$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
257 reviews
Perfect Location for a Grant Park Events

Perfect location for Lollapalooza or anything at nearby Grant Park. Walking distance to Soldier... See full review

  • Derek M.
  • Aug 3, 2015
great vacation

Bath tub got stopped up with water but great hotel See full review

  • Shawn T.
  • Jul 2, 2015
Chicago's Essex Inn has an ideal location ideal on Michigan Avenue, just a few blocks south of the more congested areas of downtown Chicago. Grant Park is across the street, along with many famous Chicago attractions, including Millennium Park and the Art Institute. Sleek in design, the Essex Inn boasts a metal and glass lobby, floor-to-ceiling windows with city views and an impressive atrium housing a large pool. ADA-compliant areas are also available at Chicago's Essex Inn.
Rooms
A color palette grounded in rich orange and brown earth tones keeps the scene warm. Floor-to-ceiling windows play up the hotel’s strongest asset, the city views. Flat-screen TVs and refrigerators are standard amenities in each room at Chicago's Essex Inn. Guests can have complimentary access to wireless Internet. Rooms also feature ADA-compliant areas.
Property features
In a metropolis like Chicago, pools and green space are precious real estate. Chicago's Essex Inn has both.

The garden pool feels like a competitive swimming complex, with a retractable atrium and global flags hanging from the rafters. The pool area features large windows that look out onto the well-manicured grounds of the rooftop garden. From the garden, guests enjoy skyline views of Grant Park and Lake Michigan from comfortable patio chairs and tables. Next to the pool is a large fitness center, featuring bikes, treadmills, weight machines, free weights, as well as six TVs.

Visitors to Chicago who have come to sightsee take advantage of a hotel shuttle bus free of charge. It makes several stops along Michigan Avenue, including Water Tower Place. Other stops include Navy Pier and the Museum Campus.

Travelers who want to stay connected access high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel for a fee, or visit the 24-hour business center.
Highlights
  • Great value in the city for its location and amenities
  • Rooftop pool available year-round
  • Large, well-equipped fitness room overlooks pool deck
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Campus (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with space for 12 for 125 guests
  • 24-hour business center with desktop computers, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and a printer
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet available throughout Chicago's Essex Inn
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/26 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (8.7 mi/14.1 km)
  • Blue Line (LaSalle to O’Hare) (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
Policies
Valet parking fee is $60 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago's Essex Inn also booked these hotels.

★★★
$125
3.3 / 5 1,174 reviews
★★★
$145
3.2 / 5 304 reviews
★★★
$103
4.1 / 5 542 reviews
★★★
$107
4.0 / 5 557 reviews
★★★
$179
4.3 / 5 220 reviews
★★★
$116
4.0 / 5 301 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 272 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.1 / 5 705 reviews
★★
$89
2.9 / 5 318 reviews

Chicago's Essex Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Our tastefully designed guest rooms are thoughtfully appointed with everything you need to enhance your stay whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Our standard rooms feature one queen size bed or two double beds and have amenities such as hairdryers, data port hookups, voicemail messaging, automated wakeup service, iron and ironing board, and 25-inch color TV with extended cable package, including HBO.
Skyline King Suite
This corner Suite offers tremendous natural light due to our floor to ceiling windows that also give you an incomparable view of the spectacular Chicago skyline, the lovely Grant Park. Depending on the season enjoy views of Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, and the famous Chicago Museum Campus. The suite has a bedroom with a King size bed and a separate living area with a pull-out sofa bed giving you a little more privacy on a family getaway, or space for a meeting if youre traveling on business. The living area includes a work desk with outlets, convenient ergonomic rolling chair, and a mini fridge. Each room features flat screen TV.
Skyline Two Double Bed Suite
This corner Suite offers tremendous natural light due to our floor to ceiling windows that also give you an incomparable view of the spectacular Chicago skyline, the lovely Grant Park. Depending on the season enjoy views of Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, and the famous Chicago Museum Campus. The suite has a bedroom with two Double size beds and a separate living area with a pull-out sofa bed giving you a little more privacy on a family or friends getaway. The living area includes a work desk with outlets, convenient ergonomic rolling chair, and a mini fridge. Each room features flat screen TV.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
257 out of 257
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony91
Friends
Crown Point, IN
Jan 2, 2014

Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BKL FL
Couples
Cocoa, FL, USA
Feb 5, 2012

My favorite heart of Chicago retreat

Walk everywhere easily, metro to/from airport, museums, restaurants, theater, symphony-- free wireless internet, coffee, fridge in room, easy to check in/out, friendly and convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk everywhere easily, metro to/from airport, museums, restaurants, theater, symphony-- free wireless internet, coffee, fridge in room, easy to check in/out, friendly and convenient

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich chgo
Single
Worcester England
Mar 5, 2012

Regular visitor

I have been a regulaor visitor to Chicago since 2006 & nowadays always stay at the Essex. Excellent hotel, good rooms, facilities & helpfull staff. Great location too, have not used a cab in years as the nearby red line will get you anywhere in the city. Have stayed in other Chicago hotels but find the Essex by far the best, for value, location, comfort & friendlness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Red line CTA 2 blocks away

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baseball enthusiast
Friends
Orange, California
Jun 1, 2012

Great location and area

The hotel room is small, for a group of four. We have no complaints of the area or what the hotel had to offer. They have ironing boards, hair dryer, and one quick call down stairs and they were prompt with extra towels and cups. They do have a laundry facility, and its a buck for the wash and dryer. The mini fridge was great for our leftovers and water/drinks. The tv had basic cable and hob, in the area for food, you can find a mini mart, a coffee shop and a sandwich shop. a further walk you can find a well know grocery store, also a wing place thats open till midnight. Not every store sells beer or alcohol. getting around town we took the bus and the CTA(subway system) buy your 1/3/7 day passes at cvs or walgreens. and their good for the bus and the train. The hotel also offers shuttle to the Navy pier. Also the bus stop is right out side the hotel and their we always found cabs sitting outside the hotel waiting for costumers. overall the hotel was great and so was the staff, i planned early and saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Theirs a Lou Malnaties in the area, and the WIllis towe is about 15 min walk and across the street is a Giordanos pizzeria(some of the best pizza we had during our trip. ANd if you plan on taking pizza on the plane. we had no problem in fact we took three 12'' pizza, (no special packaging just in their take out boxes, although we did manage to fit two in one of our carry on bag. I am also active military and it never hurts to ask for discounts, I was able to get a free ticket to the White sox game and a complimentary ticket for the Wendella bout tour. If you stop by the USO at the Navy Pier, you can get free water and snacks as well as a print out of freebees and discounted places.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Bourbonnais, Il
Aug 23, 2012

End of Summer vacation Trip

Staff was wonderful and the room was spotless. We had a wonderful view of Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBYOTS
Business
Bunker Hill
Aug 31, 2013

Chicago

GREAT EXPERIENCE, everyone was helpful and went out of their way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amfortas
Business
VA
Nov 26, 2013

Every thing is nice!

Everything is nice. The room is clean, and the staffs are friendly and willing ti help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Yuper Lover!
Business
Springfield, IL
May 28, 2009

Great location for the price

The room was great, even though it was on the backside of the hotel, I was in the corner and could see Lake Michigan and the Sears Tower. The room was cozy and comfortable. I really liked having windows on two walls. Everything was clean and neat. The pool was great, the fitness center was wonderful, inside the hotel was peaceful. The L was outside my window and was a bit loud; although I was able to sleep just fine. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tamerind is a wonderful restaurant, but a little pricy. Service is great, food is to die for.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Lafayette, IN
Jul 27, 2009

We loved the Essex Inn!

While we had options available at less cost than our room at the Essex Inn, we opted to pay a little more for an excellent location on Michigan Avenue. We did not have the best view in the hotel, but we believe our view from the 15th floor was spectacular, allowing us a view a portion of the lake and much of the museum campus. The staff was very courteous, friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The Essex Inn demonstrates an awareness of its environment, both locally and globally, by promoting recycling and water conservation and by offering guests the opportunity to make a donation to help those less fortunate by checking a box on the incidentals form... no pressure. These are all values in line with my own, and added value to my experience. While in Chicago, we visited the Shedd Aquarium, which was very convenient to the hotel. We noted the natives were very friendly in allowing us to cross lanes in traffic when we were too far to one side. Some Chicago friends thought it must be because they had had so much nice weather lately. It took us about 4.5 hours to drive home, which should have taken less than 2.5 hours. If we had been clever enough to ask the Concierge, I am inclined to think we could have easily avoided some of that delay. That would be my fault. The Essex Inn was perfect for our trip to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We asked the concierge about the distance to a particular destination. He did his best to tell us, not knowing our time constraints, as we were meeting friends. When I inquired about calling a cab, he informed us one is stationed outside 24 hours. This may be standard protocol in Chicago, but we found it to be hugely convenient!

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gmanancy
Family
Illinois
Oct 24, 2009

Excellent place!

It was raining very hard and the staff was very helpful with directions and what a cab would cost. The shuttle was nice. I have stayed at the Essex now 5 times and have enjoyed every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top