just a little bit down the street you will find a very good liquor store with an excellent selection of wines. The neighborhood is also very artsy, given the large number of colleges in the area.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 15, 2007

Super Value

After comparing the Prices of Downtown Chicago Hotels and reading some un-favorable reviews of this hotel, I was worried that I may be getting into a poorly run rat trap dump. But the 4 nights we spent there were absolutely great. This is a Full Featured Gloriously Grand Super Hotel. Everything worked great, the Air conditioner was plenty powerful, you could have turned the room into a Refridgerator and stored milk in there if you wanted to. Their were no problems with anything. The Staff was very professional and very courteous. There were no Bugs, roaches, Spiders, mice or Rats at all of any kind. Our view was great, and I don't know if there even is a better location in all of Chicago. It was absolutlely central to everything you could imagine. I am still baffled why they don't charge More !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The main Chicago Welcome Center, Millinium Park, Grant Park, The Metra Station, All of the CTA Trains, about 20 different Busses including several Free Chicago Trolleys, The Lake Front, Art Institute, Library, The Chicago Mercantile Exchange, Sears Tower, Hancock Tower, Navy Pier, Burnham Harbor, and the List goes on and on . . .

Back to menu Return to top