$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1160 out of 1160
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 25, 2007

Basic need hotel

It is all fashioned, but well kept hotel. Really fast elevators! Room was clean, relatively small with decent bed and bathroom. Orientation toward local rails did not provide a great view. The noise of passing trains was present from early in AM until late evening. Location on Michigan Ave. was a plus, as walking even late at night appeared safe. It is somewhat away from main business center, shops and restaurants, however. The biggest disappointment - small, poorly ventilated exercise room with bad TV, in the basement. After initial visit, I did not have any desire to use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great trails next to the lake, just across the street. The Milenium park is few blocks away. The aquarium is 20 minute walking distance. Majority of restaurants and main shopping area require about 30 minutes of walking.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Sep 2, 2007

great location

easy access to all parts of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walkable distance to all sorts of entertainment

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 4, 2007

Great Hotel to Stay

The Congress Plaza Hotel did more than meet my expectations. We were especiall pleased with the view from our room. It overlooked Michigan Avenue, past the statues of the warriors, the huge fountain in Grant Park and on to Lake Michigan. We arrived late Saturday evening and were able to view fireworks from Navy Pier. It was a great hotel to stay in as far as location to all the sites we wanted to see. The staff was friendly and very helpful with directions to places we wanted to get to. I would stay there again any time I am in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Art Institute of Chicago, Lake Michigan and shopping.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pschulz
Business
chesterton, in
Aug 2, 2009

july fireworks/taste of chicago

we went to the taste of chicago. everything was wonderful. we could not have asked for anything else. we are already talking about doing the same thing next year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

if you want to stay over night to go to the taste you couldn't ask for anything better. also, we watched the fireworks right around the corner from the hotel

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago next trip...CONGRESS
Business
Indianapolis, In
Jun 15, 2010

Great STAY...

The website does NOT give this hotel JUSTICE! This place has a great view and its in walking distance of EVERYTHING! Please dont go by the frone view of the hotel...take my word-ITS GREAT! The Bell Service gentleman ([...]) was GREAT! The front desk staff (young ladies) were EXCELLENT! I never expected the room to be sooooo nice and roomy! It had a great appeal and the staff was GREAT-whenever I called and asked questions or needed anything...they came within 15mins! I have stayed at many hotels in many cities, but my next trip back to Chicago (in July) Ive already planned to stay at Congress Plaza! I was having 2nd thoughts but Im soooo GLAD I went with this hotel over all the "big" names on Michigan Ave. they didnt compare to this hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 3, 2007

very pleased!

I had just spent a night in a hostel that was very bare bones the night before. I was very pleased with the hotel as a whole. Beautifully decorated lobby, very nice staff, and easy check in. Although I ordered a pizza, I was suprised at the restaurant and room service options for meals. I will definately be back for my next trip to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beautiful Millenium Park is a few blocks away. Worth the walk in the cold!!

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, IL
Aug 1, 2009

A Magnificent Stay

We visited the Art Institute, the Burnham display, and the Culture Center. We also rode the elevated, since we're mass transit fans- and so enjoyed seeing the improvements made on the Brown and Pink lines (Ravenswood and Douglas). Nothing really was missing from our trip. It was one of the best trips we've ever had to Chicago, and we've been visiting the city for nearly 40 years- for both recreation and business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I already have passed information on to friends who come to Chicago occasionally. The Congress Plaza is only a short walk from public transit (e.g. the "L"and buses), and attractive sites, like the Art Institute. Dining services are at hand nearby as well.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patty mom on a budget
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Jul 6, 2010

perfect location

Brought my two youngest and my sons best friend for a concert--we had an awsome time there was s much to do and see--all attractions are close this hotels location has got to be the greatsest--concierge was so helpful the whole time--told us places to go, how to get there etc. etc. we had a extra large corner room with 3 full size beds-- perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 22, 2008

great view

very friendly and great location ,close to everything downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

many restaurants close, museum of ART , parks and lake close

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Jun 27, 2007

great time

I had a great time and my hotel had easy access to getting around Chicago. It was near many sites within walking distance, which is the best way to see Chicago. I loved the rustic look and how the hotel was classy but old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top