$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
1,498 reviews
Great family get away

Stayed the weekend with wife, son, and daughter in law and we all loved this hotel, location, and... See full review

  • Terri and Sherrill
  • Jul 3, 2014
Room 755 in the Tower - great

pleasant weekend stay for the Chicago Blues Fest - right in the middle of all of it - happy to be... See full review

  • MLVMLV
  • Jun 16, 2014
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8751 -87.6243
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Midway and O'Hare International Airports
Area description
Adjacent to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain. Near Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1498)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
1498 out of 1498
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Visiting from NH
Business
New Hampshire
Nov 18, 2013

Definitely could have done without the roaches!

The location of the Congress is amazing! The hotel has so much potential having such a rich history, but sadly, the Congress fell very short of my expectations. Refridgerators do not come in the standard rooms, which makes saving those last 2 slices of pizza and a few bucks, impossible. The beds and linens were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was extremely small, and unfortunately there were a few guests of the insect variety. The staff offered nothing when I told them, other than the obligatory..."Ill let my supervisor know."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ckerkove
Denver, Colorado
Nov 12, 2013

Perfect!!

Booked a weekend trip to attend a Bears game. We were upgraded to a king bed room and views of the park/water. Room was old but still nice. Perfect location to walk to everything! Went to the bar one night and one of the bartenders was so polite. We didn't spend much time in our room except to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blondie59
Chicago, IL
Nov 7, 2013

Good for 2 night stay

Room was okay but did not have a very good view. Had view of a fire escape & other windows view of streets & Roosevelt University!!! Not very becoming!!! I guess I should've asked for a Lake view room of the Great Lake Michigan. Rooms did NOT have microwaves or refrigerators. What the heck? For as much as I paid per night I felt I should've at least had those 2 amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CWeis
Chesterton, IN
Nov 4, 2013

Historic hotel in the middle of everything

I booked a room at the Congress Plaza for the weekend of a running race. I wanted to be close to the start corrals in Grant Park, and the location was spectacular, particularly for the race. I was lucky enough to get a room with a view of Grant Park, which is beautiful as the sun rises, as well as when a storm blows through the city. The hotel is old, and you can tell (old carpet/wallpaper, creaky doors, really high ceilings, etc.), but I thought that it was charming and lends to the character of the hotel (especially when you walk into the lobby). My room was very comfortable and offered most everything that I needed for my stay. The Congress has a few restaurants onsite, but I didn't visit them. The staff wasn't overly friendly, but everyone that I met was reasonably courteous. My major complaint is with regard to the Wi-Fi. The Congress offers wired/LAN internet access, but if you'd like Wi-Fi, it will cost around $10 per device, per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Site seeing Sally
Iowa
Nov 4, 2013

Needs some work

The Congress Hotel is the perfect location in Chicago! We wanted to be within walking distance of restaurants and site seeing and that's exactly what we got. I would recommend self parking in the hotel garage because it was very easy. The staff was very friendly, but the hotel needs lots of work! Our bathroom door didn't shut, the sink had a large crack that was caulked, it took the shower a very long time to heat up, and the beds are very hard. There were rips in the wallpaper and paint was peeling off of the trim. I will not be staying here again. However, the staff was great and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bub City is a great country bar and has fantastic food!

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SiaB1
IL
Nov 4, 2013

Wish for more when in Chicago

The hotel is beautiful, but plain. No amenities, left me disappointed. I guess for $127 on Michigan Ave., I shouldn't have expected much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fontana's Sub Shop

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taylor Liddle
Scottsdale, Arizona
Nov 3, 2013

Perfect hotel in the South loop!

I loved this hotel, my room was very clean and comfortable, spacious and the view from the 10th floor was beautiful! The staff was friendly and very accommodating, allowing me to check out very late and also assisting me with checking my luggage in after I checked out so I could enjoy the rest of my day. Security checked in my laptop so I knew everything was safe. I really liked this hotel, best value for your money if you need to stay in the south loop!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is inexpensive and in the perfect location. A short walk to night life, great restaurants, and great sightseeing in Chicago.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I heart Chicago
Columbus, Ohio
Oct 29, 2013

Weekend getaway

We have stayed at this hotel several times. The rooms are fairly updated for being an older hotel, and the rates are reasonable for Chicago. The staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful, which is why we keep coming back to this facility. The doormen are superb - they even helped us track down a taxi a wallet was left in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kittyjean
Flint, MI
Oct 28, 2013

Beautiful view of Lake Michigan

wonderful older hotel that is still in excellent condition. Rooms are wonderful.. view of Lake MI is awesome. drawback.. not real close to shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

shoreline sightseeing.. take the architecture tour.. wonderful. $32. tickets at Navy Pier

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Solar Guy
Business
Hagerstown, MD
Oct 25, 2013

Cool old hotel

Great architecture and tons of cool history with this hotel. The rooms size is pretty average for a hotel but the 12 foot ceilings make it feel so much bigger. Walking around the area I was glad I picked the Congress Plaza over the other comparable hotels. I would definitely stay again. One word of caution. If it is cold out, don't sit on the outside door side of the bar. There is no second door coming in so you get the bitter cold wind coming in. Make sure you sit on the far side by the pool table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast at Yolk. Good eats. leave the hotel and go to the right. about 5 blocks down on the right is Yolk.

Back to menu Return to top