City Suites Hotel Chicago

3 stars
933 W Belmont Ave., Chicago, IL 60657
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
125 reviews
Good location clean friendly staff

Helpful staff good location. Great value. Didn't have a great view and I could hear the train... See full review

  • Gindian
  • Mar 19, 2014
11th annual friend gathering 2013

Perfect location, clean, nice staff. Continental breakfast was great for our group to get fed and... See full review

  • Babs511
  • Dec 9, 2013
Chicago Art Deco hotel with free Wi-Fi near Belmont-Sheffield nightlife
Take nearby trains throughout the city or explore the hip scene in Belmont-Sheffield from the City Suites Hotel Chicago. Unpretentious and welcoming, this Art Deco-inspired gem is tucked away in a neighborhood that hums with theaters, dance clubs, live concert venues, summer festivals, boutiques and 24-hour restaurants. The friendly staff point out top spots in Lakeview and Lincoln Park, the best way to get to Wrigley Field and the Magnificent Mile. Find free breakfast in the cozy lobby of the City Suites Hotel Chicago and fresh coffee 24 hours.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free newspapers, coffee, tea and afternoon cookies in the fireside lobby
  • Complimentary access to a local fitness center
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Walk to Wrigley Field and Lake Michigan
Rooms
In line with the Art Deco theme, rooms and suites at the City Suites Hotel Chicago feature cherry wood headboards, wardrobes and desks with retro style and a black cherry inlay design. Attention to detail and guest comfort include the comfy bathrobes, fully stocked mini-bar, refrigerator and shaving/make-up mirror. Work or goof off online with free high-speed wireless Internet access, available throughout the City Suites Hotel Chicago and a large desk.
Features
Take a break from the lively entertainment district and popular bar scene nearby in the City Suites Hotel Chicago lobby, where guests enjoy free newspapers, coffee and tea. For some exercise, stroll to the lakefront through Lincoln Park or use the complimentary pass to a local Bally Total Fitness provided by the City Suites Hotel Chicago. See Chicago sites hassle-free thank to three train lines within walking distance, including the adjacent Belmont ā€œLā€ station. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Midway International Airport (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Belmont train station (adjacent)
Attractions
  • Wrigley Field (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Navy Pier (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • McCormick Place (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
Business
  • Complementary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Business services available through the front desk

City Suites Hotel Chicago Rooms

Superior Room
Standard room with one queen bed. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.
Double Suite Room
Suite with two double beds and a full sized sleeper sofa. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.
King Suite
Two room suite with king size bed and full sized sleeper sofa. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Hotel Map

41.9396 -87.6529
Area served
Lakeview/Wrigleyville/Boystown
Nearby airports
O'Hare International and Midway Airports
Area description
The Vic Theatre, Blue Man Group, Wrigley Field and Lake Michigan

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Second City: 1.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2 mi
  • History Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.8 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Second City: 1.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2 mi
  • History Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.8 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 3 mi
  • Water Tower: 3.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 3.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 3.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 3.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 3.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 3.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 3.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 3.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 3.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 3.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 3.7 mi
  • Marina City: 3.8 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 3.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 3.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 4 mi
  • City Hall: 4 mi
  • Opera House: 4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 4 mi
  • Children Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Macys: 4.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 4.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for City Suites Hotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Traverse City, MI
Apr 22, 2009

An Excellent Value

A great small hotel that had clean pleasant rooms and very nice bathrooms. Surprisingly quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Went to the theater while there and it was a long walk. Parking was off site around the corner and 1/2 a block away so you could get your car if need be. Close to the neighborhoods where we have friends and family if you do not need to be downtown this is a great way to go.

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
26-28 year old traveling couple
Houston, TX
Jun 9, 2011

Perfection for a Chicago Getaway

I stayed in Chicago for 7 days with my fiancee and this little hotel was absolutely perfect for our trip. In fact, there were several times we said to one another "There's not another place in this city that I'd rather have stayed while we were here, it's absolutely perfect." For the two of us, staying in the city for a vacation, it was so wonderful because it allowed us to feel like we were a part of the city, a local, not just a tourist. The location is not only ideal for proximity to all of Chicago's most wonderful places to see, but it is also tucked away in a great part of town that is full of life and culture. The hotel itself was elegant and beautiful, but utterly unpretentious and felt very "home-y" and personal. The staff treated us so well and were so friendly and accommodating--very professional. There was a great free breakfast every morning, fresh coffee EVERY time we walked through the lobby, and cookie time every afternoon! While I would not recommend it for a short business trip or a family of more than three, I think it's perfect for couples or groups of adults traveling together in separate rooms. (there was a wedding party staying there while we were there as well and they seemed to really like it also.) The spaces are a little small, so if you are looking for a spacious suite with giant bathrooms, it may not be for you. Also, one of the best things about the location of the hotel is the fact that it is literally two doors down from the Belmont Train Station, the "L" can take you to most any place from here and quite quickly, but some people may not like the train being so close. So you should ask for a room away from the train (we NEVER had a complaint about noise or any complaint really, but some people may not be as laid back about that type of thing). It is about a 10 minute stroll from the hotel to Wrigleyville, right around the corner from the Briar Street Theatre, a 10 minute "L" ride to the beach and Millenium Park, as well as the Magnificent Mile. In terms of a place to stay and be comfortable while going out day after day to see all of the wonderful things Chicago has to offer, there is really no better place to stay, and I will absolutely stay there again when I go back to The Windy City. I suggest once you've found your hotel, use Google Maps, enter your hotel address and then the address for some of the attractions you know you'll want to visit. Get directions and click on the "train system" and it will tell you which trains to take and where to walk from there. I found it very helpful to have an idea of the "L" system's routes because its much cheaper and faster to take advantage of the really great public transportation system in Chicago, especially being so close to a major train station in the City Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the Train System in Chicago... it is clean, safe, and much cheaper and faster than taking cabs everywhere.

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma City, OK
Nov 2, 2008

Great Location

We've stayed here twice, mostly because of the location. It's right near an el station - super convenient to reach anywhere you're going quickly. There are rockin' gift shops on both sides, several excellent breakfast spots, both Indian and Thai food within a block, and a liquor and drug store just down the street. The staff is pleasant and accommodating, coffee and tea are available 24/7 and the selection of classic vocal music in the lobby is grand! Decent continental breakfast as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Comedy Sportz and The Playground improv venues are within a few steps to one block away.

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mishawaka, IN
Aug 12, 2009

Great Stay!

I really enjoyed the stay at City Suites Hotels in Chicago. The staff went beyond the call of duty to make sure our stay was memorable. The parking garage was close as well a Wrigley Field. I was worried about the noise as we stayed on the side of the train, but this caused no distractions for us. The only thing that could have made our trip better was a Cubs win. Maybe next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 22, 2008

Great Location

This is a great hotel to be at if you are heading to a Cubs game. The location is great. You are only a few blocks away from Wrigley. The suite rooms are pretty nice and it is always nice having a pullout sofa room if you can get one of those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The bars up and down Clark are pretty good.

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CraigDavid
Philadelphia
Sep 28, 2009

Great Vacation

The staff is very friendly and very accommodating. The location was perfect for what we wanted and needed in our trip. The hotel is small and is more attentive than what you would see in larger chains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
annk
Cleveland, OH, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Chicago's a great city to visit!

Each and every one of the staff could not have been more friendlier. The front office staff helped us so many times with how best to get to places, whether on the train, the bus, by cab or just a walk around the corner. Bed was very comfortable. I was upgraded somehow to a suite, and boy, was that nice! My suite was next to the L. I could hear the loudspeaker at times, but the train rumble itself was soothing. I recommend going to ComedySportz (next door). Thursday night was family friendly with lots of kids in audience. Leonna's, home-style restaurant around the corner, was superb. For those of you who know CHicago, the red and brown trains (and maybe others) stop just a few steps away from the hotel. The #77 bus takes you to Lincoln Park and Lakeshore Blvd. ENjoy!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gindian
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Mar 19, 2014

Good location clean friendly staff

Helpful staff good location. Great value. Didn't have a great view and I could hear the train system from time to time but for the price location and friendliness it was great value. Would stay there again anytime right next to the Belmont train station that connects to three subway lines which makes getting around so much easier. Continental breakfast was so so but I was there to party and made it down for a donut and cup of milk so I was sitting pretty. In boystown which is close enough to walk to wrigleyville and has a great nightlife of its own with plenty of storefronts to shop at and places to dine right outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Train station right outside on the red, brown and I believe another line. Maybe the purple line. Veryconvenient

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tarheel Travellers
Charlotte NC
Aug 5, 2011

Wonderful Windy City weekend

Small, comfortable hotel in a great location near Wrigley Field and great ethnic restaurants. Also right by L station and short ride to the Loop. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The afternoon cookies were a special treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of ethnic restaurants in the neighborhood

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TM Columbus
Columbus, OH
Aug 10, 2012

Outstanding hotel

City Suites Chicago is an outstanding boutique hotel. Its location is excellent, truly adjacent to the Belmont Street L Station, which is served by the Red, Brown, and Purple lines, all providing easy access to the Loop. The trains do not provide a lot of noise despite the hotel's proximity to the lines. The staff at the hotel is kind and willing to go out of their way to insure a good stay. The rooms are of good size, with comfortable beds, two televisions, bath robes, a competitively priced mini-bar, and upscale soaps and lotions. My only complaint concerns the terrible irons and ironing boards, but this problem seems to plague many hotels. Overall, you will make a good choice staying at City Suites Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top