Chicago's Essex Inn ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$67
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Mar 1, 2016
3.7 /5
Overall score
86%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Skyline King Suite
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe King
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Skyline Two Double Suite
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Deluxe Double
  • Occupancy: 4

Overview

Chicago's Essex Inn in Chicago blends in perfectly in the heart of the Windy City. For guests who want to relax and retreat, the free rooftop pool and state-of-the-art fitness facilities make it easy to do so. The pool is enclosed with glass and is all-season, allowing you to enjoy it even in the winter months. The fitness center boasts elliptical machines, free weights, treadmills and weight machines to meet your fitness requirements. Following a swim or workout, travelers can then take in the views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park while relaxing in the rooftop garden.

Highlights

Key facts

Guests will enjoy the French-inspired offerings of the on-site Brasserie by LM, located in the hotel's lobby. A broad menu is available for all meals, and the stocked bar and lounge has a wide variety of domestic and French wines. You may also select from numerous French and German draft beers. Located in the heart of downtown Chicago on the city's famous Cultural Mile, the hotel is within walking distance of the numerous shops and boutiques on the Magnificent Mile. It is also close to the home fields of Chicago's famous sports teams. Wrigley Field, U.S. Cellular Field, Soldier Field and the United Center are all nearby. Guests can easily walk to other landmarks from Essex Inn, including Millennium Park, the Art Institute of Chicago and the Shedd Aquarium.

Fees

  • Overnight parking fee is $60 USD per night plus tax.

Policies

  • Minimum age for booking is 21.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.3 / 5
$79
Guest score 3.2 / 5
$65
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$80
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$80
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$149
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$71

Amenities

Featured

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Elevators

Activities

  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center or spa

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant

Services

  • Laundry service
  • In-Room Safe

Internet

  • Free internet in room

Parking

  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Service dogs allowed
  • Accessible parking

Reviews

3.7 /5 Overall score

86% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.7/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.2/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.2/5
  • Comfort: 3.9/5
  • Location: 4.5/5
  • Value: 4/5

Nice corner room and staff

Would recommend Tue, Dec 22, 2015
We have been to the Essex before, not since 2008, some remodeling since then, we took the train in on Friday from the suburbs, left our luggage t hotel since room wasn't ready, and off to the museums by taxi. When we got back, we were taken up to the 6th floor with a bellboy to a small room with 1 chair, called down immediately about our complaint, needed more room and a 2nd place to sit, bellboy came up with another room key right next door to a 2 room corner suite, lovely upgrade for our weekend in the city! Enjoyed the hotel restaurant The Brassierri for 2 breakfasts, a lunch, and a dinner. Their manager Beate was friendly and helpful with meal and beverage suggestions, prices were reasonable and food was healthy, fresh and tastfully presented.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Chicago Bears trip

Would recommend Sat, Dec 19, 2015
I still will NEVER understand if check out is @ 11 a.m. then why is check in @ 4 p.m.!?!??? They need a faster cleaning crew. They guy @ the front desk was a little rude, other than that I really like this place. Parking @ Essex though is to expensive for overnight parking!! A block away was 40 bucks cheaper!!!!

| N/A Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Champions Classic

Would recommend Fri, Nov 20, 2015
Friendly staff, clean rooms but being an older building the heater was on and the temperature outside was above normal, but the did get us a fan. So all good

| OVERLAND PARK Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

The moldy shower killed it

Would not recommend Tue, Nov 17, 2015
If it hadn't been for the mold/mildew in the shower and the peeling ceiling paint with rust stains in the bathroom, this would have been a great hotel. I was immediately turned off by the condition of the bathroom. The staff here is wonderful, and the lobbies and hallways are clean. The bedding was clean and the floors seemed clean.

| N/A Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Good Business trip

Would recommend Wed, Nov 4, 2015
This hotel is near perfect! Great location, attractive public rooms, comfortable and spacious bedrooms and bathrooms, attentive service, good breakfasts and probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Well done to all concerned!

| N/A Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

A very enjoyable time

Would recommend Wed, Nov 4, 2015
A little worried about staying at the Essex Inn as some reviews that I read were negative. There were some negatives, but on the whole a positive stay. These are our negatives and positives Negatives- The hotel has seen better days as it is worn and not been up-dated (apart from the reception). Several wall lights in our room were not working. The Ladies changing rooms (pool) were locked on two mornings and had to walk back to the room wet. Noise from below room and in corridor woke us up 3 nights out of 7 (more to do with inconsiderate guests). Water of shower in Men's changing room (pool) was scalding hot one morning and could not be adjusted . Temperature of pool varied every day. Positives- Great location, we walked to most sights. Had superb breakfasts at Yolk, just down the road. Friendly and informative staff. Clean, fresh bedding. Free up-grade to a suite from a double room, which gave us a better view. A gym and swimming pool that we used every morning Room cleaned and made fresh every day Great shower in room

| N/A Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great location but tired and poor handling of service issue

Would not recommend Mon, Oct 19, 2015
The hotel has a great location on Grant Park which was ideal as I was taking part in the marathon. The room was functional but decor was tired. Pool and gym facilities were good but WiFi unreliable. The resturant was nice and food good but we ordered room service one day which did not go well and when we raised the issue it was not handled well. Apart from that issue it would have been average overall.

| N/A Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Chicago Marathon

Would recommend Tue, Oct 13, 2015
Very convenient and affordable. Perfect for one person.

| Charlotte Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

great location, nice place, so so wireless

Would recommend Mon, Oct 12, 2015
I usually stay in cheapo motels so I found it to be quite swanky. Clean, helpful and polite staff. I think they said parking was $50 - I had a panda parking pass for a lot a block away ($8). Wireless internet wasn't really adequate for the Skype meeting I tried to have.

| N/A Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Parking

Would not recommend Mon, Oct 12, 2015
What they do not tell you till you get there is parking is $60.00 per day. Our room on the 15th floor had ants on the carpets and carpets are very old and dirty.

| N/A Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Grant Park 0.1 mi
Printers Square 0.3 mi
Auditorium Theatre 0.3 mi
Harold Washington Library 0.4 mi
Buckingham Fountain 0.4 mi
Field Museum of Natural History 0.5 mi
Chicago Architecture Foundation 0.5 mi
Symphony Center 0.6 mi
Art Institute of Chicago 0.6 mi
Chicago Board of Trade 0.6 mi
Shedd Aquarium 0.6 mi
Willis Tower (Sears Tower) 0.7 mi
Bank of America Theatre 0.7 mi
Crown Fountain 0.7 mi
Soldier Field 0.7 mi
State Street 0.8 mi
Cloud Gate 0.8 mi
Shubert Theatre 0.8 mi
Yacht Club 0.8 mi
Pritzker Pavilion 0.8 mi
Chicago Cultural Center 0.9 mi
Macys 0.9 mi
Harris Theater 0.9 mi
City Hall 0.9 mi
Oriental Theatre 1 mi
Union Station 1 mi
Chicago Mercantile Exchange 1 mi
Cadillac Palace Theatre 1 mi
Goodman Theatre 1 mi
Adler Planetarium 1 mi
Chicago Theater 1 mi
Prudential Plaza 1 mi
Harold Washington College 1 mi
Opera House 1 mi
Michigan Avenue South 1.1 mi
Hull House Museum 1.2 mi
Marina City 1.2 mi
Museum of Broadcast Communications 1.3 mi
Merchandise Mart 1.3 mi
Wrigley Building 1.3 mi
Chicago Chinatown 1.3 mi
Tribune Tower 1.3 mi
North Michigan Avenue 1.4 mi
McCormick Place 1.4 mi
Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$67
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Mar 1, 2016