$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Club Quarters Wacker at Michigan

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Club Quarters Wacker at Michigan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
550 out of 550
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Club Quarters Wacker at Michigan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 14, 2009

Perfect spot for the price

The staff was very friendly and gave us helpful information. This was my first time staying in Chicago and I would stay there again next time I go. The rooms were decent and clean. The location of the hotel was awesome. It was within a walkable distance from everything on the magnificent mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Club Quarters Wacker at Michigan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 31, 2010

Club Quarters

The hotel itself was ok, but not great. Service and features were good, but not great. However, the location was excellent, and made the visit to Chicago enjoyable and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Club Quarters Wacker at Michigan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CEDAR FLLS IOWA
Apr 5, 2011

PRICE WAS RIGHT

IT IS LOCATED CONVIENTLY. VERY BASIC HOTEL-BUT FINE FOR BUSINESS TRAVELERS AS I ONLY USED IT FOR SLEEPING. I DROVE A VAN AND EXPECTED TO PARK IT AT THE HOTEL, HOWEVER THEY DIDN'T HAVE A PLACE BIG ENOUGH FOR IT. I PARKED MY VAN AT THE HYATT AT A HIGHER PARKING RATE-BUT THE HOTEL REFUNDED ME THE DIFFERENCE IN PARKING COST. OVER ALL IT WAS A GOOD STAY NOTHING FANCY, BUT I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Club Quarters Wacker at Michigan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2008

Great Location - Staff Needs Improvement

While we loved the location of this hotel (close proximity to public transportation, parks & attractions, etc.) we were a bit disappointed with the Front Desk staff & Housecleaning staff. The views of the river were, however, fantastic & we loved this, too. The Front Desk staff was not very warm & fuzzy & could use some brush up lessons on hospitatlity. They should also be better prepared to recommend local near-by restaurants. One desk clerk had no idea if certain restaurants (when asked) were still in business. He told us that some restaurants are only open 'during the busy season'. I'd think July would be considered high season, wouldn't you? The reception lounge didn't provide coffee at 7:00 or 8:00 a.m. as promised so wasted trips to the lobby level were annoying. (Tea drinkers are not offered tea here). We abided by the hotel request by conserving water, etc. (reusing towels & not having our bed changed daily). They did not reciprocate by providing us with in-room coffee packs & condiments each day. We had to search for coffee, tea, sugar & creamer each day because it was not replenished when the room was straightened out. A small continental breakfast buffet might be a good idea to compete with other hotels, but it is not offered here. One of their amenities, free water bottles that you fill with the in-house filtered cold water is a plus. However, the hotel 'ran out of bottles' so some guests were out of luck. We've stayed in Club Quarters in Boston & Washington, DC & were very happy with those locations. I would hesitate to stay at the Chicago location & probably wouldn't recommend it to friends (except that it is well situated).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

River tours, Grant Park, Millenium Park, the River (walk over it at Wabash or LaSalle & you'll find lots of restaurants not even mentioned by the Desk staff!)

Review of Club Quarters Wacker at Michigan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 19, 2010

Could have been better

There were a few problems during my stay that made it less pleasant than it could have been. First, the walls are paper thin, so every time the next door neighbor left his/her room, it felt like they were opening my door. (Their closing door literally shook my bed!) Second, one of two elevators broke down for the last two days of my stay, meaning that it took 10 minutes to get in and out of my room. (I was nearly late for one meeting as a result.) Third, I paid extra for a late check-out, but the staff did not communicate this to housekeeping, so I received TWO knocks on the door and one phone call while I was trying to nap before check out. So frustrating! Also, the room was TINY... though I didn't care because I was in meetings all day. Additionally, while they claimed to offer free printing, I got an error message every time I tried to retrieve a document at the printing station. Lastly, the room was way too hot the first night, but the hotel didn't seem to have A/C available for guests -- just heat. So, I barely slept that night. On the positive side, the location was GREAT, and the club lounge was nice as well. Amenities like the free bottled water were great, and the room was spotlessly clean. I had something dry-cleaned with no problems, and was happy to see that irons and ironing boards were available in the community closet. (I wish they had extra hangers available for guests -- I was shocked to find none available in the closet!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant was very tasty... but service was very slow. I ordered room service one night and it took and hour and a half for my meal to arrive.

Review of Club Quarters Wacker at Michigan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IL
Sep 17, 2009

Hits and misses

Was a little hard to find but mostly because streets in downtown Chicago are screwy. There is no front desk, just a PC Screen to use for check in/out. Not bad just...different and unexpected. The bad was that there are only 2 elevators for 41 floors of rooms and ONE WAS BROKEN and there are NO stairs (not that I wanted to climb to my 28th floor room with my luggage anyway) so it took 30 minutes to get up to my room. The rooms are VERY small but were very clean and nicely appointed for the price. There was enough room for a single traveling businessman to get some work done and sleep but I'd hate to try to get 2 or more people in this room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Club Quarters Wacker at Michigan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kristindavi
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Chicago Ehh...

Our experience was great to start out with--very accomodating. Then when we decided to leave because we weren't comfortable in our room after only being there for a half an hour there was no refund or transfer available. We drove all the way to Chicago and left that very day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Club Quarters Wacker at Michigan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison WI
Jun 8, 2009

Great Location

IT was an unusually cool early June in Chicago and the heat was turned off in the hotel. They have some type of central heating that can only be heating or air conditioning. They did give us an electric space heater which we used extensively.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Club Quarters Wacker at Michigan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Aug 31, 2009

Weekend in Chicago

Low cost, low frills, great location. They could use king sized beds. These hotels however are great for those folks that want an inexpensive, quick, clean, no fuss hotel in a great location to lay you're head at night and that's about it. I think they're great. But if you're looking for the "hotel" to be a bigger part of the experience, I would choose other more notable (and expensive properties). The CQ on Wacker looks across the river at Trump's new hotel and is steps from the center of Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

My wife and I took a weekend trip to Chicago without the kids. Our Saturday went like this: Woke up at CQ on Wacker. Breakfast at Corner Bakery, great place, right next to the hotel. Caught the L to North/Clyburn and walked to KayakChicago for their 3 hour (5 mi.) architecture tour of the city. Big on fun (not very detailed on architecture but well worth it). Then took the L back and a short walk to massages at the Fairmont - MySpa. Then a short nap after back at the hotel. We then walked 8 blocks north on Michigan Ave to Rosebud on Rush for dinner - fantastic but make reservations.

Review of Club Quarters Wacker at Michigan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Indiana
Aug 28, 2009

Great Chicago location

Great location for Michigan Ave. and the red line subway to Wrigley Field. Staff very helpful with information for a trip to the Cubs game from their hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway Redline was very close by!

Back to menu Return to top