$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
1,136 reviews
fantastic trip

the hotel is good location and is close to millennium park. we enjoy the beautiful sunrise in the... See full review

  • Myth barbara
  • Oct 28, 2014
An amazing place.

I am a divorced parent and my son lives in Illinois.This is the first time I ever stayed in... See full review

  • Dr.C
  • Oct 28, 2014
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.3 mi

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1136)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1136 out of 1136
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Girl Erica
Business
Plainfield, Illinois
Nov 18, 2012

Amazing Birthday Weekend!

My boyfriend and I stayed one night at The Congress and we couldn't have been more pleased. The location is very convenient, right on Michigan Ave and within walking distance of any attraction you would like to go to. Being across from Grant Park was amazing too. The men who valeted our car were amazing. They were very helpful and understanding that we had no idea where anything was in Chicago! They gave us directions to the places we wanted to go and told us they would be there at all times if we had any other questions. When we walked inside to check in we were blown away. The lobby is so beautiful, very intricately painted walls, beautiful chandeliers and big red comfortable couches! The only problem I did have while staying here was we had a little trouble checking in. The woman who I dealt with was not very friendly and when I had trouble with my credit card going through she was not very understanding and told me "there's nothing I can do for you" that bothered me because I spent a good amount on the room for the night, so I was expecting for them to find something to do for me. Upon arriving in the room we were stunned, it was so beautiful, it reminded me of old, antique beauty. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable! All of the decor was unbelieveably beautiful. The bathroom was a bit tiny for our liking, but that wasn't of the biggest concern. The view from our room was indescribable. We sat in front of the window for about 30 minutes just looking outside. You are right across from the Buckingham Fountain, you can see all the skyscrapers and Lake Michigan. It was breath-taking. There were many restaurants and places to shop within walking distance of The Congress, it was very easy to get around. We had so much fun and it was such an amazing place to stay, it was well worth the money spent, it is a great place to create some lasting memories, with family or with a significant other!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to be in the city, make it a point to become familiar with the street names you will be close to, otherwise you will end up walking around in circles endlessly seeing the same streets over and over

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike Mount
Business
Palm Harbor Fl
Dec 4, 2012

Fantastic trip to Chi-town

Hi, My name is Mike and I stayed in the Congress Plaza Hotel on Dec 1 - 3 and had the most wonderful experience. It was so close to everything and the views were breathtaking. Me and my girlfriend Jen will be back and know where to stay again. Thank you for your friendly staff and help with anything we needed and to make out stay in your beautiful city so comforting. Da Bears!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bluebubble
Business
st cloud
Dec 12, 2012

fantastic for tourist

good location with very esay access to traveling spots. can walk to the Art institute of Chicage, Field museum and millinum park. easy transportation. overall, a very nice choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Prospective student's dad
Business
Central NJ
Feb 25, 2013

Classy Old-time Chicago

Spectacular old-fashioned rooms with high ceilings and unbeatable views. Excellent location, especially for those interested in the Arts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have pancakes at the Bongo Room restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jewellr22
Business
Peterstown, WV
Apr 17, 2013

congress stay

had a wonderful time. this hotel is a great part of history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan Bzly
Business
Wilmington, nc
May 12, 2013

Great Location!

Loved the location of this hotel. Right near the train, which I highly recommend using to get around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely use the train to get from the airport to the hotel, and from the hotel to anywhere you want to go in the city. Saves a ton of money and time! Also, if you check out the aquarium, the $8 adult pass will get you to the entire bottom floor of the aquarium which will keep you entertained for quite a while!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nmaggers
Business
new york, new york
May 17, 2013

Great Stay in Chicago

I enjoyed all of the amenities as well as the atmosphere. would definitely visit again and recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nmaggers
Business
new york, new york
May 17, 2013

Great Stay in Chicago

I enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel as well as the cordial environment. The rooms were clean and comfy as well. I would recommend it to anyone I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ruth Z
Business
Peru,IL
Jul 6, 2013

Great Stay

Loved this Historical Old Hotel, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near to museum campus,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CtaDoe
Business
Illinois
Jul 14, 2013

Excellent Chicago getaway!

We went to Soldier Field for a concert and the hotel is very accessible. The staff are very friendly and courteous giving us directions especially the head of the Human Resources. He was so patient directing us where to go to reach the hotel until we reached the hotel door. Fantastic job especially that kind of traffic we encountered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Reasonable hotel price at Downtown Chicago and accessible to all attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top