$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
1,218 reviews
Great vacay! Definitely booking this hotel in the future!

Hotel was nearby a lot of the sites that me and my sister visited. We literally just walked around... See full review

  • Meleeboo
  • Apr 12, 2015
Great hotel, great location

The hotel is in avery nice location. Service was great. See full review

  • Vanessa G.
  • Mar 26, 2015
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
1218 out of 1218
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike Mount
Palm Harbor Fl
Dec 4, 2012

Fantastic trip to Chi-town

Hi, My name is Mike and I stayed in the Congress Plaza Hotel on Dec 1 - 3 and had the most wonderful experience. It was so close to everything and the views were breathtaking. Me and my girlfriend Jen will be back and know where to stay again. Thank you for your friendly staff and help with anything we needed and to make out stay in your beautiful city so comforting. Da Bears!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moving to Schaumburg
Business
N/A
Apr 24, 2015

night party

the hotel didn't state that it wouldn't have a fridge in the room and it took nearly an hour to request one from teh front desk. we had to call back because they somehow lost track of who requested it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ysmn
Business
Gainesville
Apr 23, 2015

The oldest hotel ever

I booked the hotel only for it's location. Other than that, the hotel was the oldest hotel I've ever stayed. It has a fancy lobby, as usual. But when you go to upstairs, the hallways are dark and dirty. I stayed on it in April, which is still a cold month for Chicago, but the heating season was already over for the hotel. The weather forecast was 45F highest, and the receptionist told me that a lot of customers complained about how hot the rooms were, so they shot down the heating. I am glad they gave me a portable heater (which was not working and they changed it next day, and the second one was fine). Moreover, the safe box was not working, and there was not way to close it while it was not working. And the location of it was terrible, so I wasn't able to close the closet door because of the open safe box. Furthermore, the towels were different shapes and from different materials (a sign of oldness). The bat top drainage was clogged, and the toilet flash was not properly working. Last, the bed sheets were terribly old, and there were a lot of hair stick on them. It was not because they were dirty. They changed my sheets next day, and there were hairs again on the new ones. It sounds like exaggeration, but all of these are true. As I say, it's the oldest hotel I've ever stayed. But I give 2 stars for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wells82
Business
lexington
Apr 22, 2015

trip for music festival

the location alone sells it for this hotel. The room was nice and the service was even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
academic
Business
New Haven
Apr 21, 2015

Good value for money.

I think it is good value for money - close to main attractions and quite affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brandon
Business
N/A
Apr 18, 2015

All Brass, Marble and Carpet

I don't believe this hotel has been touched in over 80yrs. Everything about the rooms are just plain old. My dining experience at Rafaels (attached diner) was one of the worst dining experiences in a long time. A chicken sandwich took 30+ min and turned out to be 2 chx strips on toast. Good, free wifi though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenneth B.
Business
N/A
Apr 14, 2015

Columbia trip

Great location for our visit ti Columbia College. View was not good but room was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maureen K.
Business
N/A
Apr 13, 2015

great overnite getaway.

It was a great experience being such an old hotel with so much history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessica Cai
Business
N/A
Apr 13, 2015

Decent place

Wonderful location and clean room. But the amenities are expected to be better given the high price~~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meleeboo
Business
Phoenix
Apr 12, 2015

Great vacay! Definitely booking this hotel in the future!

Hotel was nearby a lot of the sites that me and my sister visited. We literally just walked around and everything was super close by. Our room had a great view to the city and a very comfy bed which was upgraded for free from a queen to a king! :) Made our stay awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tori S.
Business
Kentwood
Apr 12, 2015

Valentine's Day Weekend Getaway

We had a corner room with one king sized bed and it was incredibly small. However, with the price we paid and the location of the hotel, I would gladly risk staying in the same room again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top