City Suites Hotel Chicago

3 stars
View map of 933 W Belmont Ave., Chicago, IL 60657

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
125 reviews
Great Hotel

This was a great hotel close to the train and with great restaurants close by. You never want to... See full review

  • mcglk
  • Jan 12, 2015
good

Stayed multiple nights. I asked for a room on the o th er wide of subway. The worker was super nice... See full review

  • rww168
  • Jan 6, 2015
Take nearby trains throughout the city or explore the hip scene in Belmont-Sheffield from the City Suites Hotel Chicago. Unpretentious and welcoming, this Art Deco-inspired gem is tucked away in a neighborhood that hums with theaters, dance clubs, live concert venues, summer festivals, boutiques and 24-hour restaurants. The friendly staff point out top spots in Lakeview and Lincoln Park, the best way to get to Wrigley Field and the Magnificent Mile. Find free breakfast in the cozy lobby of the City Suites Hotel Chicago and fresh coffee 24 hours.
Rooms
In line with the Art Deco theme, rooms and suites at the City Suites Hotel Chicago feature cherry wood headboards, wardrobes and desks with retro style and a black cherry inlay design. Attention to detail and guest comfort include the comfy bathrobes, fully stocked mini-bar, refrigerator and shaving/make-up mirror. Work or goof off online with free high-speed wireless Internet access, available throughout the City Suites Hotel Chicago and a large desk.
Property features
Take a break from the lively entertainment district and popular bar scene nearby in the City Suites Hotel Chicago lobby, where guests enjoy free newspapers, coffee and tea. For some exercise, stroll to the lakefront through Lincoln Park or use the complimentary pass to a local Bally Total Fitness provided by the City Suites Hotel Chicago. See Chicago sites hassle-free thank to three train lines within walking distance, including the adjacent Belmont “L” station. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free newspapers, coffee, tea and afternoon cookies in the fireside lobby
  • Complimentary access to a local fitness center
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Walk to Wrigley Field and Lake Michigan
Nearby attractions
  • Wrigley Field (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Navy Pier (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • McCormick Place (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
Business
  • Complementary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Business services available through the front desk
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Midway International Airport (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Belmont train station (adjacent)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Suites Hotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

★★
$109
3.0 / 5 111 reviews
★★★
$152
4.0 / 5 34 reviews
★★
$90
3.9 / 5 128 reviews
★★★
$169
3.9 / 5 78 reviews

City Suites Hotel Chicago Rooms

Superior Room
Standard room with one queen bed. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.
Double Suite Room
Suite with two double beds and a full sized sleeper sofa. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.
King Suite
Two room suite with king size bed and full sized sleeper sofa. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1 mi
  • Alumni Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Second City: 1.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2 mi
  • History Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.8 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.8 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1 mi
  • Alumni Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Second City: 1.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2 mi
  • History Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.8 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 3 mi
  • Water Tower: 3.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 3.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 3.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 3.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 3.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 3.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 3.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 3.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 3.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 3.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 3.7 mi
  • Marina City: 3.8 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 3.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 3.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 4 mi
  • City Hall: 4 mi
  • Opera House: 4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 4 mi
  • Children Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Macys: 4.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for City Suites Hotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 125
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Lansing, Michigan
Apr 17, 2011

Perfect Location

Very easy to find...and the location was perfect..The room ROCKED....very clean and well perfect..I plan on heading back down to Chicago..[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Washington, DC
May 14, 2011

Excellent

Excellent for walking to Wrigley for games, day or night. Great bar scene within walking distance. The hotel had overbooked my type of room that I requested, so they gave me an extra room for no charge (2 rooms for the price of 1)-- that's great service. Very clean rooms with modern features.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
meoiih
Single
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Great neighborhood stay

Loved this hotel - was revisiting Chicago and felt like I was back in my own apartment - comfortable, private and the staff was terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rww168
Single
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

good

Stayed multiple nights. I asked for a room on the o th er wide of subway. The worker was super nice and even upgraded my room. Pleasant stay. The manager was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zyxx
Single
Madison WI
Mar 9, 2014

Another nice stay at City Suites

First off ease of arriving is like getting dropped off by your front door as the El stops outside the hotel - which for noise unfortunately it does sound as if the train(s) have pulled up to the curb. But repetition brings muting and you will forget about/not be disturbed by the bells and PA. All you needs is w/ a few blocks as Binny's Liquor Depot , two drug stores, and a plethora of restaurants, mini marts, clothing, electronics, music and book stores are at your ease. The LL is a great dive bar as is the Town Hall - a few blocks north on Halsted. Oh and the services is excellent - non-forced good time greetings and helpful information are their specialties. And it also helps having a clean room w/ an especially comfy bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the best Hot Dogs in town at Clark Street!

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IA Mike
Single
Ankeny, IA
May 12, 2013

Nice, clean room, but...

I made my reservation at the last minute, I needed to be close to Wrigley Field, this was the closest hotel available. The facilities were very nice, modern (excepting the tiny elevator, which can't really be helped and wasn't necessarily a negative). The only negatives I have about the hotel may have come from my luck of the draw on the room. For a hotel with the name "Suites" in the name, I couldn't have been more disappointed in the size of it. It couldn't have been more than 10'x12'. The bathroom was nice-sized (probably half the size of the actual room!) It was also apparently the closest room in the hotel to the elevated train station. You never realize how often those trains come until you're trying to sleep, I did not complain about the room when I was there (Mother's Day weekend is a busy time, and I was only there for a few hours overnight), but I left feeling like I got less room than I paid for. The staff was very gracious and accommodating when I called down to ask for a late checkout after I got back late from my race. Pros: Very near Wrigley Field (.6 miles), lots of varied dining and drinking options extremely nearby, free (validated) garage parking, modern, well-appointed rooms, comfy beds, nice bathrooms, friendly staff. Cons: Make sure you get a suite, not a room that ends in -22, they're tiny and right next to the L station. The parking garage was 6-8 blocks away, be sure to unload your luggage before parking if you have a fair amount. Final thoughts: I would stay here again, and would recommend it to friends, with the caveat that they make sure not to get stuck with a shoebox room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SKVS
Single
Normal, IL
May 9, 2014

Overnight trip

I chose this hotel online based on the location to my son's concert and the value. The hotel is in the Theatre District and close to many shops, restaurants, and Wrigley Field. I think the bed and bedding was as nice as I have slept in. The continental breakfast was fancier than I expected with gourmet bagels, croissants, pastries, and real butter. The coffee was very good and available at all times. The parking was extra, however, it came with in and out priveleges that really made it a bargain. I can't think of anything that I lacked during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Step out the door and go right towards Broadway.

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Brunswick, MD
Jul 10, 2009

GreatLocationRestfulHotel

I had easy access to the CTA Elevated Train. When I asked for a room away from the EL side, they accommodated me. Breakfast was simple but with many choices. Lounge attractive and clean. Room attractive and very clean. Decent towels, quality toiletries. Uses Window air conditioners. Easy to use but blocked the street view. Located in a great neighborhood. I felt safe and enjoyed the many shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the EL/CTA train to get around if you plan on doing lots of sightseeing. Its cheap, fast,and located right at the Hotel. However, avoid riding the train from downtown at rush hour or game times at Wrigley Field. The trains get packed intensely!

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thickey
Single
Baltimore
Mar 25, 2011

A for Effort

Charming, old hotel. Can't beat it for proximity to the El, it's right next door. If you're looking for a quiet getaway, City Suites is not for you. The El runs all night with constant announcements. I live near a train, so I hardly noticed after a bit. My queen room was pretty small. Room for my bed, a desk, tv, armoire, and mini-fridge set up. With only luggage for one, it was pretty cramped. I couldn't imagine sharing the room with someone else, but perhaps I just got the tiniest room in the joint. Plus it was hotter than Hades and the window a/c battled the old radiator nightly. The bathroom was clean and looked to be recently renovated. The room is complete with a tray and fridge filled with tempting treats and drinks. The tv also serves as a computer, but I'm sure it cost an arm and a leg, so I didn't try it. Driving to Chicago, I expected to pay a lot for parking. The hotel will give you a pass to park in the garage around the corner. At $22/day, it wasn't a bad deal, especially when compared to parking at Navy Pier for a few hours. Park in front of the hotel to unload, leave your car in the garage, and walk or take the El everywhere. Clarke's is across the street and open 24 hours. Good food, music, and service. Around the corner is Cesar's, home of the killer margarita. Oh yeah, those were delish! And the food wasn't bad either. There's tons of eclectic shops and restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Honolulu
Aug 7, 2009

Great Location

Have stayed at City Suites 3 times now. Location is great and within walking distance to all Wrigleyville/Lakeview attractions, Wrigley Field, Halsted Stret, Lakefront. Look forward to returning again, next time I'm in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top