$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

City Suites Hotel Chicago

3 stars
View map of 933 W Belmont Ave., Chicago, IL 60657

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for City Suites Hotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zyxx
Business
Madison WI
Mar 9, 2014

Another nice stay at City Suites

First off ease of arriving is like getting dropped off by your front door as the El stops outside the hotel - which for noise unfortunately it does sound as if the train(s) have pulled up to the curb. But repetition brings muting and you will forget about/not be disturbed by the bells and PA. All you needs is w/ a few blocks as Binny's Liquor Depot , two drug stores, and a plethora of restaurants, mini marts, clothing, electronics, music and book stores are at your ease. The LL is a great dive bar as is the Town Hall - a few blocks north on Halsted. Oh and the services is excellent - non-forced good time greetings and helpful information are their specialties. And it also helps having a clean room w/ an especially comfy bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the best Hot Dogs in town at Clark Street!

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Badger Mom Ann
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 17, 2014

Convenient with great amenities

My daughter and I drove to Chicago for St. Patrick's Day weekend. The location (Belmont and Clark) could not have been more convenient. We enjoy mass transit and the hotel is just steps from the Red Line CTA train. Many bars, restaurants and cuisines to choose from within walking distance. Self-park was the least expensive I have ever paid in Chicago (no valet). The parking structure is about 1 block away, so when you check in you just stop in loading zone, get your bags out, get a key fob for parking and then go park and walk back. The hotel is older but is currently undergoing renovation. We had 1 bedroom suite with wet bar, refrigerator, sleeper sofa, desk, TV in one room; 2 double beds and nightstand/TV in other room. The windows actually open and have screens, so you can get some fresh air. Room still has old-fashioned radiators so for those who think they had no heat it was because they didn't open up the radiators (and didn't ask anyone either). Ceiling fan in bedroom was a nice touch. Window A/C units in both rooms. Decor was older but housekeeping did a good job (and renovation in progress). Free continental breakfast, microwave for guest use in main floor eating area. Noticed a gas fireplace there as well. Nice seating area to get together with friends or family staying in other rooms, etc. Only thing that could use improvement is tub and sink slow to drain. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Park your car and leave it. Chicago has a great mass transit system that can get you almost everywhere and will save you LOTS of money and frustration.

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
americanpianist
Business
Iowa
Apr 22, 2014

Great Location, Awful Location

The hotel itself is great. Friendly, helpful staff, clean and surprisingly spacious room (bedroom separated from a living room area by the bathroom, feels like a small flat rather than a room). Interestingly, a very small 3-person elevator, which is kinda neat but inconvenient for families with much luggage. Now to the title of this review... The hotel is in great location; around the corner from The Vic theater, and in the middle of a really interesting set of restaurants, cafes, alternative joints, and other theaters. At first, I thought it was a great location - easily accessible to everything I wanted on the trip, especially the train as it is right next door. And therein lies the problem. If you stay here, request a room on the East side of the hotel. The West side faces the train's boarding platform. About 100 feet of empty air separated my window from the platform, which meant two things: First, if I opened a window (or the vent in the shower to let in air), I was staring a people, who usually were staring right back at me. Odd (especially in the shower. I waved to them, then shut the vent). The real issue comes at night. Every few minutes, as the train comes and goes, was the loud DING DONG followed by the announcer's voice over the speaker. I probably got about 4 hours of actual sleep, despite being in bed for 7 hours. Stay on the East side of the hotel, unless you're a heavy sleeper. Otherwise, I found this hotel completely satisfactory. They even provide access to a parking garage at a reasonable rate, which is just around the corner - about a 1 minute walk. Ideal, in that part of the neighborhood! A parting word: Be advised that this building, like most of the buildings in this neighborhood, is very old. The floor can feel uneven, given that under the carpeting is some very old hardwood. It creaks like the dickens walking down the hall. Not a problem, just something to be aware of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just East of the hotel is a Gyro joint that is open until about 2 AM. Great for an after-show snack. Also within walking distance is the B.Y.O.B. sushi place, "Rollapolooza". Fantastic staff and atmosphere, and wonderful food.

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Len B
Business
Apple Valley, MN, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Short trip to rent an apartment!

All went well. We appreciated being able to change our reservation from 2 days to 1 because of a death in the family. Great restaurants within walking distance, front desk especially helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle Family
Business
Seattle
Dec 9, 2011

Chicago style

I loved that this hotel gave me a true sense of Chicago. It was a great blend of history with modern amenities. Right off the "el" for easy transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zombie Man
Business
Mckinney, Tx
Feb 1, 2012

Nice for the price but noisey

very affordable and near many attractions and the El. Bring ear plugs if you are a lite sleeper because the train in noisey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Used CD / DVD/ Game store right next to hotel. Big selection and good prices

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SERF
Business
East Lansing, MI, USA
Mar 8, 2012

Great location

Great location, friendly staff, clean and neat all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sixtus
Business
Pontiac, Il
Mar 14, 2012

Fantastic Location

Great hotel - very good breakfast - too close to L - definately needed ear plugs to sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many excellent restaurants within a three or four block radius

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Music druggist
Business
Springfield, IL, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Great location!

Nice, comfortable smaller hotel in a great location! Walkable distance to many good restaurants, bars, shops, etc...Definetly recommended...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to Vic Theater, many bars and restaurants, including Chicago Diner...

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PTL3
Business
Chicago
Apr 5, 2013

Smart Choice

Right near the train. Great restaurants nearby. Jeremy is an excellent facilities manager.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ann Sather's

Back to menu Return to top