$71 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

1 star
View map of 214 W. 22nd Place, Chicago, IL 60616

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Denver
Oct 13, 2008

Somewhat Dissatisfied

The Chinatown Hotel is very close to the El, and is only a few stops outside downtown. However, the room wasn't very clean, was pretty tiny, and noise from the hallway was easily heard inside our room. It would be worth it to pay an extra $50 or so to stay at a bigger hotel in the loop. If Chinatown Hotel is your only option, it will work in a pinch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 14, 2008

affordable hotel near McCormick Place Convention Complex

Affordable, in walking distance of the convention center. Various restaurants nearby and grocery shopping. Staff friendly, room decently clean. The neighborhood outside Chinatown was a little decadent and didn't give the impression of being particularly safe at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

lake Michigan

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 14, 2008

Great value for the money

My daughter and I had a great time in Chicago's Chinatown. The hotel was clean and the employee who checked us in was friendly. I would consider staying again. Parking was a block away but in a gated and gaurded lot. I felt safe there with my 5 year old daughter. We really enjoyed shopping at the many shops. The people were all very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lobster King restuant was delicious. You get huge portions and the price was great.

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 8, 2008

For rugged travelers only

This is a basic room and bath hotel which in a third world country would be luxurious, but in downtown Chicago, you can do better for a little more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

best thing is location - great asian restaurants in all directions

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
myrtis
Single
USA
Nov 17, 2007

a china experience

I stayed in two rooms and the second room had one bed and was so small I could barely move. It was very cold. They brought a heater and it broke. THere was no tubs. Lots of resturants close by. Three flights of stairs and no elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

close to train line. Quite far from real downtown

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 14, 2007

Very Clean but.........

Very clean but still a dump! Don't come to this place with anymore than two people in the room, it is extremely too small for four people and they cram furniture into small rooms! This is a good place if the only thing you want out of a hotel is just the bed! Nothing else is even in the hotel but three floors of rooms, a reception area, and small break type room with soda machines. There is also NO parking at this hotel!! You have to purchase a parking voucher from the hotel for $4.00 then across the street from Walgreens there is a parking lot that you have to pay $2.00 extra dollars to park there, then if you leave you have to do the process all over again! This hotel is even hard to find because of all the tall buildings around it! They also do not have anything to put your luggage up on except for your bed. There isn't an elevator as well, so get ready to lug your luggage up 3 flights of stairs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mayeli
Business
USA
Aug 1, 2007

Chicago Trip

The Chinatown Hotel was in a good location , but was expensive for teh service that they offer. I arrive from my flight and thay didn't have my room ready. I was really tired. Then, the room was really small, but still OK. If the price wasn't that expensive for the service will be better, or they imprve the service for that price. One advantage was teh location of teh train and bus stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Close form Marcomick Place and the red line train. Downtown area

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PoHao
Couples
USA
Jul 13, 2007

just ok

The quality is ok based on this price. The only advantage is you can use the internet in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are good Chinese food nearby.

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Debalina
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 11, 2007

Do not choose this hotel

This is the worst hotel I ever stayed accroding to customer care. The neighubourhood is worst. Its very noisy at early morming and could not sleep. The hotel location is not only 3 mile from ART Museum Campus as they demand when I call them. Please do not choose these hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 16, 2007

Great Value

This hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. Easy to find. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great authentic chinese food right next door.

Back to menu Return to top