City Suites Hotel Chicago

3 stars
View map of 933 W Belmont Ave., Chicago, IL 60657

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for City Suites Hotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Oklahoma City, OK
Nov 2, 2008

Great Location

We've stayed here twice, mostly because of the location. It's right near an el station - super convenient to reach anywhere you're going quickly. There are rockin' gift shops on both sides, several excellent breakfast spots, both Indian and Thai food within a block, and a liquor and drug store just down the street. The staff is pleasant and accommodating, coffee and tea are available 24/7 and the selection of classic vocal music in the lobby is grand! Decent continental breakfast as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Comedy Sportz and The Playground improv venues are within a few steps to one block away.

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Miami Beach, FL
Nov 1, 2008

Good Location to Boystown Chicago

Clean, kept clean - helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Boystown Chicago

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Oct 27, 2008

Good location

Great location, right next to subway, easy 10 mintues to downtown loop. Hotel is older, and small, creaky rooms. I went in late Fall when weather was cooler (low 40's), and the only heat was a window unit (airconditioner/heater), which was not very efficient. In fact, when we turned in out, it blew a fuse in the room. I think the location makes it a great find, but they need to do simple upkeep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 19, 2008

Listen to the EL All Night Long

This hotel was very expensive for the value returned. The EL was just about 100 feet outside our window. The suite was very small - not really larger than a standard room. Parking was over a block away and is an extra charge of over $20/day. I was told not to lose the parking card (which did not work) or I would be charged $250! It was a big hassle to checkin and checkout on Belmont Ave which is a very busy street. The room was more like being on a submarine than a hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giordanos Mexican Places

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New York
Oct 17, 2008

Good value for tourists.

The hotel is located in a lively, somewhat funky, but safe, neighborhood, with lots of nearby shopping and eating options. The subway is located just a few feet away, and is only a twenty minute ride downtown. But it is much more fun and more interesting to stay here than in the loop or near north. The subway, however, creates the only drawback. Rooms facing the subway - which is elevated at this point are rather noisy, but is helped somewhat if you run the window air conditioner as a fan. This might not be a problem if you get a room facing east - rooms facing north look out on a rather busy street. Otherwise, the room was spotless, homey and very spacious, though not with the last word in carpeting and furnishing. Service was fine. There is a decent continental breakfast, but there are so many good eating options right outside the door! It would be nice if the hotel had some internet capability for those who do not bring a PC or laptop with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One coffee shop across the street, another down the block with good breakfast specials. All sorts of ethnic restaurants within a block or two and many bars, catering to a young, hip, crowd within a few blocks.

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
North Attleboro
Oct 13, 2008

convenient to the El and Wrigley

The rooms are comfortable, a bit on the small side. Staff was ver friendly and helpful. Room and hotel was clean. Our room faced the El stop, which we could hear, but wasn't overly loud. City Suites was close to several restaurants and Wrigley Field. A nice walk to Lake Michigan as well...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Minneapolis
Oct 13, 2008

Very Affordable Right in Wrigleyville

If you're looking for a place to stay on a budget anywhere near Wrigleyville and the north-side of the city this place is great. Nothing fancy but for a quick and cheap weekend getaway it is great. Amenities are not abound beyond a continental breakfast (endless supply of coffee day and night) but if you don't need a pool or workout facility its no big deal. There are plenty of bar/food options in the area and in immediate walking distance. Dunkin Donuts too. Great deal and great location. Friendly staff, comfy rooms (small TV's but not a deal breaker), close the L and loads of bars and restaurants. We stayed on the L Side of the hotel last time and the trains didn't bother us in the least in terms of noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Clarke's is right across the street for late night dining.

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nyc
Oct 5, 2008

Great area near boystown

City Suites is a little dated but overall a good property. I was a little worried because it is next door to the train station but my room was all the way in the back of the hotel and I never heard the trains at all! The location of this hotel is first rate and the staff is very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Boystown is only a couple of blocks away!

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 29, 2008

Close to El Stop

We chose this hotel for our three day stay because of its Lincoln Park location and the closeness of an El stop. The hotel staff was genuinely friendly and helpful in accomadating our needs. (We needed to switch rooms to a suite for our last day, and had to be gone during check-out times, so they moved our luggage. They also earnestly tried to get us the suite for our entire stay. Although they were unable to do so, we certainly appreciated their effort to at least try. Our queen room was very small, but the queen suite was more spacious. The neighborhood might be a bit edgy for some, (punk/goth clothing stores, tatoo parlors, etc.)but the people watching was great! The Briar Street Theater (Blue Man Group) is just down the street, as well as some big box retail stores. Wrigley Field and its associated bars and nightlife scene are a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off the Belmont stop, turn the corner, and you are there. Ann Sather on the same block has world class breakfasts and lunches.

Review of City Suites Hotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Niguel, CA
Sep 3, 2008

Home stand ready

My room was a comfortable suite which would have worked with kids too. A short walk from Wrigley Field in a lively neighborhood. Off site parking was available for a daily fee but the CTA from either airport is a great oprion. Bus transfers are a breeze unless loaded with luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top