$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1218 out of 1218
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dkopek
Business
Rochester hills, MI
Sep 1, 2014

Great night stay.

The hotel has a great location in Grant Park and right off Michigan Ave. Easy walk to all the cool tourist sites. Great value hotel but it is over 100 years old. The room was a little musty and the lighting wasn't great. If you are looking for a relatively inexpensive room, walking distance to everything this place is recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Italian village was delicious as well as Lou Maltini's pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katechild
Business
Minnesota
Sep 1, 2014

concert weekend

Overall, the Congress Plaza Hotel was a great choice for our weekend in Chicago. We drove down for a concert at Soldier Field and it was close enough that we could easily walk to and from the venue, as well as check out the many parks and sights in downtown Chicago. Parking was a bit annoying, charging a large sum a night with no discount for staying at the hotel, but I suppose that's downtown Chicago for you. The staff was really friendly and pointed out some of the best pizza we've ever had (and that's really saying something in the Windy City) and gave us lots of options for things to do before and after the concert without a fuss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a great place to stay if you are planning on going to a game, concert, etc. at Soldier Field. About a 20-25 minute walk from the field, the path is clearly marked and is a fantastic alternative to busy traffic in the area!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amoney
Business
Fishers, IN
Aug 31, 2014

Quick weekend stay

Stayed here for one night and overall our stay was great. The lobby is beautiful. The rooms were nice but you could see some damage to the walls and the doors. Big comfortable bed with a great view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJH in Mpls
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 31, 2014

A Piece Of History

I choose the Congress Plaza because of the convenient location and view. As I read up on it, I saw it was one of the most haunted in Chicago. That sparked my interest. It's a beautiful, well preserved, well maintained building. The staff was marvelous. Upon check in, we were given a room on the 14th floor, which I thought would be a great view....it was a view of the middle of the north and south buildings (fire escape included). After seeing the view, I went to the desk and asked for a different view. She put us on the 9th floor, lake view! I loved it. It could have been better with a continental breakfast. As for ghosts.... They disappeared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Navy Pier and take an Architecture Tour by boat. There are many different type and prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlisonLovesFlowers
Business
Twin Cities, MN
Aug 31, 2014

Past grandeur

The location was fantastic. The hotel was so-so, and for the chance to stay in a great location for a price I could manage, it was fine with me. The Congress Plaza clearly was a showplace, and not surprisingly the choice of presidents staying Chicago. That said, from what I read, the last one to stay there was FDR. The rooms were clean and very large. The halls, dated and worn but adequate. The Congress Plaza was as expected, not 5 star, but not 5 star prices either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The GoChicago 3-Day Pass was a good deal for us because we like to be on the move. We saw many attractions and didn't feel obligated to stay a long time at any of them, which we would have if we had paid full price at a museum. It was an intense and fun 3 days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NOPARKING39NIGHTLY
Business
FL
Aug 28, 2014

Good Stay

Comfortable. HORABLE BEWARE....$89 TO PARK OVERNIGHT FOR 2 DAYS!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

NO PARKING

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clancy02
Business
Nebraska
Aug 28, 2014

BIRTHDAY GETAWAY

it was to high to park your car each day at 44.00 per day...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WI Guy
Business
Wausau, WI
Aug 27, 2014

Chicago getaway

Hotel is in a great location - very convenient to the parks and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
junkfoodbattery
Business
Traverse City, MI
Aug 27, 2014

Great Value in the art district

My roommate and I booked this hotel for two nights while we stayed in Chicago to see a concert at the Chicago Symphony Orchestra opera house, which is only 3 blocks from this hotel location. The nightly rate is moderately priced, and compared to most of the other hotels in the area, one would either have to pay quite a bit more per night, or stay in a hotel of significantly lower quality. The front desk staff is easily the weakest link of the entire operation, from what I could see. We made our reservations on this site a couple of weeks in advance, and printed off the confirmation email that we brought with us. When we tried to check in to our hotel, the woman working at the front desk asked us for the card we reserved rooms with, then ran it, gave it back and asked for a different card because that one was declined. Neither of us had any cards with money/credit on them, because we had planned to use cash for the entire trip. When we asked her why she was trying to charge my roommate's card, she told us we had to pay a $50 security deposit for the room, which wasn't mentioned at any point online, at their website, or in the confirmation email. We told her we only had cash so she put a $25 pending charge on his card and accepted the other half of the deposit in cash. Then she told us only 1 night had been paid for, even though we had a receipt showing we paid for 2 nights. She quickly realized this was an error, but was still pretty curt with us for the entire check in process. The woman who returned our cash deposit upon checkout wasn't much friendlier. However, the bell hops were very friendly and helpful with finding us a cab to our bus station after checkout. The housekeepers were friendly but seemed disorganized. During our first night in the room we put a Do Not Disturb sign on our door. We left our room for a few hours, came back and found the sign was missing from the door and housekeeping had been in to make the bed and bring more towels. This was fine, but we were left without a sign after that, and about 30 minutes after this happened, housekeeping knocked again, and when we didn't reply right away they just let themselves in, which was a bit awkward. Shortly after that we had a message on our room phone from housekeeping saying they had noticed we didn't have a Do Not Disturb sign on our door, so if we needed anything please let them know. I didn't know they checked rooms at 5 in the afternoon, thankfully we were both fully clothed at the time they decided to just let themselves in after taking away our sign. Other than that, the room was immaculate, we had a great view from our window, high ceilings, an elevator that was almost *too* fast, and lots of friendly little amenities for the bathroom and otherwise. Typical things like an iron/board, mini safe, flatscreen TV with cable, coffee/maker, overpriced room service, etc. The location was the biggest perk though. We were within walking distance from several restaurants and bars in widely varying price ranges and didn't have to use a taxi or public transit for anything except getting to Chicago and back from Michigan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We were only a short walk from Artist & Craftsman Supply, which is a fantastic 2-floor little art supply shop on South Wabash. Very reasonable prices on a large variety of art supplies and fun novelty items. The cashier recommended us to Reckless Records on East Madison, also a short walk away and a small shop with a large selection of old, new, popular, obscure & everything between vinyls, CDs, DVDs and even some video games.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1acy
Business
Jeffersonville, IN
Aug 25, 2014

Needs Improvements in Staffing

When we arrived we asked specifically what the parking rates were. We were told the price for valet parking and asked if that were the daily rate or the rate for our entire stay and were told it was the rate for our stay. That turned out to be untrue. The rate we were quoted was the daily rate, so when we checked out we were taken aback by the bill. Since we were misinformed about the rates by a staff member, we asked if the clerk could discount the rate for us, but we were refused quite impolitely. We looked a little more closely at the bill, and it turns out that the bill said it was charged to an American Express card. We don't have an American Express card, and the last four digits on the receipt were completely unfamiliar to us. So apparently, our valet bill was charged to someone else. We brought this fact to the attention of the front desk clerk and she just shrugged it off. I find this pretty disturbing. The room was clean and neat, but was in overall need of renovation. The carpeting in the hallway was worn, and there was some peeling paint and quite a few nooks and crannies that could use a good deep cleaning. The small elevators sometimes posed a bit of an inconvenience, but the overall location of this hotel is spectacular. Very convenient to sightseeing, shopping, and public transit. The biggest issue that we could see was that the staff were less than friendly and seemed a bit overwhelmed. The bartender, however, was a highlight of our trip. Whenever we needed directions or a restaurant recommendation, we avoided the bad-tempered clerks at the front desk and instead asked the bartender in the lounge off of the main lobby who was always very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

When going to the Field Museum, public transit is not the best option to get there. We tried biking over, but the road routes are much less convenient than simply walking through the park. It's about a 15 minute walk, whereas the bike routes on surface streets are confusing and congested with automobile traffic. Much better to walk than to bike.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top