$126 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 21, 2014

City Suites Hotel Chicago

3 stars
933 W Belmont Ave., Chicago, IL 60657
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
125 reviews
Good location clean friendly staff

Helpful staff good location. Great value. Didn't have a great view and I could hear the train... See full review

  • Gindian
  • Mar 19, 2014
11th annual friend gathering 2013

Perfect location, clean, nice staff. Continental breakfast was great for our group to get fed and... See full review

  • Babs511
  • Dec 9, 2013
Chicago Art Deco hotel with free Wi-Fi near Belmont-Sheffield nightlife
Take nearby trains throughout the city or explore the hip scene in Belmont-Sheffield from the City Suites Hotel Chicago. Unpretentious and welcoming, this Art Deco-inspired gem is tucked away in a neighborhood that hums with theaters, dance clubs, live concert venues, summer festivals, boutiques and 24-hour restaurants. The friendly staff point out top spots in Lakeview and Lincoln Park, the best way to get to Wrigley Field and the Magnificent Mile. Find free breakfast in the cozy lobby of the City Suites Hotel Chicago and fresh coffee 24 hours.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free newspapers, coffee, tea and afternoon cookies in the fireside lobby
  • Complimentary access to a local fitness center
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Walk to Wrigley Field and Lake Michigan
Rooms
In line with the Art Deco theme, rooms and suites at the City Suites Hotel Chicago feature cherry wood headboards, wardrobes and desks with retro style and a black cherry inlay design. Attention to detail and guest comfort include the comfy bathrobes, fully stocked mini-bar, refrigerator and shaving/make-up mirror. Work or goof off online with free high-speed wireless Internet access, available throughout the City Suites Hotel Chicago and a large desk.
Features
Take a break from the lively entertainment district and popular bar scene nearby in the City Suites Hotel Chicago lobby, where guests enjoy free newspapers, coffee and tea. For some exercise, stroll to the lakefront through Lincoln Park or use the complimentary pass to a local Bally Total Fitness provided by the City Suites Hotel Chicago. See Chicago sites hassle-free thank to three train lines within walking distance, including the adjacent Belmont “L” station. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Midway International Airport (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Belmont train station (adjacent)
Attractions
  • Wrigley Field (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Navy Pier (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • McCormick Place (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
Business
  • Complementary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Business services available through the front desk

Hotel Map

41.9396 -87.6529
Area served
Lakeview/Wrigleyville/Boystown
Nearby airports
O'Hare International and Midway Airports
Area description
The Vic Theatre, Blue Man Group, Wrigley Field and Lake Michigan

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Suites Hotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

City Suites Hotel Chicago Rooms

Superior Room
Standard room with one queen bed. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.
Double Suite Room
Suite with two double beds and a full sized sleeper sofa. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.
King Suite
Two room suite with king size bed and full sized sleeper sofa. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Second City: 1.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2 mi
  • History Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.8 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Second City: 1.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2 mi
  • History Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.8 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 3 mi
  • Water Tower: 3.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 3.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 3.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 3.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 3.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 3.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 3.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 3.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 3.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 3.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 3.7 mi
  • Marina City: 3.8 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 3.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 3.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 4 mi
  • City Hall: 4 mi
  • Opera House: 4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 4 mi
  • Children Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Macys: 4.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 4.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for City Suites Hotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TM Columbus
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 10, 2012

Outstanding hotel

City Suites Chicago is an outstanding boutique hotel. Its location is excellent, truly adjacent to the Belmont Street L Station, which is served by the Red, Brown, and Purple lines, all providing easy access to the Loop. The trains do not provide a lot of noise despite the hotel's proximity to the lines. The staff at the hotel is kind and willing to go out of their way to insure a good stay. The rooms are of good size, with comfortable beds, two televisions, bath robes, a competitively priced mini-bar, and upscale soaps and lotions. My only complaint concerns the terrible irons and ironing boards, but this problem seems to plague many hotels. Overall, you will make a good choice staying at City Suites Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loyal cub fans
Business
Odessa, TX
Aug 29, 2012

Cubs trip

Great place. Very close to Wrigley Field. Stay here and go to the game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mir's Mom
Business
Florida
Nov 13, 2013

Awesome Stay

Lobby was being painted. I had my 90 year old mother with me, and the painter stopped what he was doing to hold door open for us. Staff was super friendly, welcomed us to Chicago, asked how they could make our stay more comfortable, and went above and beyond our expectations. I will definitely stay with City Suites again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Babs511
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Dec 9, 2013

11th annual friend gathering 2013

Perfect location, clean, nice staff. Continental breakfast was great for our group to get fed and get out the door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mishawaka, IN
Aug 12, 2009

Great Stay!

I really enjoyed the stay at City Suites Hotels in Chicago. The staff went beyond the call of duty to make sure our stay was memorable. The parking garage was close as well a Wrigley Field. I was worried about the noise as we stayed on the side of the train, but this caused no distractions for us. The only thing that could have made our trip better was a Cubs win. Maybe next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
26-28 year old traveling couple
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 9, 2011

Perfection for a Chicago Getaway

I stayed in Chicago for 7 days with my fiancee and this little hotel was absolutely perfect for our trip. In fact, there were several times we said to one another "There's not another place in this city that I'd rather have stayed while we were here, it's absolutely perfect." For the two of us, staying in the city for a vacation, it was so wonderful because it allowed us to feel like we were a part of the city, a local, not just a tourist. The location is not only ideal for proximity to all of Chicago's most wonderful places to see, but it is also tucked away in a great part of town that is full of life and culture. The hotel itself was elegant and beautiful, but utterly unpretentious and felt very "home-y" and personal. The staff treated us so well and were so friendly and accommodating--very professional. There was a great free breakfast every morning, fresh coffee EVERY time we walked through the lobby, and cookie time every afternoon! While I would not recommend it for a short business trip or a family of more than three, I think it's perfect for couples or groups of adults traveling together in separate rooms. (there was a wedding party staying there while we were there as well and they seemed to really like it also.) The spaces are a little small, so if you are looking for a spacious suite with giant bathrooms, it may not be for you. Also, one of the best things about the location of the hotel is the fact that it is literally two doors down from the Belmont Train Station, the "L" can take you to most any place from here and quite quickly, but some people may not like the train being so close. So you should ask for a room away from the train (we NEVER had a complaint about noise or any complaint really, but some people may not be as laid back about that type of thing). It is about a 10 minute stroll from the hotel to Wrigleyville, right around the corner from the Briar Street Theatre, a 10 minute "L" ride to the beach and Millenium Park, as well as the Magnificent Mile. In terms of a place to stay and be comfortable while going out day after day to see all of the wonderful things Chicago has to offer, there is really no better place to stay, and I will absolutely stay there again when I go back to The Windy City. I suggest once you've found your hotel, use Google Maps, enter your hotel address and then the address for some of the attractions you know you'll want to visit. Get directions and click on the "train system" and it will tell you which trains to take and where to walk from there. I found it very helpful to have an idea of the "L" system's routes because its much cheaper and faster to take advantage of the really great public transportation system in Chicago, especially being so close to a major train station in the City Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the Train System in Chicago... it is clean, safe, and much cheaper and faster than taking cabs everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 4, 2008

Great location and very friendly and helpful staff

Perfectly located for those looking to experience Wrigleyville. Within walking distance to Wrigley but also right by a Metro stop if you don't want to walk or need to adventure in other parts of the city. Parking is expensive but the staff is very helpful and it went off without a hitch. Also, I felt my car was very secure. It was worth it for the money saved in cab fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get breakfast/brunch at Orange. It is unique and delightful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Nov 2, 2008

Great Location

We've stayed here twice, mostly because of the location. It's right near an el station - super convenient to reach anywhere you're going quickly. There are rockin' gift shops on both sides, several excellent breakfast spots, both Indian and Thai food within a block, and a liquor and drug store just down the street. The staff is pleasant and accommodating, coffee and tea are available 24/7 and the selection of classic vocal music in the lobby is grand! Decent continental breakfast as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Comedy Sportz and The Playground improv venues are within a few steps to one block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 19, 2008

Great Location & neighborhood

The City Suites Hotel was just what we wanted while visiting our son at DePaul in Chicago. The room was small, but the beds were comfortable and clean. Bathroom was fine. Towels fluffy and 2 complimentary bathrobes were nice. This hotel is situated next to the Belmont train stop so you do hear the train day and night, but the noise blended into the city background noise. Breakfast had good choices, cereal, yogurt, micorwavable breakfast sandwiches, donuts and muffins. If they added different fruit it would be great, (Delicious Apples only.) The neighborhod is great, right across the street is Clarke's 24 hour diner and next door is Sindbad's Mediterranean Deli. (good falafel!) We also went to Ann Sathers (delicious Swedish food) for breakfast. Lots of shopping and funky stores around. This hotel was not fancy but was priced well and was very convenient. If you want to feel part of the city, you will enjoy staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minnesota Voyagers
Business
St. Paul, MN
Feb 14, 2011

Awesome Hotel

Wonderful hotel, superb and helpful staff, ideal location convenient to El and restaurants. Very nice room and great lobby area to relax with classical music and refreshments. We stayed here with our kids about 15 years ago and enjoyed a return visit. Convenient parking for additional charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eatapita a couple blocks away for tasty affordable food with lots of choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top