$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Chicago Getaway Hostel

1 star
616 West Arlington Pl, Chicago, IL 60614
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
40 reviews
awesome hostel

First time in a hostel, got a private room since I was here for interviews. Otherwise you will be... See full review

  • Kaydubz
  • Dec 4, 2012
Great Place to Stay

I really enjoyed staying at this hostel. Traveling solo in a big city can be pretty scary. However... See full review

  • spy3388
  • Mar 29, 2012

Chicago Getaway Hostel has the friendly atmosphere of a hostel with the style, comfort and service of a boutique hotel. Meeting other travelers is easy in our spacious, modern common areas, gourmet kitchen and outdoor patio. Our newly renovated rooms offer a choice of dorm accommodations or private rooms - many with en-suite baths.

We are located in a youthful neighborhood near hundreds of bars and restaurants, just a short walk from Chicago's lakefront beaches and within quick and easy reach of the city's most popular attractions.

At Chicago Getaway Hostel, we encourage our guests to mingle and have a great time. We allow alcohol and host an array of weekly guest events, including our free weekend bar-b-ques, pub crawls, blues club tour and much more.

Best of all, we really know Chicago and love helping our guests experience the city from a local's perspective. Stay with us and see why Chicago Getaway Hostel is the most popular and highest-rated hostel in Chicago.

We have limited parking available for $28 per night.

We don't charge hidden membership fees.

Taxes of 16.4% will be added to the listed room rate.

Please note this property is NOT handicap accessible.

Guests who have a zip code that begins with "60" are unable to stay at Chicago Getaway Hostel.

Hotel Map

41.9268 -87.6447
Area served
Chicago in the famous Lincoln Park neighborhood.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare (ORD) (16 miles, NW) Chicago Midway (MDW) (7 miles, SW)
Area description
Lincoln Park, is one of the North side community areas of Chicago, Illinois, USA. Named after Lincoln Park, a vast stretch of park belonging to the Chicago Park District, the community area is anchored by the Lincoln Park Zoo and DePaul University. Lincoln Park is bordered by the community areas of Lakeview to the north, North Center to the northwest, Logan Square to the west, West Town to the southwest, and Near North to the south.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago Getaway Hostel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Chicago Getaway Hostel Rooms

Room w/ Private bath
These private rooms have a full bathroom with shower, toilet, and sink.Not wheelchair accessible.
En-Suite Dormitory
These rooms range in size from 6-8 people. These rooms have en-suite bathrooms. Not wheelchair accessible.
Premium Dormitory
These dormitories feature 4 beds only. These rooms used our shared bathroom facilities and do not have en-suite bathrooms. Not wheelchair accessible.
Shared Bath - Private Room
These are private rooms that do not have a bathroom within. Bathroom facilities are just down the hall.Not wheelchair accessible.
Half Bath - Private Room
These private rooms have a sink and toilet but no shower. Shower facilities are just down the hall. Not wheelchair accessible.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Biograph Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Second City: 0.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 1.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 2 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Second City: 0.7 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 1 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 1.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1.8 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 2 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 2.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 2.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 2.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 2.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 2.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 2.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 2.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 2.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 2.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 2.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 2.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 2.8 mi
  • Marina City: 2.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 2.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 3 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 3 mi
  • City Hall: 3.1 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 3.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 3.1 mi
  • Opera House: 3.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Macys: 3.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 3.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 3.1 mi

Dining

Del Seoul
Del Seoul is a Korean fusion restaurant and a staff favorite. Known for Bah mi sandwiches and Korean tacos.
Meatloaf Cafe
Meatloaf cafe is a boutique carry-out restaurant with all sorts of meatloaf inspired cupcakes.
Clarks
Clark's Diner is a local favorite. Open for Breakfast/Lunch and Dinner. Nice menu.
Basil Leaf Cafe
Italian restaurant with great atmosphere. It's located 1.5 blocks away!
Weiners Circle
A well known Chicago hot dog joint offering great Chicago Dog's and service to remember. The best part is that it's only 4 blocks away!
Hema's Kitchen
The best Indian cuisine in Chicago. Hema's kitchen is located 2.5 blocks from the hostel.
Bourgeouis Pig
Local cafe serving great espresso drinks and sandwiches with great outdoor patio.
5 Guys Burgers & Fries
A great American Burger chain. It's located 2.5 blocks from the hostel.
Panes Bread Cafe
Panes is a great Italian bakery and restaurant located 1.2 miles away or just one stop on tbe brown line train. It's cash only and always a good choice!
Chicago's Dog House
A great hot dog and sandwich shop located 2 blocks away on Fullerton.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting facilities comfortably sit 15 guests. Meeting room availability and rates can be requested through hostel management.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Chicago Getaway Hostel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago Getaway Hostel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kaydubz
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 4, 2012

awesome hostel

First time in a hostel, got a private room since I was here for interviews. Otherwise you will be sharing with multiple other people. Many awesome events (pub crawl, going to the zoo, dinners), and ended up meeting and going out with tons of interesting people. Great experience! The room is basically just a closet and a bunk bed with a desk. Wireless only is strong enough in the lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago Getaway Hostel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scottilla the hun
Business
Minneapolis
Nov 29, 2012

great value

I had a great time, this was my first time at a hostel and it was a lot like the army or college dorm setting. The staff were fantastic and the other guests were fun and interesting. I had a hard time spending a ton of money for a place to sleep and this was a perfect alternative. I would definitely recommend this for anyone who likes to travel and have a neet experience doing it. I was there on business so I really couldn't hang around and visit but next time I will make time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago Getaway Hostel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bizman2012
Business
Irving, TX
Oct 30, 2012

Worst place to stay

This is a horrible hotel. No Business traveler should ever stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago Getaway Hostel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lawilog
Germany
Oct 1, 2012

A place to meet people

If you are looking for a fancy place to stay, this is not it. It is a place with small rooms and no personal bathrooms. But: there is a nice large lobby with a pool table, a "kicker" (table soccer) and a piano. Alcohol is explicitly allowed inside the hotel and many young (and sometimes old) people from different countries meet there. There are also regular group events. It is right in the heart of Chicago - so if you are just need a central place to sleep, this will also work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Chicago Getaway Hostel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Busy Boy
Mexico
Jun 21, 2012

Could be better

When I was there it was too packed, too hot and too loud. They closed the outdoor patio too early forcing us all indoors on very hot nights. This made the whole place very loud and packed. Chicago was awesome but coming back here after a long day was not relaxing at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Chicago Getaway Hostel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trekiie
kansas city, MO
Jun 13, 2012

Close to food shopping bars beach

staff was kind and helpful Rooms were exactly what I was expecting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Chicago Getaway Hostel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spy3388
San Diego, CA, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Great Place to Stay

I really enjoyed staying at this hostel. Traveling solo in a big city can be pretty scary. However staying at this hostel made things much easier. The location is great within walking distance of a few bars, convenience stores, and other eateries. The L station is only a few blocks away a short 5 minute walk. The rooms were clean as well as the common areas and the bathrooms. The staff was amazing. Always willing to help out with locating different tourist spots as well as answer any other questions I had (no matter how annoying they were). My one and only complaint was that the bed I slept on was pretty bad. I could have used another pillow and would have been better off sleeping on my side instead of my back like i'm used to. But overall this was a great place to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A few bars close by.

Review of Chicago Getaway Hostel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheForeigner
Missouri, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Chicago Getaway Hostel

I was honestly surprised. This place far exceeded my expectations. This was the first time I ever stayed at a Hostel and I really loved it. The staff here offer better service than most "Star" Hotels. Thank you guys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chicago Getaway Hostel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheForeigner
Missouri, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Awesome Place

This place far exceeded my expectations. This was the first time I stayed at a Hostel and I loved it. The staff here are professional and friendlier than most "Stars" hotels. Great location & great guests. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chicago Getaway Hostel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enjoying Chicago
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Frickin' loud guests but good location

I was in town on business and this was in a great location--literally only a few minutes from the red line (which runs nearly 24/7) and awesome venues, bars and food within walking distance. I wasn't ever there long enough to attend the hostel events but a lot of college kids there seemed to like it for that, if you're into that kind of thing. The showers were YMCA style, where you put all your stuff across the room in an open area and shower on the other side. Also, the open kitchen was nice. My biggest complaint are the lighting (not enough of it; it's freaking dark everywhere) and the bed I was assigned which had messed up springs which gave me back aches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to a lot of awesome bars, food and the red line. Buy some groceries if you think you might stay in ever so you can cook something. There's no food readily available there save for the complimentary breakfast.

Back to menu Return to top