$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

1 star
View map of 214 W. 22nd Place, Chicago, IL 60616

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
92 reviews
A great place to stay on a budget!

The staff were friendly, the people were welcoming and it was overall a great place. It has a nice... See full review

  • Rumo
  • May 15, 2014
Good for your budget

Although wi-fi never works, and the whole hotel was like being sent here directly from 20 years... See full review

  • Cisp
  • Dec 2, 2014
The Hotel is a nice hotel located in the heart of Chinatown Chicago, and is an ideal choice for budget minded travelers. -Only 4 blocks from McCormick Place; -Just 10 minutes way by bus or train from the Chicago Downtown, Grant Park or Museum Campus. -A couple of minutes to charming Chinese cuisine dining, shopping and entertainment venues inside Chinatown. Easy accessible to both O'Hare and Midway airports and other parts of the city.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd. Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room contains: Satellite TV channels, High speed Internet access, In-room phone and more.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 0.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 0.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.3 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cellular Field: 1.5 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.7 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 0.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 0.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.3 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cellular Field: 1.5 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.7 mi
  • Burnham Park: 1.7 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.8 mi
  • Union Station: 1.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 2.1 mi
  • State Street: 2.1 mi
  • Opera House: 2.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 2.2 mi
  • Yacht Club: 2.2 mi
  • City Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 2.2 mi
  • Macys: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 2.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 2.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 2.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 2.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rofy
Business
Chicago
Jan 23, 2014

Friendly staff but very cold

I just spent the night there, it was so cold and though I used the extra heating to be able to sleep, the restroom was freezing. The rest room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Jul 27, 2009

Things to know before you go

The Chinatown hotel has a good location. As a Chicago native, I can say it is close to public transportation lines that take you easily to downtown Chicago. However, parking is metered and on the street. If you arrive during peak times (dinner, middle of the day)it may be difficult to find parking. In the hotel, the lobby was clean and the staff seemed willing to help, though some at the front desk spoke with heavy accents. The hotel has no elevator. We were on the fourth floor. The room had an air conditioning unit and a heater. The duct work was in the room but this seemed not work. The television got only channels with broadcasts in Chinese. There was no lamp, iron, alarm clock or wash cloths and one of the bath towels had hair on it. I traveled with my husband and we had a room with 2 twin beds. My husband's feet hung over the edge (he is 6'). Though extremely affordable for Chicago, I would absolutely never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This area is popular among natives and tourists for very good, authentic chinese food. There are many restauraunts and the air can smell of this cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lori/Indiana
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 28, 2010

Too expensive for a dirty room!

Hair on top of comforter. Asked desk if could have clean comforters on before we came back from trade show- not done when we got back. Asked for refund but lady said no even though we hadn't been in room but 5 minutes. She said we should've asked for refund before we'd left and came back. We went to another hotel. Price needs to be around $40 per nite!! Over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Not as close to McCormick Place as they tell you on the phone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BernaB.
Business
Lansing, Michigan
May 6, 2012

Chinatown

I definitely do not recommend this hotel. I would recommend you to pay a bit more and stay at a better hotel. This hotel smells really bad and rooms are definitely not clean. Especially carpets were dirty, old and they smell really bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob2 Business Guy
Business
Pgh, PA
May 8, 2012

NRA Convention

Get what you pay for. Shower stall so small every time I turned around I hit the shutoff valve on the water, turning it off. The paint was peeling off the walls and the TV got three channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveller TakezO
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Jul 23, 2012

Not Worth the Savings

If you think you are getting a good deal because this is one of the hotels closest to downtown Chicago, please think again. You are better off paying a few dollars more and a short CTA train ride. During my stay I was welcomed with a loose door handle to my own door, missing smoke detector, unsanitary bathroom (the used soap from previous guests were still in the cramped shower stall; the bed wreaked of a salty smoked unpleasantness, hair folicles on the bedsheet from previous guests and even some streaks of blood. The blinds in the bathroom were also damaged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
yege
Business
newark, delaware
Aug 19, 2012

personal vacation

this hotel's servise attitude is very bad. for the fist day, they do not clean my room and they do not give me enough towels and shampoo to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
aztel
Business
flagstaff, arizona
Oct 16, 2012

Fine for the price

With a 3 night stay in Chicago, the Chinatown Hotel gave me overall savings of $100. The hotel was adequate; the hallway carpets were in a dreadful state but my room was fine and the bathroom better than average. I would have liked a coffee maker in the room but there were tea and coffee making facilities in the lounge downstairs. The wifi worked well and the location perfect for me. Just across the street from the CTA and with a good Chinese bakery almost next door. It worked for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BOLC
Business
Evanston, IL
Sep 19, 2013

Not Satisfied

The room is small, dirty, and smelly, and has no amenities, broken furniture, leaky bathroom, etc.. It does not worth $80 a night (should be about $40). The staff is OK, and the location is good, right in the heart of Chinatown. I would not recommend this place to anyone...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BJBrenda
Business
Dodge City,KS
Sep 27, 2013

Location

the location was good, there was no elevator, how does one get their luggage up stairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top