$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

City Suites Hotel Chicago

3 stars
933 W Belmont Ave., Chicago, IL 60657
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
196 reviews
Good location clean friendly staff

Helpful staff good location. Great value. Didn't have a great view and I could hear the train... See full review

  • Gindian
  • Mar 19, 2014
11th annual friend gathering 2013

Perfect location, clean, nice staff. Continental breakfast was great for our group to get fed and... See full review

  • Babs511
  • Dec 9, 2013
Chicago Art Deco hotel with free Wi-Fi near Belmont-Sheffield nightlife
Take nearby trains throughout the city or explore the hip scene in Belmont-Sheffield from the City Suites Hotel Chicago. Unpretentious and welcoming, this Art Deco-inspired gem is tucked away in a neighborhood that hums with theaters, dance clubs, live concert venues, summer festivals, boutiques and 24-hour restaurants. The friendly staff point out top spots in Lakeview and Lincoln Park, the best way to get to Wrigley Field and the Magnificent Mile. Find free breakfast in the cozy lobby of the City Suites Hotel Chicago and fresh coffee 24 hours.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free newspapers, coffee, tea and afternoon cookies in the fireside lobby
  • Complimentary access to a local fitness center
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Walk to Wrigley Field and Lake Michigan
Rooms
In line with the Art Deco theme, rooms and suites at the City Suites Hotel Chicago feature cherry wood headboards, wardrobes and desks with retro style and a black cherry inlay design. Attention to detail and guest comfort include the comfy bathrobes, fully stocked mini-bar, refrigerator and shaving/make-up mirror. Work or goof off online with free high-speed wireless Internet access, available throughout the City Suites Hotel Chicago and a large desk.
Features
Take a break from the lively entertainment district and popular bar scene nearby in the City Suites Hotel Chicago lobby, where guests enjoy free newspapers, coffee and tea. For some exercise, stroll to the lakefront through Lincoln Park or use the complimentary pass to a local Bally Total Fitness provided by the City Suites Hotel Chicago. See Chicago sites hassle-free thank to three train lines within walking distance, including the adjacent Belmont “L” station. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Midway International Airport (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Belmont train station (adjacent)
Attractions
  • Wrigley Field (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Navy Pier (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • McCormick Place (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
Business
  • Complementary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Business services available through the front desk

Hotel Map

41.9396 -87.6529
Area served
Lakeview/Wrigleyville/Boystown
Nearby airports
O'Hare International and Midway Airports
Area description
The Vic Theatre, Blue Man Group, Wrigley Field and Lake Michigan

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Suites Hotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

City Suites Hotel Chicago Rooms

Superior Room
Standard room with one queen bed. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.
Double Suite Room
Suite with two double beds and a full sized sleeper sofa. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.
King Suite
Two room suite with king size bed and full sized sleeper sofa. Rooms at the City Suites Hotel include: Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Evening Social with cookies, Complimentary Coffee & Tea, free wireless internet access, luxury robes, expanded cable, shaving/make-up mirrors, hair dryers, alarm clock, dataport, iron & Ironing boards and access to Number One Gym.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Second City: 1.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2 mi
  • History Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.8 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 1.4 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Second City: 1.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 2 mi
  • History Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 2.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 2.8 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 2.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 3 mi
  • Water Tower: 3.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 3.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 3.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 3.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 3.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 3.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 3.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 3.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 3.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 3.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 3.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 3.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 3.7 mi
  • Marina City: 3.8 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 3.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 3.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 4 mi
  • City Hall: 4 mi
  • Opera House: 4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 4 mi
  • Children Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 4.1 mi
  • Macys: 4.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 4.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (196)

Ratings and reviews for City Suites Hotel Chicago

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zyxx
Madison WI
Mar 9, 2014

Another nice stay at City Suites

First off ease of arriving is like getting dropped off by your front door as the El stops outside the hotel - which for noise unfortunately it does sound as if the train(s) have pulled up to the curb. But repetition brings muting and you will forget about/not be disturbed by the bells and PA. All you needs is w/ a few blocks as Binny's Liquor Depot , two drug stores, and a plethora of restaurants, mini marts, clothing, electronics, music and book stores are at your ease. The LL is a great dive bar as is the Town Hall - a few blocks north on Halsted. Oh and the services is excellent - non-forced good time greetings and helpful information are their specialties. And it also helps having a clean room w/ an especially comfy bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the best Hot Dogs in town at Clark Street!

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HAREN DHOKAI
Alexandria, Va.
Dec 31, 2013

Needs Ameneties !

Needs better heating/cooling systems. Hot water needs improvements. Bathroom sink was not draining well when when we were there and my wife found the window in the bbathroom leaking. ( room 4401 ) The sitting arrangement in the breakfast area can be rearranged to accomodate more people. However, I would consider staying there in future because of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Feesh
DFW, TX
Dec 29, 2013

We will be back to City Suites!

We stayed during Christmas week and were VERY pleased! The hotel was close to the elevated train, Clark St bus, great restaurants and fine shopping! You can get a cab at any time. The room was clean, comfortable and charming. We had stayed at their sister hotel The Majestic a few years ago and enjoyed it as well. An all around great experience. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Clarks across the street was very nice as well as Ann Sathers just a few doors down. The new restaurant Hutch's was walking distance on Clark St and we had a great dinner there! Try the meat loaf, it was amazing!!

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Babs511
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Dec 9, 2013

11th annual friend gathering 2013

Perfect location, clean, nice staff. Continental breakfast was great for our group to get fed and get out the door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mir's Mom
Florida
Nov 13, 2013

Awesome Stay

Lobby was being painted. I had my 90 year old mother with me, and the painter stopped what he was doing to hold door open for us. Staff was super friendly, welcomed us to Chicago, asked how they could make our stay more comfortable, and went above and beyond our expectations. I will definitely stay with City Suites again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mansour sh
Business
toronto
Oct 11, 2013

beside railway

The hotel located beside railway,some rooms not comfortable because room close to railway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nice to See the Kids
St. Paul, Minnesota
Sep 1, 2013

City venture

The location was outstanding for getting to the lake and to downtown (It is located right off the L). The room, though a bit small, was very quiet, comfortable and clean. It was great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IA Mike
Ankeny, IA
May 12, 2013

Nice, clean room, but...

I made my reservation at the last minute, I needed to be close to Wrigley Field, this was the closest hotel available. The facilities were very nice, modern (excepting the tiny elevator, which can't really be helped and wasn't necessarily a negative). The only negatives I have about the hotel may have come from my luck of the draw on the room. For a hotel with the name "Suites" in the name, I couldn't have been more disappointed in the size of it. It couldn't have been more than 10'x12'. The bathroom was nice-sized (probably half the size of the actual room!) It was also apparently the closest room in the hotel to the elevated train station. You never realize how often those trains come until you're trying to sleep, I did not complain about the room when I was there (Mother's Day weekend is a busy time, and I was only there for a few hours overnight), but I left feeling like I got less room than I paid for. The staff was very gracious and accommodating when I called down to ask for a late checkout after I got back late from my race. Pros: Very near Wrigley Field (.6 miles), lots of varied dining and drinking options extremely nearby, free (validated) garage parking, modern, well-appointed rooms, comfy beds, nice bathrooms, friendly staff. Cons: Make sure you get a suite, not a room that ends in -22, they're tiny and right next to the L station. The parking garage was 6-8 blocks away, be sure to unload your luggage before parking if you have a fair amount. Final thoughts: I would stay here again, and would recommend it to friends, with the caveat that they make sure not to get stuck with a shoebox room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theatre Kevin
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Apr 24, 2013

Charming and Friendly

A very quaint and comfortable hotel amidst the bustle of Belmont Ave. 24/7 coffee and tea. Cookies in the afternoon. Very nice continental breakfast. Friendly staff. And they didn't overcharge for small things like bottles of water or soda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PTL3
Business
Chicago
Apr 5, 2013

Smart Choice

Right near the train. Great restaurants nearby. Jeremy is an excellent facilities manager.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ann Sather's

Back to menu Return to top