$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

City Suites Hotel Chicago

3 stars
933 W Belmont Ave., Chicago, IL 60657
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
127 reviews
Good location clean friendly staff

Helpful staff good location. Great value. Didn't have a great view and I could hear the train... See full review

  • Gindian
  • Mar 19, 2014
11th annual friend gathering 2013

Perfect location, clean, nice staff. Continental breakfast was great for our group to get fed and... See full review

  • Babs511
  • Dec 9, 2013
Chicago Art Deco hotel with free Wi-Fi near Belmont-Sheffield nightlife
Take nearby trains throughout the city or explore the hip scene in Belmont-Sheffield from the City Suites Hotel Chicago. Unpretentious and welcoming, this Art Deco-inspired gem is tucked away in a neighborhood that hums with theaters, dance clubs, live concert venues, summer festivals, boutiques and 24-hour restaurants. The friendly staff point out top spots in Lakeview and Lincoln Park, the best way to get to Wrigley Field and the Magnificent Mile. Find free breakfast in the cozy lobby of the City Suites Hotel Chicago and fresh coffee 24 hours.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free newspapers, coffee, tea and afternoon cookies in the fireside lobby
  • Complimentary access to a local fitness center
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Walk to Wrigley Field and Lake Michigan
Rooms
In line with the Art Deco theme, rooms and suites at the City Suites Hotel Chicago feature cherry wood headboards, wardrobes and desks with retro style and a black cherry inlay design. Attention to detail and guest comfort include the comfy bathrobes, fully stocked mini-bar, refrigerator and shaving/make-up mirror. Work or goof off online with free high-speed wireless Internet access, available throughout the City Suites Hotel Chicago and a large desk.
Features
Take a break from the lively entertainment district and popular bar scene nearby in the City Suites Hotel Chicago lobby, where guests enjoy free newspapers, coffee and tea. For some exercise, stroll to the lakefront through Lincoln Park or use the complimentary pass to a local Bally Total Fitness provided by the City Suites Hotel Chicago. See Chicago sites hassle-free thank to three train lines within walking distance, including the adjacent Belmont “L” station. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Midway International Airport (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Belmont train station (adjacent)
Attractions
  • Wrigley Field (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Navy Pier (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • McCormick Place (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
Business
  • Complementary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Business services available through the front desk

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Suites Hotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

City Suites Hotel Chicago Rooms

Superior Room
Standard room with one queen bed. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.
Double Suite Room
Suite with two double beds and a full sized sleeper sofa. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.
King Suite
Two room suite with king size bed and full sized sleeper sofa. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1 mi
  • Alumni Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Second City: 1.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2 mi
  • History Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.8 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.8 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1 mi
  • Alumni Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Second City: 1.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2 mi
  • History Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.8 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 3 mi
  • Water Tower: 3.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 3.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 3.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 3.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 3.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 3.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 3.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 3.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 3.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 3.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 3.7 mi
  • Marina City: 3.8 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 3.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 3.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 4 mi
  • City Hall: 4 mi
  • Opera House: 4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 4 mi
  • Children Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Macys: 4.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for City Suites Hotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mir's Mom
Business
Florida
Nov 13, 2013

Awesome Stay

Lobby was being painted. I had my 90 year old mother with me, and the painter stopped what he was doing to hold door open for us. Staff was super friendly, welcomed us to Chicago, asked how they could make our stay more comfortable, and went above and beyond our expectations. I will definitely stay with City Suites again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mansour sh
Business
toronto
Oct 11, 2013

beside railway

The hotel located beside railway,some rooms not comfortable because room close to railway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nice to See the Kids
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota
Sep 1, 2013

City venture

The location was outstanding for getting to the lake and to downtown (It is located right off the L). The room, though a bit small, was very quiet, comfortable and clean. It was great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IA Mike
Business
Ankeny, IA
May 12, 2013

Nice, clean room, but...

I made my reservation at the last minute, I needed to be close to Wrigley Field, this was the closest hotel available. The facilities were very nice, modern (excepting the tiny elevator, which can't really be helped and wasn't necessarily a negative). The only negatives I have about the hotel may have come from my luck of the draw on the room. For a hotel with the name "Suites" in the name, I couldn't have been more disappointed in the size of it. It couldn't have been more than 10'x12'. The bathroom was nice-sized (probably half the size of the actual room!) It was also apparently the closest room in the hotel to the elevated train station. You never realize how often those trains come until you're trying to sleep, I did not complain about the room when I was there (Mother's Day weekend is a busy time, and I was only there for a few hours overnight), but I left feeling like I got less room than I paid for. The staff was very gracious and accommodating when I called down to ask for a late checkout after I got back late from my race. Pros: Very near Wrigley Field (.6 miles), lots of varied dining and drinking options extremely nearby, free (validated) garage parking, modern, well-appointed rooms, comfy beds, nice bathrooms, friendly staff. Cons: Make sure you get a suite, not a room that ends in -22, they're tiny and right next to the L station. The parking garage was 6-8 blocks away, be sure to unload your luggage before parking if you have a fair amount. Final thoughts: I would stay here again, and would recommend it to friends, with the caveat that they make sure not to get stuck with a shoebox room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theatre Kevin
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Apr 24, 2013

Charming and Friendly

A very quaint and comfortable hotel amidst the bustle of Belmont Ave. 24/7 coffee and tea. Cookies in the afternoon. Very nice continental breakfast. Friendly staff. And they didn't overcharge for small things like bottles of water or soda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PTL3
Business
Chicago
Apr 5, 2013

Smart Choice

Right near the train. Great restaurants nearby. Jeremy is an excellent facilities manager.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ann Sather's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ClariLynn
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 24, 2013

Great location

My boyfriend and I visited Chicago for a weekend getaway. The location of this hotel was perfect-right near the train and in walking distance to a lot of great places to eat. The train announcements were audible from our room but it didn't bother us. It was kind of just in the background. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Even though the room was quite small, our stay was enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great places in the Lake View area!! Use yelp or google.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gruidl
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 22, 2013

good hotel, great location

Hotel was good. They had cookies in the lobby as we arrived. Staff was nice and efficient in checking us in. Room was good, but not a luxury hotel, and we weren't expecting that. The soap and shampoo is all in pump bottles that are attached to the wall, which reduces waste, however it took multiple pumps to get an adequate amount of each. No thermostat in the rooms, and ours got really hot in the middle of the night, but the addition of ceiling fans really helped. The location is about a hundred feet from a train stop, which makes it perfect if you're planning on using public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Waterdipper
Business
Michigan
Oct 29, 2012

Good Place to Stay (although a bit dated)

City Suites is a comfortable small hotel. The staff are attentive and helpful. The hotel is a bit dated, e.g., an elevator that only holds three people, maybe only two with luggage. Our room was quite comfortable with an updated bathroom and two flat screen TVs, plus a mini-frig. Continental breakfast was a bit minimal, but sufficient to get your day started. Coffee and hot water are always available. Located right next to Belmont El station, so it's convenient for getting around, but it can be noisy if you're not used to city sounds. We have and will continue to stay here when in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Married to a cubs fan
Business
Indianapolis, in
Oct 6, 2012

Cubs game getaway

The hotel stay was great....comfy bed, nice shower, free wifi, friendly Staff! Amazing location if you are in town for a Cubs game; we walked to the stadium. The room was very small, the slow elevator only fit 3 at a time and the floors creeked but what can you expect from what seemed to be an old apartment building. It is right by the train but there wasn't much noise. I would definitely stay again if they lowered the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top