$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

City Suites Hotel Chicago

3 stars
View map of 933 W Belmont Ave., Chicago, IL 60657

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for City Suites Hotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
south haven mi
Jul 16, 2011

Just Okay

Tried to send us to another hotel after they overbooked half of our party got their room had to argue to stay after booking 6 months eailer they told us we could'nt stay much better hotels in the area than this one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Salt Lake
Jul 5, 2011

Excellent Place

I stayed here while in Chicago to see the Cubs and some friends who live in the city. This place was fantastic! Great north side location with numerous bars/restaurants close by. Stone's throw away from an "L" train red line stop. Staff was courteous. Very good continental breakfast. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Wrigleyville

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jun 17, 2011

A great hotel

Traveling with smaller kids (4, 6.5), it was really helpful that the room was split into a sleeping area and an area with couch and access to the bathroom. We previously lived in Chicago and opted for all public transport, but regardless the train/bus system is the best way to get around. And the hotel being next to the Belmont stop is convenient. So convenient that we visited the Field Museum, Millenium Park, Navy Pier Childrens Museum, Lincoln Park Zoo, Peter Pan 360, a concert at Lincoln Hall and ate a restaurants in Wicker Park, Lakeview, Near North, and downtown. The complimentary breakfast was plenty and saved us a meal out each day. The employees are friendly and helpful. And while there is not a fitness center onsite, they do offer access to a private fitness center nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
26-28 year old traveling couple
Couples
Houston, TX
Jun 9, 2011

Perfection for a Chicago Getaway

I stayed in Chicago for 7 days with my fiancee and this little hotel was absolutely perfect for our trip. In fact, there were several times we said to one another "There's not another place in this city that I'd rather have stayed while we were here, it's absolutely perfect." For the two of us, staying in the city for a vacation, it was so wonderful because it allowed us to feel like we were a part of the city, a local, not just a tourist. The location is not only ideal for proximity to all of Chicago's most wonderful places to see, but it is also tucked away in a great part of town that is full of life and culture. The hotel itself was elegant and beautiful, but utterly unpretentious and felt very "home-y" and personal. The staff treated us so well and were so friendly and accommodating--very professional. There was a great free breakfast every morning, fresh coffee EVERY time we walked through the lobby, and cookie time every afternoon! While I would not recommend it for a short business trip or a family of more than three, I think it's perfect for couples or groups of adults traveling together in separate rooms. (there was a wedding party staying there while we were there as well and they seemed to really like it also.) The spaces are a little small, so if you are looking for a spacious suite with giant bathrooms, it may not be for you. Also, one of the best things about the location of the hotel is the fact that it is literally two doors down from the Belmont Train Station, the "L" can take you to most any place from here and quite quickly, but some people may not like the train being so close. So you should ask for a room away from the train (we NEVER had a complaint about noise or any complaint really, but some people may not be as laid back about that type of thing). It is about a 10 minute stroll from the hotel to Wrigleyville, right around the corner from the Briar Street Theatre, a 10 minute "L" ride to the beach and Millenium Park, as well as the Magnificent Mile. In terms of a place to stay and be comfortable while going out day after day to see all of the wonderful things Chicago has to offer, there is really no better place to stay, and I will absolutely stay there again when I go back to The Windy City. I suggest once you've found your hotel, use Google Maps, enter your hotel address and then the address for some of the attractions you know you'll want to visit. Get directions and click on the "train system" and it will tell you which trains to take and where to walk from there. I found it very helpful to have an idea of the "L" system's routes because its much cheaper and faster to take advantage of the really great public transportation system in Chicago, especially being so close to a major train station in the City Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the Train System in Chicago... it is clean, safe, and much cheaper and faster than taking cabs everywhere.

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul & Chris
Couples
Upstate NY
May 20, 2011

Great location,Clean rooms!

Although not as close to the city as some may want, access to subway rail system was close and easy to use! Rooms are small but very clean, and staff is friendly and helpful with suggestions on things to do, places to see, and best ways to get there! Area reminded us of Brooklyn with many small pubs and places to hang out. Would defiantly stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Washington, DC
May 14, 2011

Excellent

Excellent for walking to Wrigley for games, day or night. Great bar scene within walking distance. The hotel had overbooked my type of room that I requested, so they gave me an extra room for no charge (2 rooms for the price of 1)-- that's great service. Very clean rooms with modern features.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Lansing, Michigan
Apr 17, 2011

Perfect Location

Very easy to find...and the location was perfect..The room ROCKED....very clean and well perfect..I plan on heading back down to Chicago..[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chicago
Apr 11, 2011

Chicago Hotel Review

Spring break vacation to Chicago, no planned destinations, decided what to do after arrival. The hotel was clean but very small and the rooms were smaller than what was indicated on line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Montague, Michigan
Apr 10, 2011

Clean Room

The hotel was near the train, so commuting to the loop was a breeze. Room was clean, continental breakfast was plentiful, but cold stuff only. (bagels, muffins, donuts,cereal, oj, apple juice) Staff was nice. Would suggest a room on the far side of the train, if some noise bothers you. Still, a clean room, near the train and parking was $22 per day with in and out service and was less than a half a block away. Near Blue Man Group. Probably will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

parking with in and out

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thickey
Single
Baltimore
Mar 25, 2011

A for Effort

Charming, old hotel. Can't beat it for proximity to the El, it's right next door. If you're looking for a quiet getaway, City Suites is not for you. The El runs all night with constant announcements. I live near a train, so I hardly noticed after a bit. My queen room was pretty small. Room for my bed, a desk, tv, armoire, and mini-fridge set up. With only luggage for one, it was pretty cramped. I couldn't imagine sharing the room with someone else, but perhaps I just got the tiniest room in the joint. Plus it was hotter than Hades and the window a/c battled the old radiator nightly. The bathroom was clean and looked to be recently renovated. The room is complete with a tray and fridge filled with tempting treats and drinks. The tv also serves as a computer, but I'm sure it cost an arm and a leg, so I didn't try it. Driving to Chicago, I expected to pay a lot for parking. The hotel will give you a pass to park in the garage around the corner. At $22/day, it wasn't a bad deal, especially when compared to parking at Navy Pier for a few hours. Park in front of the hotel to unload, leave your car in the garage, and walk or take the El everywhere. Clarke's is across the street and open 24 hours. Good food, music, and service. Around the corner is Cesar's, home of the killer margarita. Oh yeah, those were delish! And the food wasn't bad either. There's tons of eclectic shops and restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top