$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
381 reviews
Great

Clean and comfortable in the heart of downtown. Well worth the price. See full review

  • Cynthiamb123
  • May 10, 2014
Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean... See full review

  • Tony91
  • Jan 2, 2014
Affordable hotel south of Chicago's bustling downtown area
Chicago's Essex Inn has an ideal location ideal on Michigan Avenue, just a few blocks south of the more congested areas of downtown Chicago. Grant Park is across the street, along with many famous Chicago attractions, including Millennium Park and the Art Institute. Sleek in design, the Essex Inn boasts a metal and glass lobby, floor-to-ceiling windows with city views and an impressive atrium housing a large pool. ADA-compliant areas are also available at Chicago's Essex Inn.
Highlights
  • Great value in the city for its location and amenities
  • Rooftop pool available year-round
  • Large, well-equipped fitness room overlooks pool deck
Rooms
A color palette grounded in rich orange and brown earth tones keeps the scene warm. Floor-to-ceiling windows play up the hotel’s strongest asset, the city views. Flat-screen TVs and refrigerators are standard amenities in each room at Chicago's Essex Inn. Guests can have complimentary access to wireless Internet. Rooms also feature ADA-compliant areas.
Features
In a metropolis like Chicago, pools and green space are precious real estate. Chicago's Essex Inn has both.

The garden pool feels like a competitive swimming complex, with a retractable atrium and global flags hanging from the rafters. The pool area features large windows that look out onto the well-manicured grounds of the rooftop garden. From the garden, guests enjoy skyline views of Grant Park and Lake Michigan from comfortable patio chairs and tables. Next to the pool is a large fitness center, featuring bikes, treadmills, weight machines, free weights, as well as six TVs.

Visitors to Chicago who have come to sightsee take advantage of a hotel shuttle bus free of charge. It makes several stops along Michigan Avenue, including Water Tower Place. Other stops include Navy Pier and the Museum Campus.

Travelers who want to stay connected access high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel for a fee, or visit the 24-hour business center.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/26 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (8.7 mi/14.1 km)
  • Blue Line (LaSalle to O’Hare) (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Campus (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with space for 12 for 125 guests
  • 24-hour business center with desktop computers, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and a printer
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet available throughout Chicago's Essex Inn
Policies and fees
Parking fee is $50 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8712 -87.6247
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Midway
Area description
Millenium Park, Art Institute Chicago, Navy Pier, Adler Planetarium, Field Museum, McCormick Place, Buckingham Fountain, Lakefront, Grant Park

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago's Essex Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chicago's Essex Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Our tastefully designed guest rooms are thoughtfully appointed with everything you need to enhance your stay whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Our standard rooms feature one queen size bed or two double beds and have amenities such as hairdryers, data port hookups, voicemail messaging, automated wakeup service, iron and ironing board, and 25-inch color TV with extended cable package, including HBO.
Standard Room -ADA accessible
ADA-compliant entrances to the hotel, valet parking in the hotel garage and Accessible public restrooms. There are a number of designated accessible guest rooms which include accessible features as: grab bars in the showers; ADA-compliant sitting stools for showering; hand held shower spray wands; protected plumbing covers; ADA-compliant lavatory fixtures; Lowered security "peep" holes on the doors. Touch lamps and TTY Kits for hearing & visual assistance. The swimming pool and garden deck areas are also accessible and we provide ADA-compliant pool lift; and Accessible Fitness Center with ADA Universal Gym. There are accessible paths of travel to the restaurant located on the premises of the Essex Inn and the restaurant has accessible dining tables.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (381)

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 381
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ljohnson
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 12, 2012

expecting better

I know you don't get a lot of space in a city hotel but for almost $200/night, I was expecting a bit more than a minuscule sink (literally, barely large/deep enough to wash my hands) with serious drainage problems; large flat screen TV with no cable signal; and a toilet which looked like it had taken out a public restroom stall and plopped down into the hotel bathroom. The room was just not cozy ... and it didn't help that teenagers' shouts could be heard the ENTIRE night. When I told the staff about our issues, all I got was, "Thank you for your input. We'll take that into consideration." In other words, 'Sorry you had a bad time but I could care less. See ya later.' I think next time we'll pay the extra $20 and try the larger hotel chain next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gioco's is cute, rustic Italian restaurant less than a mile's walk from the hotel. The atmosphere is cozy, prices are fairly average and the food is good!

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich chgo
Worcester England
Mar 5, 2012

Regular visitor

I have been a regulaor visitor to Chicago since 2006 & nowadays always stay at the Essex. Excellent hotel, good rooms, facilities & helpfull staff. Great location too, have not used a cab in years as the nearby red line will get you anywhere in the city. Have stayed in other Chicago hotels but find the Essex by far the best, for value, location, comfort & friendlness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Red line CTA 2 blocks away

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
chatham
Feb 13, 2011

Where's the Lounge/restaurant

Great place, great location ,resonably priced, but would have liked to know lounge/restaurant were being remodeled!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
chatham
Feb 13, 2011

Where's the Lounge/restaurant

Great place, great location ,resonably priced, but would have liked to know lounge/restaurant were being remodeled!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MissBusyBody
St. Louis
May 9, 2010

Simply nice

The hotel staff were friendly. They gave great recommendations. There is also a van that takes you to Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short distance from the Magnificent Mile and eateries

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MissBusyBody
St. Louis
May 9, 2010

Simply nice

The hotel staff were friendly. They gave great recommendations. There is also a van that takes you to Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short distance from the Magnificent Mile and eateries

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tee~Ecstatic Mom
Severn,MD
Dec 22, 2009

Great Place to Stay on a Budget

When I arrived I asked if my room had 2 beds. I was advised 1 king bed. I told desk manager that my daughter may come and stay and I prefer 2 beds. I told him that this is a mini vacation for me and if the room with 2 beds is not as nice as the room I have, don't change it. Well he did one better. He provided me with a king suite with a queen pull out. My daughter did stay and used the pull out and I stretched out in the king bed. The furnishings were beautiful and the view of Lake Michigan from my room was fabulous. I would definitely stay again. I found the accomodations to be more than worth the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tfaray
Houston, TX
Sep 28, 2009

Small,comfortable room.Amazing location!

There is a plethora to do in downtown Chicago. Essex Inn was a perfect central hub for my excursions. As their slogan goes, "Essex Inn, your key to the city." I was shocked by the tiny size of the room considering the cost of the room. Also, the a/c and heat are centrally controlled. No temperature adjustment. This proved to be no problem. I just added an extra blanket if I was cold and vice versa when I was warm. Amazing pool with atrium glass. Breathtaking view of Grant Park and downtown at night is picturesque when viewed from rooftop garden adjacent to pool. Despite the oddities of a tiny room and centrally controlled temp., the amenities were quite comfortable and more than adequate. For the price I don't think on can find a better location. Ask for a corner room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hot Doug's - World Renowned hot dog dive (or as it's lovingly known "encased meat emporium"). Just google it. You must make this trek. Take the Blue Line toward O'Hare. Get off at California. Exit the train platform and walk north (right) on California. Stop at the first bus stop for route 52. Take route 52 bus to Roscoe/California (Stop ID: 3204). Hot Doug's is on your left.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tfaray
Houston, TX
Sep 28, 2009

Small,comfortable room.Amazing location!

There is a plethora to do in downtown Chicago. Essex Inn was a perfect central hub for my excursions. As their slogan goes, "Essex Inn, your key to the city." I was shocked by the tiny size of the room considering the cost of the room. Also, the a/c and heat are centrally controlled. No temperature adjustment. This proved to be no problem. I just added an extra blanket if I was cold and vice versa when I was warm. Amazing pool with atrium glass. Breathtaking view of Grant Park and downtown at night is picturesque when viewed from rooftop garden adjacent to pool. Despite the oddities of a tiny room and centrally controlled temp., the amenities were quite comfortable and more than adequate. For the price I don't think on can find a better location. Ask for a corner room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hot Doug's - World Renowned hot dog dive (or as it's lovingly known "encased meat emporium"). Just google it. You must make this trek. Take the Blue Line toward O'Hare. Get off at California. Exit the train platform and walk north (right) on California. Stop at the first bus stop for route 52. Take route 52 bus to Roscoe/California (Stop ID: 3204). Hot Doug's is on your left.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Jul 31, 2009

Very nice

Pros: The pool and patio area was fantastic! The rooms were very clean and there is a shuttle for free transportation to major attractions. Also, the price was great. Cons: Everything is an additional price, and there should be free wireless access. Depending on what you want to do, the location may not be good. Also, the room was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top