$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

City Suites Hotel Chicago

3 stars
933 W Belmont Ave., Chicago, IL 60657
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
197 reviews
Good location clean friendly staff

Helpful staff good location. Great value. Didn't have a great view and I could hear the train... See full review

  • Gindian
  • Mar 19, 2014
11th annual friend gathering 2013

Perfect location, clean, nice staff. Continental breakfast was great for our group to get fed and... See full review

  • Babs511
  • Dec 9, 2013
Chicago Art Deco hotel with free Wi-Fi near Belmont-Sheffield nightlife
Take nearby trains throughout the city or explore the hip scene in Belmont-Sheffield from the City Suites Hotel Chicago. Unpretentious and welcoming, this Art Deco-inspired gem is tucked away in a neighborhood that hums with theaters, dance clubs, live concert venues, summer festivals, boutiques and 24-hour restaurants. The friendly staff point out top spots in Lakeview and Lincoln Park, the best way to get to Wrigley Field and the Magnificent Mile. Find free breakfast in the cozy lobby of the City Suites Hotel Chicago and fresh coffee 24 hours.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free newspapers, coffee, tea and afternoon cookies in the fireside lobby
  • Complimentary access to a local fitness center
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Walk to Wrigley Field and Lake Michigan
Rooms
In line with the Art Deco theme, rooms and suites at the City Suites Hotel Chicago feature cherry wood headboards, wardrobes and desks with retro style and a black cherry inlay design. Attention to detail and guest comfort include the comfy bathrobes, fully stocked mini-bar, refrigerator and shaving/make-up mirror. Work or goof off online with free high-speed wireless Internet access, available throughout the City Suites Hotel Chicago and a large desk.
Features
Take a break from the lively entertainment district and popular bar scene nearby in the City Suites Hotel Chicago lobby, where guests enjoy free newspapers, coffee and tea. For some exercise, stroll to the lakefront through Lincoln Park or use the complimentary pass to a local Bally Total Fitness provided by the City Suites Hotel Chicago. See Chicago sites hassle-free thank to three train lines within walking distance, including the adjacent Belmont “L” station. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Midway International Airport (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Belmont train station (adjacent)
Attractions
  • Wrigley Field (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Navy Pier (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • McCormick Place (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
Business
  • Complementary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Business services available through the front desk

Hotel Map

41.9396 -87.6529
Area served
Lakeview/Wrigleyville/Boystown
Nearby airports
O'Hare International and Midway Airports
Area description
The Vic Theatre, Blue Man Group, Wrigley Field and Lake Michigan

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Suites Hotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

City Suites Hotel Chicago Rooms

Superior Room
Standard room with one queen bed. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.
Double Suite Room
Suite with two double beds and a full sized sleeper sofa. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.
King Suite
Two room suite with king size bed and full sized sleeper sofa. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Second City: 1.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2 mi
  • History Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.8 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Second City: 1.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2 mi
  • History Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.8 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 3 mi
  • Water Tower: 3.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 3.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 3.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 3.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 3.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 3.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 3.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 3.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 3.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 3.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 3.7 mi
  • Marina City: 3.8 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 3.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 3.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 4 mi
  • City Hall: 4 mi
  • Opera House: 4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 4 mi
  • Children Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Macys: 4.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 4.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (197)

Ratings and reviews for City Suites Hotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 197
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SKVS
Normal, IL
May 9, 2014

Overnight trip

I chose this hotel online based on the location to my son's concert and the value. The hotel is in the Theatre District and close to many shops, restaurants, and Wrigley Field. I think the bed and bedding was as nice as I have slept in. The continental breakfast was fancier than I expected with gourmet bagels, croissants, pastries, and real butter. The coffee was very good and available at all times. The parking was extra, however, it came with in and out priveleges that really made it a bargain. I can't think of anything that I lacked during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Step out the door and go right towards Broadway.

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zyxx
Madison WI
Mar 9, 2014

Another nice stay at City Suites

First off ease of arriving is like getting dropped off by your front door as the El stops outside the hotel - which for noise unfortunately it does sound as if the train(s) have pulled up to the curb. But repetition brings muting and you will forget about/not be disturbed by the bells and PA. All you needs is w/ a few blocks as Binny's Liquor Depot , two drug stores, and a plethora of restaurants, mini marts, clothing, electronics, music and book stores are at your ease. The LL is a great dive bar as is the Town Hall - a few blocks north on Halsted. Oh and the services is excellent - non-forced good time greetings and helpful information are their specialties. And it also helps having a clean room w/ an especially comfy bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the best Hot Dogs in town at Clark Street!

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IA Mike
Ankeny, IA
May 12, 2013

Nice, clean room, but...

I made my reservation at the last minute, I needed to be close to Wrigley Field, this was the closest hotel available. The facilities were very nice, modern (excepting the tiny elevator, which can't really be helped and wasn't necessarily a negative). The only negatives I have about the hotel may have come from my luck of the draw on the room. For a hotel with the name "Suites" in the name, I couldn't have been more disappointed in the size of it. It couldn't have been more than 10'x12'. The bathroom was nice-sized (probably half the size of the actual room!) It was also apparently the closest room in the hotel to the elevated train station. You never realize how often those trains come until you're trying to sleep, I did not complain about the room when I was there (Mother's Day weekend is a busy time, and I was only there for a few hours overnight), but I left feeling like I got less room than I paid for. The staff was very gracious and accommodating when I called down to ask for a late checkout after I got back late from my race. Pros: Very near Wrigley Field (.6 miles), lots of varied dining and drinking options extremely nearby, free (validated) garage parking, modern, well-appointed rooms, comfy beds, nice bathrooms, friendly staff. Cons: Make sure you get a suite, not a room that ends in -22, they're tiny and right next to the L station. The parking garage was 6-8 blocks away, be sure to unload your luggage before parking if you have a fair amount. Final thoughts: I would stay here again, and would recommend it to friends, with the caveat that they make sure not to get stuck with a shoebox room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Star Doll
Lewisville,TX
Jul 30, 2011

Excellent Stay

Excellent room, nice and clean. Nice mini bar, and small refrigerator in the room. A comfortable stay for who ever wants to save money, and be in a convient location. Right across the Brown Line which links to the Loop Downtown. Cute clothing, record, and restaurant shops all down the strip of the block. Walgreens on the corner. I will stay here again an again until I move back to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Star Doll
Lewisville,TX
Jul 30, 2011

Excellent Stay

Excellent room, nice and clean. Nice mini bar, and small refrigerator in the room. A comfortable stay for who ever wants to save money, and be in a convient location. Right across the Brown Line which links to the Loop Downtown. Cute clothing, record, and restaurant shops all down the strip of the block. Walgreens on the corner. I will stay here again an again until I move back to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
May 14, 2011

Excellent

Excellent for walking to Wrigley for games, day or night. Great bar scene within walking distance. The hotel had overbooked my type of room that I requested, so they gave me an extra room for no charge (2 rooms for the price of 1)-- that's great service. Very clean rooms with modern features.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
May 14, 2011

Excellent

Excellent for walking to Wrigley for games, day or night. Great bar scene within walking distance. The hotel had overbooked my type of room that I requested, so they gave me an extra room for no charge (2 rooms for the price of 1)-- that's great service. Very clean rooms with modern features.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lansing, Michigan
Apr 17, 2011

Perfect Location

Very easy to find...and the location was perfect..The room ROCKED....very clean and well perfect..I plan on heading back down to Chicago..[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lansing, Michigan
Apr 17, 2011

Perfect Location

Very easy to find...and the location was perfect..The room ROCKED....very clean and well perfect..I plan on heading back down to Chicago..[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thickey
Baltimore
Mar 25, 2011

A for Effort

Charming, old hotel. Can't beat it for proximity to the El, it's right next door. If you're looking for a quiet getaway, City Suites is not for you. The El runs all night with constant announcements. I live near a train, so I hardly noticed after a bit. My queen room was pretty small. Room for my bed, a desk, tv, armoire, and mini-fridge set up. With only luggage for one, it was pretty cramped. I couldn't imagine sharing the room with someone else, but perhaps I just got the tiniest room in the joint. Plus it was hotter than Hades and the window a/c battled the old radiator nightly. The bathroom was clean and looked to be recently renovated. The room is complete with a tray and fridge filled with tempting treats and drinks. The tv also serves as a computer, but I'm sure it cost an arm and a leg, so I didn't try it. Driving to Chicago, I expected to pay a lot for parking. The hotel will give you a pass to park in the garage around the corner. At $22/day, it wasn't a bad deal, especially when compared to parking at Navy Pier for a few hours. Park in front of the hotel to unload, leave your car in the garage, and walk or take the El everywhere. Clarke's is across the street and open 24 hours. Good food, music, and service. Around the corner is Cesar's, home of the killer margarita. Oh yeah, those were delish! And the food wasn't bad either. There's tons of eclectic shops and restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top