$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
1183 out of 1183
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kimberly H.
Family
N/A
Aug 9, 2015

Family Trip

Great location. 2-room suite had plenty of room. Large bathroom but plumbing needs updating. Building shows it's age in rooms - too many coats of paint and old hardware keep interior doors from closing. Parking very expensive considering cost of room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue
Friends
N/A
Aug 6, 2015

LOLLA 2015

Great place to stay during lolla, staff was friendly and very helpful even during the stressful weekend. Prices are steep for the weekend, but the location makes it worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victor D.
Couples
N/A
Aug 2, 2015

Great place to visit !

The hotel is in a great location away from the crowds but in walking distance from attractions like cloud gate and Buckingham fountain. If i go back to Chicago staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zaza31
Couples
St-Augustin
Aug 2, 2015

Great location

Great location. Near metro and Grant Park. A lot of good restaurants close to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justin O.
Family
N/A
Jul 29, 2015

Chicago Family Trip

The staff was helpful and knowledgeable of the area. The room was huge and nice. The location was great, in walking distance to many things. Enjoyed our stay, would recommend it and book there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael M.
Business
CRYSTAL LAKE
Jul 28, 2015

Great Location

Worn old hotel, but great location, Close to Grant and Millenium parks and museum campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Applesax
Couples
N/A
Jul 28, 2015

We love to stay at the Congress!

We travel to Chicago almost 12 times a year- and we stay at the Congress every chance we get! It has a fabulous location, the rooms are always neat, tidy, and clean. We have a great time staying here and will continue to book our rooms at the Congress!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephen
Couples
Princeton
Jul 25, 2015

Great

Excellent location and nice experience. Room is older but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abel R.
Single
Chatsworth
Jul 21, 2015

Trip for RnR Chicago 1/2 Marathon 2015

I rather enjoyed my stay at the Congress Plaza Hotel. The building is dated and the room was a bit small, but since the purpose of my stay was only to sleep in preparation for running, I did not mind the room size. The view from my room was simply amazing! I couldn't have asked for a better location to have access to all the city has to offer. I would definitely stay here again and found the staff helpful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissatisfied Guest
Friends
Woodlyn
Jul 21, 2015

Not as advertised, awful experience

I neglected to read all of the views prior to coming. I have been to Chicago many times and was excited to stay in a historic location on the skyline. I took a friend who had never been for the Taste of Chicago weekend. Check in was more like purchasing a ticket at a busy bus terminal, we were greeted with a next. They didn't even say hello, just asked for credit card and id and handed us the room keys. The lobby is very old and outdated, as are the elevators. When you get upstairs it has an old dorm bldg. feel and you have to go through several dimly lit hallways. When we arrived in the room, the window was open and our view was of an aging fire escape and the inside of the hotel. The bed linens were -50 thread count, towels even worse and there was a cup of ice in the bathroom. It was like staying at an elderly relatives's 100 year old home, plaster walls and all. I immediately called down, because the room didn't even look clean. They asked that we return to the front desk, when we got down there, they identified us by our room number, handed us a new key and assured us the room was updated. Same room, different floor - though it was clean. There aren't even pictures on the walls! The furniture is very old and there is a stale smell throughout the hotel. We made due for the 4 day trip, but it was partly due to the fact that we planned to be out of the hotel as much as possible. The mattresses were unbelievably uncomfortable. The shower curtain too short. The toilet ran most of the night. I could go on and on....The price was reasonable, but they should have paid us to stay in those accommodations. Very disappointing, not a true representation of the city and what it has to offer. Tear down this relic or spend some money to rehab it. Don't waste your money staying there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top