$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1213 out of 1213
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ridley Park
Jun 9, 2008

awesome location

The Congress Plaza Hotel was a perfect location for us since were in Chicago to attend a festival in Grant Park. We had a lovely view of the park. Rooms were clean and had plenty of space. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The hotel is old, but had a lot of character. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grant Park & Buckingham Fountain directly across the street. Navy Pier and Magnicient Mile are a short walk along Lake Shore Drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2007

Great access to other downtown areas

The Congress Hotel Was very comfortable and the staff was very helpful. I particularly enjoyed the convience and accessability to other downtown locations and businessess. The hotel had everything that I needed for comfort and ease in my stay. I was in Chicago to visit the Taste of Chicago and it was most convienent to have the event directly across the street for the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel being convienently located on the main thorough fare in downtown Chicago-Michigan Ave., put me right in touch with the Magnificent Mile another area of Michigan Ave.known for its shops and resturants. All were in reasonable walking distances of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 19, 2007

My review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Congress Plaza Hotel was very comfortable. Great location for downtown access. Only 1 chair. Great view of Grant Park from lake side of hotel. Bus stop right outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eun Ae
Business
USA
Dec 2, 2007

Very friendly

I liked the best comfortable room, each room,bathroom, and very friendly staves,but I don't like to wait for breakfast,because I spent too much time for room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is located near downtown, several recreational center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bourbonnais
Aug 7, 2008

Good location

The Congress Plaza Hotel was comfortable, and idealy located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Millenium Park is just across the street. It's beautiful year round.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 8, 2008

Pleasantly surprised

The location of this hotel was great for access to shopping and right across from Grant Park. The hotel is old but has a style of it's own with the architecture of the building. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the bathrooms had recently been updated and were kept very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the time to see the Gold Room at the hotel where special events are held. Close enough to walk to Millenium Park, shopping on Michigan Ave, and the Sunday brunch in the Gazebo Restaurant on-site was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 16, 2007

Great Place to stay

The Congress Plaza Hotel was a great place to stay on my recent travel to Chicago. The room was very clean. The best part of the hotel was the location. If you are traveling to Chicago it is amazing to stay right on Michigan Ave. We walked to all of the stores and great places to eat. We could see the Navy Pier Fireworks from our Hotel room. The space was amply. The staff could have been a little nice. It was our first time staying downtown and they made us feel a little stupid. Overall a great place to stay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walked down the Magnificant mile and then take a cab back because you will be tired after all that shoping. Oh, don't forget about shopping on State Street too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sydstring
Business
phoenix arizona
Sep 5, 2011

congress hotel in chicago

amazing experience, wonderful room, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 9, 2007

Classy, convenient, but somewhat dated

The location is unbeatable. The lobby is beautiful. The room was spacious and the bathroom nicely redone. The price was a bargain for the area. My one concern was the air conditioning. It was old, and could barely keep up with the hot, humid August days of my stay. Had it been 95 instead of 85 outside, the room (facing west) might well have been uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is near-by - Grant Park, Art Institute, plays, shopping and dining in the loop. The hotel is a few blocks southeast of the loop proper. Twenty years ago meant it was away from the action. But this area has come back a long way. (The Hilton is two blocks further south.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 21, 2007

Old-World Comfort & Courtesy On The Lakefront

The Congress Hotel was perfect for our needs. The venerable old building retains more than a trace of its 19th century grandeur, although the days of presidents stopping there may be past. The room we stayed in was large and very, very quiet, due to the quality of its construction. (They just don't build 'em like that anymore...) High ceilings, a large bay window which gave us a partial view of the lake, and antiseptic cleanliness were welcome. The marbled lobby bustled; the old fashioned pile carpet of the winding halls added to the atmosphere; the elevator was fast and frequent; and the staff was uniformly impeccable. It goes without saying that the proximity to Chicago's major attractions and outlying neighborhoods was a huge plus. Oh, and the King bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on, and our request for an extra blanket was met politely and within five minutes time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss Buddy Guy's Legends just a block or so away -- great, authentic blues aside, you get a right fine meal; if you like down home barbecue with big time portions, this is the place to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top