$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

City Suites Hotel Chicago

3 stars
View map of 933 W Belmont Ave., Chicago, IL 60657

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for City Suites Hotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tarheel Travellers
Business
Charlotte NC
Aug 5, 2011

Wonderful Windy City weekend

Small, comfortable hotel in a great location near Wrigley Field and great ethnic restaurants. Also right by L station and short ride to the Loop. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The afternoon cookies were a special treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of ethnic restaurants in the neighborhood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
meoiih
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Great neighborhood stay

Loved this hotel - was revisiting Chicago and felt like I was back in my own apartment - comfortable, private and the staff was terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rww168
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

good

Stayed multiple nights. I asked for a room on the o th er wide of subway. The worker was super nice and even upgraded my room. Pleasant stay. The manager was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Naomi R.
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Long trip short stay

When I booked the hotel, I called to ask about any fees that were not candidly mentioned. (Resort fee, breathing fee, wifi fee) he told me there was a separate charge for parking. Since I revted a car that was helpful to know an expect. Parking is in a separate location, about a block down the road. I got to the hotel at 2am to check in. Staff was courteous, helpful and very friendly. I had a cup of complementary tea and went to the room. Aside from being a bit too warm (middle of winter) I fell in love with the room. It was clean. It had a "mini bar" which was helpful bc I needed a bottle of water. The bed was a bit stiff but still cozy. I was only there a few hours but I would stay again. Beautiful part of the city. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mcglk
Business
Carroll
Jan 12, 2015

Great Hotel

This was a great hotel close to the train and with great restaurants close by. You never want to spend a lot on a hotel but I beleive city suites offered a place that was safe, comfortable and relaxing. The breakfast bar was good but not exceptional but Ann Sather's was right down the street!!! Will Stay there Again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Feesh
Business
DFW, TX
Dec 29, 2013

We will be back to City Suites!

We stayed during Christmas week and were VERY pleased! The hotel was close to the elevated train, Clark St bus, great restaurants and fine shopping! You can get a cab at any time. The room was clean, comfortable and charming. We had stayed at their sister hotel The Majestic a few years ago and enjoyed it as well. An all around great experience. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Clarks across the street was very nice as well as Ann Sathers just a few doors down. The new restaurant Hutch's was walking distance on Clark St and we had a great dinner there! Try the meat loaf, it was amazing!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zyxx
Business
Madison WI
Mar 9, 2014

Another nice stay at City Suites

First off ease of arriving is like getting dropped off by your front door as the El stops outside the hotel - which for noise unfortunately it does sound as if the train(s) have pulled up to the curb. But repetition brings muting and you will forget about/not be disturbed by the bells and PA. All you needs is w/ a few blocks as Binny's Liquor Depot , two drug stores, and a plethora of restaurants, mini marts, clothing, electronics, music and book stores are at your ease. The LL is a great dive bar as is the Town Hall - a few blocks north on Halsted. Oh and the services is excellent - non-forced good time greetings and helpful information are their specialties. And it also helps having a clean room w/ an especially comfy bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the best Hot Dogs in town at Clark Street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Badger Mom Ann
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 17, 2014

Convenient with great amenities

My daughter and I drove to Chicago for St. Patrick's Day weekend. The location (Belmont and Clark) could not have been more convenient. We enjoy mass transit and the hotel is just steps from the Red Line CTA train. Many bars, restaurants and cuisines to choose from within walking distance. Self-park was the least expensive I have ever paid in Chicago (no valet). The parking structure is about 1 block away, so when you check in you just stop in loading zone, get your bags out, get a key fob for parking and then go park and walk back. The hotel is older but is currently undergoing renovation. We had 1 bedroom suite with wet bar, refrigerator, sleeper sofa, desk, TV in one room; 2 double beds and nightstand/TV in other room. The windows actually open and have screens, so you can get some fresh air. Room still has old-fashioned radiators so for those who think they had no heat it was because they didn't open up the radiators (and didn't ask anyone either). Ceiling fan in bedroom was a nice touch. Window A/C units in both rooms. Decor was older but housekeeping did a good job (and renovation in progress). Free continental breakfast, microwave for guest use in main floor eating area. Noticed a gas fireplace there as well. Nice seating area to get together with friends or family staying in other rooms, etc. Only thing that could use improvement is tub and sink slow to drain. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Park your car and leave it. Chicago has a great mass transit system that can get you almost everywhere and will save you LOTS of money and frustration.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
americanpianist
Business
Iowa
Apr 22, 2014

Great Location, Awful Location

The hotel itself is great. Friendly, helpful staff, clean and surprisingly spacious room (bedroom separated from a living room area by the bathroom, feels like a small flat rather than a room). Interestingly, a very small 3-person elevator, which is kinda neat but inconvenient for families with much luggage. Now to the title of this review... The hotel is in great location; around the corner from The Vic theater, and in the middle of a really interesting set of restaurants, cafes, alternative joints, and other theaters. At first, I thought it was a great location - easily accessible to everything I wanted on the trip, especially the train as it is right next door. And therein lies the problem. If you stay here, request a room on the East side of the hotel. The West side faces the train's boarding platform. About 100 feet of empty air separated my window from the platform, which meant two things: First, if I opened a window (or the vent in the shower to let in air), I was staring a people, who usually were staring right back at me. Odd (especially in the shower. I waved to them, then shut the vent). The real issue comes at night. Every few minutes, as the train comes and goes, was the loud DING DONG followed by the announcer's voice over the speaker. I probably got about 4 hours of actual sleep, despite being in bed for 7 hours. Stay on the East side of the hotel, unless you're a heavy sleeper. Otherwise, I found this hotel completely satisfactory. They even provide access to a parking garage at a reasonable rate, which is just around the corner - about a 1 minute walk. Ideal, in that part of the neighborhood! A parting word: Be advised that this building, like most of the buildings in this neighborhood, is very old. The floor can feel uneven, given that under the carpeting is some very old hardwood. It creaks like the dickens walking down the hall. Not a problem, just something to be aware of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just East of the hotel is a Gyro joint that is open until about 2 AM. Great for an after-show snack. Also within walking distance is the B.Y.O.B. sushi place, "Rollapolooza". Fantastic staff and atmosphere, and wonderful food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
baby mama
Business
st marys ga
Apr 27, 2011

nice

room was a little small but nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top