$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

City Suites Hotel Chicago

3 stars
933 W Belmont Ave., Chicago, IL 60657
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
127 reviews
Good location clean friendly staff

Helpful staff good location. Great value. Didn't have a great view and I could hear the train... See full review

  • Gindian
  • Mar 19, 2014
11th annual friend gathering 2013

Perfect location, clean, nice staff. Continental breakfast was great for our group to get fed and... See full review

  • Babs511
  • Dec 9, 2013
Chicago Art Deco hotel with free Wi-Fi near Belmont-Sheffield nightlife
Take nearby trains throughout the city or explore the hip scene in Belmont-Sheffield from the City Suites Hotel Chicago. Unpretentious and welcoming, this Art Deco-inspired gem is tucked away in a neighborhood that hums with theaters, dance clubs, live concert venues, summer festivals, boutiques and 24-hour restaurants. The friendly staff point out top spots in Lakeview and Lincoln Park, the best way to get to Wrigley Field and the Magnificent Mile. Find free breakfast in the cozy lobby of the City Suites Hotel Chicago and fresh coffee 24 hours.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free newspapers, coffee, tea and afternoon cookies in the fireside lobby
  • Complimentary access to a local fitness center
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Walk to Wrigley Field and Lake Michigan
Rooms
In line with the Art Deco theme, rooms and suites at the City Suites Hotel Chicago feature cherry wood headboards, wardrobes and desks with retro style and a black cherry inlay design. Attention to detail and guest comfort include the comfy bathrobes, fully stocked mini-bar, refrigerator and shaving/make-up mirror. Work or goof off online with free high-speed wireless Internet access, available throughout the City Suites Hotel Chicago and a large desk.
Features
Take a break from the lively entertainment district and popular bar scene nearby in the City Suites Hotel Chicago lobby, where guests enjoy free newspapers, coffee and tea. For some exercise, stroll to the lakefront through Lincoln Park or use the complimentary pass to a local Bally Total Fitness provided by the City Suites Hotel Chicago. See Chicago sites hassle-free thank to three train lines within walking distance, including the adjacent Belmont “L” station. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Midway International Airport (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Belmont train station (adjacent)
Attractions
  • Wrigley Field (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Navy Pier (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • McCormick Place (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
Business
  • Complementary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Business services available through the front desk

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Suites Hotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

City Suites Hotel Chicago Rooms

Superior Room
Standard room with one queen bed. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.
Double Suite Room
Suite with two double beds and a full sized sleeper sofa. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.
King Suite
Two room suite with king size bed and full sized sleeper sofa. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1 mi
  • Alumni Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Second City: 1.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2 mi
  • History Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.8 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.8 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1 mi
  • Alumni Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Second City: 1.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2 mi
  • History Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.8 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 3 mi
  • Water Tower: 3.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 3.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 3.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 3.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 3.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 3.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 3.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 3.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 3.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 3.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 3.7 mi
  • Marina City: 3.8 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 3.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 3.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 4 mi
  • City Hall: 4 mi
  • Opera House: 4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 4 mi
  • Children Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Macys: 4.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for City Suites Hotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not Nicknamed
Business
Chicago Suburb
Aug 11, 2011

City Suites

Overall it was a great experience. Beautiful, clean hotel in a bustling location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint is that the hotel charged my debit/credit card a temporary incidental fee, which totals close to the full 2 night stay. Because I had prepaid the hotel, this fee was supposed to be much less. Anyway - it will come off my account in the next 7 to 10 days, but it shouldn't be there to begin with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to Twista A Tapas Cafe on Sheffield (recommended by guys at the front desk). It was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedar Falls, IA
Aug 7, 2011

Great hotel!

I've been to Chicago about a dozen times and this was by far my favorite hotel! The hotel was in a really cool neighborhood of Chicago that made you feel like you were living in the city and not in such a touristy area. The staff was amazing and incredibly helpful. We stayed in a King Suite, so the room was really big and very tidy. The bathroom was a lot bigger than a lot of other hotels and it didn't give off the hotel vibe because it felt really homey. It was right next to the red line, and honestly I don't think the noise was that bad. The parking could be done through the hotel for only $22 a day! Such a great deal! The breakfast spread was nice for a little continental breakfast. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone visiting Chicago! I miss it already! :) z

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nebraska
Aug 6, 2011

good deal for the price

Great location for the EL and DePaul plus restaurants on Sheffield. A little noisy with the EL right there but with the air conditioning on (window units)could sleep just fine, however couldn't close the drapes or we wouldn't feel the air. Windows did have blinds on them, but still pretty light out early in the morning. Rooms were good size, but our hallway had a smell to it although the other floors did not. Bed was very comfortable with clean, new linens. Was good place for the price, but not a place to just lounge around in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tarheel Travellers
Business
Charlotte NC
Aug 5, 2011

Wonderful Windy City weekend

Small, comfortable hotel in a great location near Wrigley Field and great ethnic restaurants. Also right by L station and short ride to the Loop. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The afternoon cookies were a special treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of ethnic restaurants in the neighborhood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Aug 3, 2011

Excellent experience

City Suites was perfect for a quick trip to Chicago. The hotel is right next door to the L, in a cute, safe, vibrant neighborhood. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was incredibly clean and comfy. The bed was heaven.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop at Ann Sather's, a great breakfast restaurant just a few doors down, for cinnamon rolls and an extensive egg and omelet menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Star Doll
Business
Lewisville,TX
Jul 30, 2011

Excellent Stay

Excellent room, nice and clean. Nice mini bar, and small refrigerator in the room. A comfortable stay for who ever wants to save money, and be in a convient location. Right across the Brown Line which links to the Loop Downtown. Cute clothing, record, and restaurant shops all down the strip of the block. Walgreens on the corner. I will stay here again an again until I move back to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south haven mi
Jul 16, 2011

Just Okay

Tried to send us to another hotel after they overbooked half of our party got their room had to argue to stay after booking 6 months eailer they told us we could'nt stay much better hotels in the area than this one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake
Jul 5, 2011

Excellent Place

I stayed here while in Chicago to see the Cubs and some friends who live in the city. This place was fantastic! Great north side location with numerous bars/restaurants close by. Stone's throw away from an "L" train red line stop. Staff was courteous. Very good continental breakfast. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Wrigleyville

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jun 17, 2011

A great hotel

Traveling with smaller kids (4, 6.5), it was really helpful that the room was split into a sleeping area and an area with couch and access to the bathroom. We previously lived in Chicago and opted for all public transport, but regardless the train/bus system is the best way to get around. And the hotel being next to the Belmont stop is convenient. So convenient that we visited the Field Museum, Millenium Park, Navy Pier Childrens Museum, Lincoln Park Zoo, Peter Pan 360, a concert at Lincoln Hall and ate a restaurants in Wicker Park, Lakeview, Near North, and downtown. The complimentary breakfast was plenty and saved us a meal out each day. The employees are friendly and helpful. And while there is not a fitness center onsite, they do offer access to a private fitness center nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
26-28 year old traveling couple
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 9, 2011

Perfection for a Chicago Getaway

I stayed in Chicago for 7 days with my fiancee and this little hotel was absolutely perfect for our trip. In fact, there were several times we said to one another "There's not another place in this city that I'd rather have stayed while we were here, it's absolutely perfect." For the two of us, staying in the city for a vacation, it was so wonderful because it allowed us to feel like we were a part of the city, a local, not just a tourist. The location is not only ideal for proximity to all of Chicago's most wonderful places to see, but it is also tucked away in a great part of town that is full of life and culture. The hotel itself was elegant and beautiful, but utterly unpretentious and felt very "home-y" and personal. The staff treated us so well and were so friendly and accommodating--very professional. There was a great free breakfast every morning, fresh coffee EVERY time we walked through the lobby, and cookie time every afternoon! While I would not recommend it for a short business trip or a family of more than three, I think it's perfect for couples or groups of adults traveling together in separate rooms. (there was a wedding party staying there while we were there as well and they seemed to really like it also.) The spaces are a little small, so if you are looking for a spacious suite with giant bathrooms, it may not be for you. Also, one of the best things about the location of the hotel is the fact that it is literally two doors down from the Belmont Train Station, the "L" can take you to most any place from here and quite quickly, but some people may not like the train being so close. So you should ask for a room away from the train (we NEVER had a complaint about noise or any complaint really, but some people may not be as laid back about that type of thing). It is about a 10 minute stroll from the hotel to Wrigleyville, right around the corner from the Briar Street Theatre, a 10 minute "L" ride to the beach and Millenium Park, as well as the Magnificent Mile. In terms of a place to stay and be comfortable while going out day after day to see all of the wonderful things Chicago has to offer, there is really no better place to stay, and I will absolutely stay there again when I go back to The Windy City. I suggest once you've found your hotel, use Google Maps, enter your hotel address and then the address for some of the attractions you know you'll want to visit. Get directions and click on the "train system" and it will tell you which trains to take and where to walk from there. I found it very helpful to have an idea of the "L" system's routes because its much cheaper and faster to take advantage of the really great public transportation system in Chicago, especially being so close to a major train station in the City Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the Train System in Chicago... it is clean, safe, and much cheaper and faster than taking cabs everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top