$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 22, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1295 out of 1295
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ColumbusDuo
Business
Columbus
Oct 13, 2014

Good location but not clean enough

Staff helpful. Rooms old, dated and hard to keep clean. Just not kept up enough for my family with little kids that want to touch everything. Love location close to museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yolk is a great breakfast place recommended by Congress Plaza staff.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quick Traveler 1
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 10, 2014

Nice/Convenient

This is an "older" hotel, but it is nice. Some won't care for that, but it is quaint. Room was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anti Mat
Business
Livonia, MI
Oct 8, 2014

Great views and nice size rooms

The Congress is an older hotel but the room was large and there were plenty of electrical outlets which was a pleasant surprise. The bathroom had been updated which was nice. Flat screen TV mounted on wall, free wireless. I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to do the trolley just to get a feel for the city I would recommend it, however, expect it to take some time. Not a good transportation choice. The L trains are probably your best option for getting around. Not being used to public transit it was a bit daunting the first time but it's easy to figure out and get used to.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oz514
Business
St. Joseph , MO
Oct 8, 2014

so so

If you are looking for a modern contemporary hotel this is not it. The hotel is historic and the location perfect. Word is some presidents in the 1800's and early 1900's have graced the Congress Plaza with their stays giving them something to brag about. It was reasonably priced and the architecture can be appreciated. Just needs lots of updating. For eg:- who doesnt have a thermostat. We didnt have one in our room. My wife was digging the authenticity of the whole place but I wasnt so impressed, nor was I disappointed. So overall its a 2.5 star experience. Id recommend for location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deep dish.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
juh02
Business
Chino, California
Oct 8, 2014

Meh

They don't give you soap, shampoo, or conditioner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Al the Art Guy
Business
Medina, Texas
Oct 8, 2014

Like Travelling back in time

Staying here was like going back in time - unfortunately the year was 1973! The rooms are in serious need of updating Chippy paint and distressed furniture are everywhere. Hot water is also lacking - after 10 minutes got slightly above tepid. The reason to stay here is the location it was perfect for visiting The Art Institute, Millenium Park, The Chicago Architecture Foundation and taking the Merta to the Robie House in Hyde park. So if you need a nice room look elsewhere, if you need a place to be in the middle of Chicago's cultural attractions this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Architectural Foundation of Chicago's store - it is a cut above the average tourist shop with nice quality items for yourself or others on your gift list. Also take one their guided tours with one of their knowledgable docents and learn a little something about Chicago's rich Architectural history.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bambi m
Business
Utah
Oct 3, 2014

Quick getaway

Lobby was nice but hotel itself needs serious remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark the Great
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 2, 2014

Antique Feel

The hotel is likely very old so it was no surprise my room also felt old. The room itself felt extremely dated from the walls and carpet, but the furnishings were fairly new. The room was dimly lit as well as the hallway. The elevators near my room seemed to work only about half the time so i was forced to take the stairs from the 6th floor, which wasn't terrible. The air conditioner was pathetic to say the least. It hardly put out any air and was older than any hotel A/C unit I've ever seen. It had to be at least 30-40 years old. It was a big metal box with illegible knob controls for heat/cool. Luckily it there was no extreme weather so I didn't get too hot or cold. I'd say the cleaning crew came pretty late in the day compared to other hotels I have stayed at. They came around 5 pm for my stay. The location was great being right across from grant park and walking distance to Willis Tower and some local shops and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Klein jacik
Business
brooklyn
Oct 1, 2014

perfect stay !!

its was perfect stay !! nice clean , and safe. sort drive to our place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2014Leigh
Business
Dallas
Sep 24, 2014

Spooky & Needs Work

The hallway to my room was dimly light with a couple of the overhead lights flickering. I felt like I was walking into a horror movie. Rooms were clean and bathroom fairly updated. However, instead of scraping old paint and replacing rotted/damaged trim, a coat of paint was applied directly to the damaged areas. Much work needed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top