$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1280 out of 1280
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Jul 15, 2007

Very nice hotel for money and location

The Congress Plaza hotel was very nice and clean. The hotel staff was great and there were no major problems. This hotel is near everything. It is right across the street from Grant Park. It is also walking distance to the Miracle Mile. We also could walk to just about everywhere ( Hancock Tower, Sears Tower, Lake etc.)and it was only a city block from the Library train station which is on the Orange Line which comes straight from Midway airport. There are also many public buses that go down the street in front of hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 17, 2007

Great Chicago Location

The rooms were bigger than expected (very clean) and I had a lovely view of Grant Park (downtown). The hotel is close to the water front and only a 15 minute can ride to Wriggley field. The only point of contention is that the mattress was hard as a rock. I suppose you could say that it is good for one's back, but I found myself stiff as board in the morning. Otherwise I was very pleased with the location, staff and recommendation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jul 5, 2011

Taste of Chicago best location

Art Institute of Chicago, The Cloud, Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium - all were in easy walking distance from this hotel. TOC was happening right outside the hotel doors! Navy Pier was an easy and fun 45 minute walk up Magnificant Mile. Chna Town, where we enjoyed a delicious morning Dim Sum, was only two subway stops away from conveniently located Harrison stop (red line). Try Rosebuds restuarant (Italian) 720 N.Rush and make sure to do Chicago First Lady Architectural boat tour along the Chicago River. Trips to and from O'Hare could not have been easier (blue line/Jackson stop). My only wish - that the hot water was a bit hotter. The Hotel was a classic beauty and my city view suite was huge. Thanks [...] for putting me on to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Study up in advance on the difference between the the larger city subway system and the Metra system (largely designed for commuters and gets you closer to venues right along Lake Michigan). We used the Metra system to get to the BodyWorlds exhibit at the Museum of Science and Energy - awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birmingham Dog Lovers
Business
Birmingham, AL, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Great in Chicago

The hotel checked us in at 10.00am. The staff was largely excellent, and they were certainly friendly. The hotel is one stop toward the Loop from Roosevelt, which is where we exited for the Field. The Art Institute is a short walk. The restaurant is okay, though there is a Thai place a block away on Wabash that has better food at a better price. The proximity to the Red Line made getting around where we wanted to go a relatively easy matter. This included getting from and to Midway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Museum complex including the Field, the Adler and the Shedd is decently close, and the Art Institute is a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Doylestown, PA, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Second time there

Older property, but love the location, staff and room. Love the high ceilings and open space in the room. Also love the high spout in the shower! No stooping to get under the water!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mnmstl23
Business
St. Louis, MO
Dec 14, 2011

Amazing Stay, Very Impressed!

First off, the location is perfect! Right in the heart of everything! The structure is gorgeous, marble floors, old time elegance all throughout the hotel. Staff was quick, efficient and friendly. The room was AMAZING! We had a lakeside king and the view was BEAUTIFUL! The bed was huge and comfortable. We fell in love with this hotel. Perfect place to stay if you are wanting to walk around and see Chicago but come back and really feel safe and clean in your room. Love it and highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Exchequer Bar and Grill has AMAZING food! Their deep dish pizza and hamburgers are to die for! The photos and memorabilia they have hanging throughout is totally cool!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy D
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Excellent Experience

The hotel was wonderful, very historic! The proximity to everything we wanted to do was perfect, if you don't feel like walking everywhere there is a cab stand right outside the hotel, with cab drivers who dont make you scared for your life! The concierge was incredibly friendly. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lou Malnati's pizza, AMAZING. Try the Chicago Classic, with a Matilda Beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just Pleased
Business
Southern, IL, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Wonderful

I can not say enough about this hotel. Everyone was more than perfect. Don't change a thing! I can promise you when I travel through Chicago again, there will be no "trying to decide" where to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

"Buddy Guy's Legends" on a Saturday night..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mikeh785
Business
kansas
May 22, 2012

Great place

awesome hotel for a low price, very close to lots!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GGRICKER
Business
Lake forest IL
Jun 4, 2012

Congress Plaza

We booked this room last minute - no rooms in the city and were expecting an alley view but instead had the most magnificent views of Lake Michigan, Buckingham Fountain and Grant Park!!!! Terrific!! Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top