$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

1 star
View map of 214 W. 22nd Place, Chicago, IL 60616

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Conference Accomodation Seeker
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 3, 2009

Dirty, small and broken beds.

You get what you pay for here- a cheap hotel at a cheap price. I stayed here during a 5 day conference at the McCormick Center. The rooms were very small, carpeting had stains throughout, scuff marks all over the walls, rusty metal closet doors, bed covers and blankets were stained- the sheets seemed clean enough. When sitting on the bed- the bed buckled and the headboard caved in on the bed. I had to push the bed tightly against the wall to keep the headboard from falling each and every time. The bathroom was fairly large and quite clean with tile floors & a clean tiled shower. No surface area to place toiletries. The towel rack fell apart when a hand towel was placed on it. The internet sporadically worked throughout the day. The immediate area within Chinatown is relatively safe- but a 5 minute walk east towards the McCormick center is definitely not a safe place to be at night. The nearby bus stop (bus 21) quickly takes you to the McCormick center for only $2.25, a cab is about $5.00. The bus or a cab is a much better alternative than trekking through a modest gauntlet of beggars, drunks and drug dealers (not as bad during the week) along the way. The staff was friendly but seemed to have constant computer problems (perhaps related to the sporadic internet connection). I recommend avoiding the free coffee altogether- both times it tasted old and burnt. No elevators. Not a problem for carry on bags but may be problematic for large luggage items to be carried up 3 floors on a narrow staircase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Inexpensive and great food throughout Chinatown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OHIO
Jun 1, 2009

WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE!

This was so awful! I literally walked in, got my key, looked at the room, and left! Orbitz would not refund my money which I found to be extremely unprofessional. It's in a VERY unsafe area. Everyone from Chicago could not believe Orbitz even had this hotel on their site. I will no longer be using Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
May 20, 2009

Good enough for the price.

I didn't expect much at this price and didn't get it, but it works for someone looking for a cheap place to sleep in a convenient location. Just a couple blocks from the red line for convenient access to downtown and the airports. Walking distance to McCormick (20 minutes). Rooms are very small, no cable, cheap towels and linens, no iron or coffee in room, no elevator. Friendly staff and quiet location. If you can deal with roughing it a little bit, it beats paying 2 or 3 times as much to stay downtown in a posh property with all the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to the CTA to get you all over town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
May 9, 2009

Not the Hilton, but...

Look, you weren't expecting the Hilton at this price, were you? Prior reviews left me with fairly accurate expectations, but here are the details. Pluses: -Dirt cheap. -Very near red line El-station--easy to get downtown. -Decent neighborhood near McCormick Place (but the walk's about a half-mile, so bring comfortable shoes) -Good food in Chinatown. -Large room downstairs with refrigerator and microwave, so you can save tonight's leftovers for tomorrow's lunch/dinner. Minuses: -No helpful concierge, just a very young clerk whose English is not the best. -Doesn't take Amex. Visa/Master/cash only. -No elevators. Definitely not wheelchair-accessible. Thankfully, it's only a four-story hotel, but don't even think it if you can't lug your bag up a flight or two of stairs. -No bathtubs, just shower stalls. -Worn, stained carpeting that's needed replacing since the Reagan administration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LadyE
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 26, 2009

NOT GOOD AT ALL!!!

The Hallways were really little, the rooms were really small, the room had a bad paint job, but luckily the hotel was surrounded by really good restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Binghamton,NY
Apr 22, 2009

Good for the budget. Nice staff.

It is a nice place of rest after a busy conference day. Had time enough and access for internet facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester
Oct 28, 2008

Acceptable

The hotel is old and small. Our room was very small with a fairly large bathroom. Two single beds for my wife and I which I wish had been a queen instead. No elevators. Not the best place to stay, but given the alternative of spending over twice as much in a well-known chain, it was acceptable. Abundant, good eating places nearby and a 6-block walk to McCormick Place where I attended meetings. Parking 2 blocks away for $9 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pomona
Oct 17, 2008

This Hotel Is A Pit Never Stay Here!!!!

The China Hotel SRO in Chicago is a PIT... I absolutely would not stay under here unless you a desperate and cannot fiond a room anywhere else in town...even then I would go to the suburbs. This Hotel is dirty, nasty carpets, needs paint everywhere, moldy showers, horrible rooms, no amenities, no parking besides street side, I even questioned wether they cleaned the sheets...broken fixtures in the two rooms I tried. There staff barely speaks any English. This is a seriously nasty hotel do not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Oct 13, 2008

Somewhat Dissatisfied

The Chinatown Hotel is very close to the El, and is only a few stops outside downtown. However, the room wasn't very clean, was pretty tiny, and noise from the hallway was easily heard inside our room. It would be worth it to pay an extra $50 or so to stay at a bigger hotel in the loop. If Chinatown Hotel is your only option, it will work in a pinch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 14, 2008

affordable hotel near McCormick Place Convention Complex

Affordable, in walking distance of the convention center. Various restaurants nearby and grocery shopping. Staff friendly, room decently clean. The neighborhood outside Chinatown was a little decadent and didn't give the impression of being particularly safe at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

lake Michigan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top