$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

City Suites Hotel Chicago

3 stars
View map of 933 W Belmont Ave., Chicago, IL 60657

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for City Suites Hotel Chicago

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samaja
Business
Akron, Ohio
May 16, 2014

Great Staff

We had a great experience at City Suites Hotel. Upon our arrival we were offered to upgrade our room with no extra cost and the staff was INCREDIBLY friendly!! They gave us good recommendations regarding restaurants around the area and helped us figure out the easiest way to get around the city. I would definitely come back to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SKVS
Business
Normal, IL
May 9, 2014

Overnight trip

I chose this hotel online based on the location to my son's concert and the value. The hotel is in the Theatre District and close to many shops, restaurants, and Wrigley Field. I think the bed and bedding was as nice as I have slept in. The continental breakfast was fancier than I expected with gourmet bagels, croissants, pastries, and real butter. The coffee was very good and available at all times. The parking was extra, however, it came with in and out priveleges that really made it a bargain. I can't think of anything that I lacked during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Step out the door and go right towards Broadway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
americanpianist
Business
Iowa
Apr 22, 2014

Great Location, Awful Location

The hotel itself is great. Friendly, helpful staff, clean and surprisingly spacious room (bedroom separated from a living room area by the bathroom, feels like a small flat rather than a room). Interestingly, a very small 3-person elevator, which is kinda neat but inconvenient for families with much luggage. Now to the title of this review... The hotel is in great location; around the corner from The Vic theater, and in the middle of a really interesting set of restaurants, cafes, alternative joints, and other theaters. At first, I thought it was a great location - easily accessible to everything I wanted on the trip, especially the train as it is right next door. And therein lies the problem. If you stay here, request a room on the East side of the hotel. The West side faces the train's boarding platform. About 100 feet of empty air separated my window from the platform, which meant two things: First, if I opened a window (or the vent in the shower to let in air), I was staring a people, who usually were staring right back at me. Odd (especially in the shower. I waved to them, then shut the vent). The real issue comes at night. Every few minutes, as the train comes and goes, was the loud DING DONG followed by the announcer's voice over the speaker. I probably got about 4 hours of actual sleep, despite being in bed for 7 hours. Stay on the East side of the hotel, unless you're a heavy sleeper. Otherwise, I found this hotel completely satisfactory. They even provide access to a parking garage at a reasonable rate, which is just around the corner - about a 1 minute walk. Ideal, in that part of the neighborhood! A parting word: Be advised that this building, like most of the buildings in this neighborhood, is very old. The floor can feel uneven, given that under the carpeting is some very old hardwood. It creaks like the dickens walking down the hall. Not a problem, just something to be aware of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just East of the hotel is a Gyro joint that is open until about 2 AM. Great for an after-show snack. Also within walking distance is the B.Y.O.B. sushi place, "Rollapolooza". Fantastic staff and atmosphere, and wonderful food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gindian
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Mar 19, 2014

Good location clean friendly staff

Helpful staff good location. Great value. Didn't have a great view and I could hear the train system from time to time but for the price location and friendliness it was great value. Would stay there again anytime right next to the Belmont train station that connects to three subway lines which makes getting around so much easier. Continental breakfast was so so but I was there to party and made it down for a donut and cup of milk so I was sitting pretty. In boystown which is close enough to walk to wrigleyville and has a great nightlife of its own with plenty of storefronts to shop at and places to dine right outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Train station right outside on the red, brown and I believe another line. Maybe the purple line. Veryconvenient

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Badger Mom Ann
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 17, 2014

Convenient with great amenities

My daughter and I drove to Chicago for St. Patrick's Day weekend. The location (Belmont and Clark) could not have been more convenient. We enjoy mass transit and the hotel is just steps from the Red Line CTA train. Many bars, restaurants and cuisines to choose from within walking distance. Self-park was the least expensive I have ever paid in Chicago (no valet). The parking structure is about 1 block away, so when you check in you just stop in loading zone, get your bags out, get a key fob for parking and then go park and walk back. The hotel is older but is currently undergoing renovation. We had 1 bedroom suite with wet bar, refrigerator, sleeper sofa, desk, TV in one room; 2 double beds and nightstand/TV in other room. The windows actually open and have screens, so you can get some fresh air. Room still has old-fashioned radiators so for those who think they had no heat it was because they didn't open up the radiators (and didn't ask anyone either). Ceiling fan in bedroom was a nice touch. Window A/C units in both rooms. Decor was older but housekeeping did a good job (and renovation in progress). Free continental breakfast, microwave for guest use in main floor eating area. Noticed a gas fireplace there as well. Nice seating area to get together with friends or family staying in other rooms, etc. Only thing that could use improvement is tub and sink slow to drain. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Park your car and leave it. Chicago has a great mass transit system that can get you almost everywhere and will save you LOTS of money and frustration.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zyxx
Business
Madison WI
Mar 9, 2014

Another nice stay at City Suites

First off ease of arriving is like getting dropped off by your front door as the El stops outside the hotel - which for noise unfortunately it does sound as if the train(s) have pulled up to the curb. But repetition brings muting and you will forget about/not be disturbed by the bells and PA. All you needs is w/ a few blocks as Binny's Liquor Depot , two drug stores, and a plethora of restaurants, mini marts, clothing, electronics, music and book stores are at your ease. The LL is a great dive bar as is the Town Hall - a few blocks north on Halsted. Oh and the services is excellent - non-forced good time greetings and helpful information are their specialties. And it also helps having a clean room w/ an especially comfy bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the best Hot Dogs in town at Clark Street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HAREN DHOKAI
Business
Alexandria, Va.
Dec 31, 2013

Needs Ameneties !

Needs better heating/cooling systems. Hot water needs improvements. Bathroom sink was not draining well when when we were there and my wife found the window in the bbathroom leaking. ( room 4401 ) The sitting arrangement in the breakfast area can be rearranged to accomodate more people. However, I would consider staying there in future because of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Feesh
Business
DFW, TX
Dec 29, 2013

We will be back to City Suites!

We stayed during Christmas week and were VERY pleased! The hotel was close to the elevated train, Clark St bus, great restaurants and fine shopping! You can get a cab at any time. The room was clean, comfortable and charming. We had stayed at their sister hotel The Majestic a few years ago and enjoyed it as well. An all around great experience. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Clarks across the street was very nice as well as Ann Sathers just a few doors down. The new restaurant Hutch's was walking distance on Clark St and we had a great dinner there! Try the meat loaf, it was amazing!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Babs511
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Dec 9, 2013

11th annual friend gathering 2013

Perfect location, clean, nice staff. Continental breakfast was great for our group to get fed and get out the door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mir's Mom
Business
Florida
Nov 13, 2013

Awesome Stay

Lobby was being painted. I had my 90 year old mother with me, and the painter stopped what he was doing to hold door open for us. Staff was super friendly, welcomed us to Chicago, asked how they could make our stay more comfortable, and went above and beyond our expectations. I will definitely stay with City Suites again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top