$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

1 star
View map of 214 W. 22nd Place, Chicago, IL 60616

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
72 reviews
A great place to stay on a budget!

The staff were friendly, the people were welcoming and it was overall a great place. It has a nice... See full review

  • Rumo
  • May 15, 2014
Good for your budget

Although wi-fi never works, and the whole hotel was like being sent here directly from 20 years... See full review

  • Cisp
  • Dec 2, 2014
The Hotel is a nice hotel located in the heart of Chinatown Chicago, and is an ideal choice for budget minded travelers. -Only 4 blocks from McCormick Place; -Just 10 minutes way by bus or train from the Chicago Downtown, Grant Park or Museum Campus. -A couple of minutes to charming Chinese cuisine dining, shopping and entertainment venues inside Chinatown. Easy accessible to both O'Hare and Midway airports and other parts of the city.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd. Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room contains: Satellite TV channels, High speed Internet access, In-room phone and more.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 0.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 0.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.3 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cellular Field: 1.5 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.7 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 0.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 0.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.3 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cellular Field: 1.5 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.7 mi
  • Burnham Park: 1.7 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.8 mi
  • Union Station: 1.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 2.1 mi
  • State Street: 2.1 mi
  • Opera House: 2.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 2.2 mi
  • Yacht Club: 2.2 mi
  • City Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 2.2 mi
  • Macys: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 2.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 2.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 2.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 2.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 72
Amenities:
1.9
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.2

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tam.262
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Terrible booking

Dear Sir/Madam, The hotel is terrible. my pax stay for 1 night and leaf. All the money for the booking we lost. A terrible experience. Thanh Tam,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

no

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rumo
Business
Charleston, SC
May 15, 2014

A great place to stay on a budget!

The staff were friendly, the people were welcoming and it was overall a great place. It has a nice location in Chinatown and there are many great restaurants just in the vicinity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bull Dog
Business
Boston, MA USA
Oct 21, 2012

Fair for value

Satisfactory Staff very helpful Gave me ride to Union Station when cab didn't arrive on time for me to get to station for train schedule

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to McCormick Place

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob2 Business Guy
Business
Pgh, PA
May 8, 2012

NRA Convention

Get what you pay for. Shower stall so small every time I turned around I hit the shutoff valve on the water, turning it off. The paint was peeling off the walls and the TV got three channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Wasted time.

Not worthy of my time to review. This was a dump. I've stayed at motels on Lincoln Avenue that were better than this hole.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joe tom
Business
michigan
Sep 12, 2011

The outer side of the bed sheet/cover is DIRTY

The outer side of the bed sheet/cover is DIRTY. It looks like not washed for long time to me. Otherwise I am OK with the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IT Instructor
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 19, 2011

It has a roof and a bed

I was at the hotel on business and couldn't get any other hotel because a lot of conventions in the city. The main thing to know about the hotel, is that rooms are on upper floors and there is no elevator. The TV had three channels, two Chinese channels and Headline News. The hotel was adequate for sleeping and was in short walking distance to the Cermack/Chinatown CTA stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida, USA
Dec 1, 2010

Very chinese-interesting location

Inside Chicago's Chinatown, my favorite hotel when it is hard to find rooms during convenions at the nearby McCormick Center. The hotel is surrounded by Oriental restaurants and shops. Short on staff and amenities, this is a basic, no-frills hotel to bed down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Your choice of Chinese bakeries and restaurants.

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Fellow
Business
Gainesville, FL
Nov 18, 2010

Not bad, if you don't care about bugs.

Smallest room I have ever been, it wasn't ready at check in time (3pm). I just sleep there and it was near the McCornik Place Convention center. The last night I found some bugs running on the carpet and walls and I wondered if they were there the days before that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business Professional
Business
New York City
Oct 25, 2010

NEVER GO THERE. MAKES DIRTY LOOK GOOD

Where do I begin: First, the furniture was broken! The bed sheets were dirty. When I asked for new ones, they couldnt provide me with any because they didnt know where the maid kept them. I tried to switch rooms and when I did, the other room had mold in it. I could hear the prostitutes having sex. No Janitorial service... someone threw up in the main bathroom and it sat there for a few hours because the front desk didnt want to clean it up. There is no elevator. Just pay extra money and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top