$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

1 star
View map of 214 W. 22nd Place, Chicago, IL 60616

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 10, 2012

Cheap but adequate

There was no elevator, and the room was small. Nevertheless, it was adequate and clean. Some of the other customers complained about cleanliness in their rooms, but mine was fine. For the price, it is what I expected -- certainly not luxury, but gave me a place to sleep for three nights in Chicago -- so long as you can get from Chinatown to wherever you are trying to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SureshA
Business
St Paul MN
May 22, 2012

Okay

Okay if you are looking for place to sleep near Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob2 Business Guy
Business
Pgh, PA
May 8, 2012

NRA Convention

Get what you pay for. Shower stall so small every time I turned around I hit the shutoff valve on the water, turning it off. The paint was peeling off the walls and the TV got three channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BernaB.
Business
Lansing, Michigan
May 6, 2012

Chinatown

I definitely do not recommend this hotel. I would recommend you to pay a bit more and stay at a better hotel. This hotel smells really bad and rooms are definitely not clean. Especially carpets were dirty, old and they smell really bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dan D.
Business
Detroit, Mi
May 6, 2012

It was a place to sleep

This hotel was not very clean. The bed covers were not in very good condition and the hallways smelled bad. The staff was friendly but was not much more was offered than that. I did not spend time in Chinatown only to sleep as I spent my time in the city of Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It is only a two - three mile drive to get to the heart of down town Chicago and it cost about $10. I was able to get a parking spot on the street of the Chinatown hotel and I had to pay nothing for parking.

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa T.
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 21, 2011

Perfect Location in Chinatown

Spending two days in Chinatown, right in the center, is so much better than visiting from afar. The hotel is run by friendly staff, who try to accommodate requests. This was our third stay. Definitely ask for a room at the front part of the building. Only one English language channel on TV. Be prepared to not have a typical hotel stay, but that is part of the adventure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lao Beijing. What a huge menu, you will find something great. Mandarin food, not just regular items we are so used to. In Chinatown Square.

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Wasted time.

Not worthy of my time to review. This was a dump. I've stayed at motels on Lincoln Avenue that were better than this hole.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joe tom
Business
michigan
Sep 12, 2011

The outer side of the bed sheet/cover is DIRTY

The outer side of the bed sheet/cover is DIRTY. It looks like not washed for long time to me. Otherwise I am OK with the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StyZ
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 14, 2011

just OK

First day changed into a 2-bed room pay $10 more. the wifi is terrible! the outside of the bed is dirty looks months unwashed, but inside are OK. only 3 TV channels. 2 of them are China's. convenient to have some asian food around & close to the Red line

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chinatown Hotel SRO Ltd.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IT Instructor
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 19, 2011

It has a roof and a bed

I was at the hotel on business and couldn't get any other hotel because a lot of conventions in the city. The main thing to know about the hotel, is that rooms are on upper floors and there is no elevator. The TV had three channels, two Chinese channels and Headline News. The hotel was adequate for sleeping and was in short walking distance to the Cermack/Chinatown CTA stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top