$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 4, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
1,189 reviews
1D concert

I came with 2 teens for a concert. The hotel was a great location. I chose it because it's haunted.... See full review

  • DJH in Mpls
  • Feb 23, 2015
great overnight stay

close to my place of business. nice big room. clean. did not have time to check out amenities. will... See full review

  • a working weekend
  • Feb 18, 2015
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1189)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1189 out of 1189
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Allen Chen
Business
Philidelphia
May 7, 2014

on business

It;s good, just a little bit old. location is convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Aug 3, 2007

Amazing View !!

It's an old hotel, and the workers have been striking since God knows when.. However, the folks there are friendly, and my room on the 14th floor facing Lake Michigan was GORGEOUS! Some of the reviews I read about the hotel were unfair. I mean, c'mon folks - it was built in the 1890's. They are trying to get everything fixed now. I suspect the Union and the striking workers are feeding some opf those bad reviews!! The room was old, but it was for the most part clean, and believe me, for the money it's a great bargain. I travel frequently to CHicago, and I will stay here again when I return next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 28, 2007

Great sight seeing advantage

Our room was very large and clean. We didn't have a view of the park but, due to excellent weather we only slept in the room. We didn't take advantage of the restaurant because we wanted to try different places. There were 39 restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Millenium Park was across the road, very close to Shed Aguarium, Field Museum and Adler. The Buckingham fountain was across the road and Wed. night we walked to the water to see the fireworks from the Navy Pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John and Ann
Business
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Sep 15, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price.

We went to Chicago just to relax and enjoy the city. For 5 days we did just that and loved it. The Congress is an old, charming hotel right on Grant Park, in front of Buckingham Fountain, and on the Chicago Lake front. We walked, took a one day guided tour, rode the Transit System (we bought a pass), and used some cabs. All travel in the city was easy, in-expensive, and pleasant. We visited The Art Institue, The Aquarium, The Museum of Natural History, and the Museum of Science and Industry, and Navy Pier. All museums are immense, exquisitly done, and are reasonably priced. They are all accessible by the public bus and the subway system. The Congress Hotel Staff was most helpful and accomodating. The Hotel ambiance, location, and staff all made the stay a REALLY PLEASANT EXPERIENCE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the Hotel staff for suggestions on where to go and how to get there. Buy a CTA Transit pass. (1-day, 3-day, 5-day, etc.) Go to the top of one of the really tall buildings. We ate at top of The John Hancock tower twice. We spent time in Millenium Park (Attended 2 free concerts.) and Grant Park. Both are clean, have beautiful flowers, and are safe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 16, 2008

My review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Was very pleased with the room. the Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Although we did not use the hotel restuarants they looked very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Commerce, MI
Sep 6, 2008

My wife and I stayed here ...

My wife and I stayed here for a quick visit in August. We stayed two nights. I was a little skeptical after seeing all the bad reviews but we decided to give it a shot, it's only two nights. The hotel is certainly old, and some things reflect that, however we DID NOT encounter any problems with service from the staff. Check in was quick and friendly, they brought up extra pillows within ten minutes of us calling for them, room service was faster than I thought, and check-out was also quick. The room itself was smaller than I'm used to, and we were on the city side without much of a view, but we did get a less expensive room. The elevators and hallways were clean and well lit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clinton Twsp., MI
Jun 25, 2008

Old but gratious

Location very good for seeing the museums and dining. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful. Very close to Union Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The architectural Foundation store is two blocks away. Great store and a place to make reservations for several tours. Our best one was the Architectural River Tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mocha diva 15
Business
Belleville Il
Jun 27, 2011

congress hotel

I went to Chicago to attend the taste of Chicago. I wanted a hotel near grant park. Upon searching i found Congress Hotel. This is an older hotel but nice and clean. The staff was wonderful.Unfortunately I had a problem with my toilet. I call the front desk clerk. In less than ten minutes someone was there to fix the problem Upon arrival the maitenace man realize the problem. He called front desk and we were immediately moved to another room. We were also given breakfast vouchers for our troubles. I can say that I had a wonderful stay and the hotel and staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if your looking for affordable food or just sick of hotel food. There was numerous fast food as well as fine ding restaurant within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 5, 2008

Great !

Although part of the staff was on strike and picketing during our stay, we didn't seem to miss out on anything we needed. The staff was friendly as well as very helpful. In a city with so many means of transportation they knew the bus and train routes, so we didn't waste time getting lost or trying to read maps. The room was spacious and very clean. Although our room did not face Grant Park, we still had a view.The cleaning staff always greeted us as we came and went. My son was there for a college audition and they allowed us to get into our room early that he could change and get ready. This hotel has a great location, across from Grant Park and The Art Museum.It also is in walking distance to many great restaurants,the university district and train and bus stops. We will stay her again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grant Park with the famous Buckingham Fountain The Art Institute of Chicago Chicago Segway Experience tours Architectural tours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pekin
Sep 29, 2008

Great Location and Very friendly staff

Rooms were nice size. Beds very comfortable. The location was great for getting catching the train to take uszs to Wrigley Field. We hve stayed there twice and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The train station right behind the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top