$60 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

1 star
214 W. 22nd Place, Chicago, IL 60616
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
86 reviews
A great place to stay on a budget!

The staff were friendly, the people were welcoming and it was overall a great place. It has a nice... See full review

  • Rumo
  • May 15, 2014
Great place to stay

We enjoyed staying here the staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean the service is... See full review

  • Sedlo
  • Jul 28, 2012
The Hotel is a nice hotel located in the heart of Chinatown Chicago, and is an ideal choice for budget minded travelers. -Only 4 blocks from McCormick Place; -Just 10 minutes way by bus or train from the Chicago Downtown, Grant Park or Museum Campus. -A couple of minutes to charming Chinese cuisine dining, shopping and entertainment venues inside Chinatown. Easy accessible to both O'Hare and Midway airports and other parts of the city.

Hotel Map

41.8522 -87.6324
Area served
Chinatown, Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
OHare International Airport Midway International Airport
Area description
The Hotel is a nice hotel located in the heart of Chinatown Chicago, and is an ideal choice for budget minded travelers. -Only 4 blocks from McCormick Place; -Just 10 minutes way by bus or train from the Chicago Downtown, Grant Park or Museum Campus. -A couple of minutes to charming Chinese cuisine dining, shopping and entertainment venues inside Chinatown.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd. Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room contains: Satellite TV channels, High speed Internet access, In-room phone and more.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 0.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 0.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.3 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cellular Field: 1.5 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.7 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • US Cellular Field: 0.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 0.5 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1.1 mi
  • Illinois Institute of Technology: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 1.3 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.5 mi
  • Cellular Field: 1.5 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.7 mi
  • Burnham Park: 1.7 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.8 mi
  • Union Station: 1.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.9 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 2.1 mi
  • State Street: 2.1 mi
  • Opera House: 2.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 2.2 mi
  • Yacht Club: 2.2 mi
  • City Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 2.2 mi
  • Macys: 2.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 2.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 2.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 2.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 2.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sedlo
Iowa City,Iowa
Jul 28, 2012

Great place to stay

We enjoyed staying here the staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean the service is excellent plenty of clean towels.The location is great you can dine close by and there's public parking and the C.T.A. station is right there. This was our second time to stay here and I'm sure there will be more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SpotCow
Houston, TX
Jun 5, 2010

Need a place to crash? This is it.

If you are looking for a place to hang your hat for the night, this is it. As long as you don't plan on staying in your hotel room all day, it's a good place to rest for the night. It's a decent price for the location, but the rooms are very tiny. The rooms were also very clean. It has wireless internet, which is a plus. The bed was a little firm for my liking. The neighborhood is very nice too, and the L Train is just one block away. There's also a Walgreens right down the street. Highly recommend if you're looking a for a cheap place to crash for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rumo
Business
Charleston, SC
May 15, 2014

A great place to stay on a budget!

The staff were friendly, the people were welcoming and it was overall a great place. It has a nice location in Chinatown and there are many great restaurants just in the vicinity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 14, 2008

Great value for the money

My daughter and I had a great time in Chicago's Chinatown. The hotel was clean and the employee who checked us in was friendly. I would consider staying again. Parking was a block away but in a gated and gaurded lot. I felt safe there with my 5 year old daughter. We really enjoyed shopping at the many shops. The people were all very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lobster King restuant was delicious. You get huge portions and the price was great.

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 16, 2007

Great Value

This hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. Easy to find. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great authentic chinese food right next door.

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 14, 2008

affordable hotel near McCormick Place Convention Complex

Affordable, in walking distance of the convention center. Various restaurants nearby and grocery shopping. Staff friendly, room decently clean. The neighborhood outside Chinatown was a little decadent and didn't give the impression of being particularly safe at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

lake Michigan

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 11, 2007

Cheap place to stay

The China Inn hotel is a cheap place to stay. Good for people who don't want to spend much. THis hotel is situated just around the corner from the entrance of Chinatown Chicago. The rooms are small but clean and have air conditioning. This is your basic nessesities hotel. If you like lavish then you need to spend more..cause you get what you pay for. The only scary thing about this place is that there was a huge fight in this area when i arrived that had to get broken up by the police. So if your a single person who dosen't know how to handle themselves this is not the place for you. Seemed very safe in the day time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NLo
Business
Louisville, KY
Nov 4, 2010

Location, the Station, the Chinatown

This hotel is at the heart of Chicago's very own and unique Chinatown. Close to Midway Airport by CTA (Metro) and minutes away from downtown Chicago. If you like exploring the culture, practice your Mandarin or Cantonese, this is a friendly place to do so. If you like Zse Chuan food... the best Zagat rated restaurants are a few minutes away. The train station is just around the corner. No, you don't hear the noise. Rooms are comfortable with showers, don't expect mints on your pillow type of hotel. Hotel service are courteous, friendly, and they do speak English (or Mandarin and Cantonese). You have to place yourself in the Asian culture, so don't bring your 5 star attitude to this place. I personally like to walk so I walked from the Hotel to Grand Central Station and it is a great walk. So for young adventurous; or walkaholics this is a cheap, great, place to spend the nights. Think about it, a hotel room is for sleeping not for watching cable tv or room service. Chicago is a city to explore and this hotel allows you to do it on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lao Sze Chuan restaurant is the best spicy Asian restaurant. In the same place you can also find Hunan, Cantonese, Szechuan, and Shanghai cuisine.

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
james
Not Provided
May 10, 2009

The carpets were dirty but they

The carpets were dirty but they were putting down new carpets in the hallways the day I was leaving. Room was small but reasonably clean. If you are in to walking up and down stairs you won't mind because there is no elevator. In light of the fact that the room cost me $65/night plus tax and most other hotels in the area are 2 to 4 times that much I guess it was worth the money. As the "ole" saying goes, "you get what you pay for". Good chinese food in the area because you are right in the middle of chinatown!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christopher
Not Provided
Jun 29, 2010

I had some reservations about

I had some reservations about staying in this hotel based on some of the reviews I read, but I booked it becuase the price was right. And in the end I was satisfied: I got what I paid for, which was simple, basic accomodation in a location that was nothing short of excellent. Certainly the rooms are incredibly small (you'll be reminded of the joint that The Blues Brothers stayed in) but they are clean, as are the bathrooms, and the A/C works. The only beef I have with the place is with the TV channel selection: most of the channels are Chinese. But since I think most TV is useless anyway, that's a small gripe from my POV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search