$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
380 reviews
Great

Clean and comfortable in the heart of downtown. Well worth the price. See full review

  • Cynthiamb123
  • May 10, 2014
Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean... See full review

  • Tony91
  • Jan 2, 2014
Affordable hotel south of Chicago's bustling downtown area
Chicago's Essex Inn has an ideal location ideal on Michigan Avenue, just a few blocks south of the more congested areas of downtown Chicago. Grant Park is across the street, along with many famous Chicago attractions, including Millennium Park and the Art Institute. Sleek in design, the Essex Inn boasts a metal and glass lobby, floor-to-ceiling windows with city views and an impressive atrium housing a large pool. ADA-compliant areas are also available at Chicago's Essex Inn.
Highlights
  • Great value in the city for its location and amenities
  • Rooftop pool available year-round
  • Large, well-equipped fitness room overlooks pool deck
Rooms
A color palette grounded in rich orange and brown earth tones keeps the scene warm. Floor-to-ceiling windows play up the hotel’s strongest asset, the city views. Flat-screen TVs and refrigerators are standard amenities in each room at Chicago's Essex Inn. Guests can have complimentary access to wireless Internet. Rooms also feature ADA-compliant areas.
Features
In a metropolis like Chicago, pools and green space are precious real estate. Chicago's Essex Inn has both.

The garden pool feels like a competitive swimming complex, with a retractable atrium and global flags hanging from the rafters. The pool area features large windows that look out onto the well-manicured grounds of the rooftop garden. From the garden, guests enjoy skyline views of Grant Park and Lake Michigan from comfortable patio chairs and tables. Next to the pool is a large fitness center, featuring bikes, treadmills, weight machines, free weights, as well as six TVs.

Visitors to Chicago who have come to sightsee take advantage of a hotel shuttle bus free of charge. It makes several stops along Michigan Avenue, including Water Tower Place. Other stops include Navy Pier and the Museum Campus.

Travelers who want to stay connected access high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel for a fee, or visit the 24-hour business center.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/26 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (8.7 mi/14.1 km)
  • Blue Line (LaSalle to O’Hare) (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Campus (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with space for 12 for 125 guests
  • 24-hour business center with desktop computers, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and a printer
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet available throughout Chicago's Essex Inn
Policies and fees
Parking fee is $50 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Chicago's Essex Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Our tastefully designed guest rooms are thoughtfully appointed with everything you need to enhance your stay whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Our standard rooms feature one queen size bed or two double beds and have amenities such as hairdryers, data port hookups, voicemail messaging, automated wakeup service, iron and ironing board, and 25-inch color TV with extended cable package, including HBO.
Standard Room -ADA accessible
ADA-compliant entrances to the hotel, valet parking in the hotel garage and Accessible public restrooms. There are a number of designated accessible guest rooms which include accessible features as: grab bars in the showers; ADA-compliant sitting stools for showering; hand held shower spray wands; protected plumbing covers; ADA-compliant lavatory fixtures; Lowered security "peep" holes on the doors. Touch lamps and TTY Kits for hearing & visual assistance. The swimming pool and garden deck areas are also accessible and we provide ADA-compliant pool lift; and Accessible Fitness Center with ADA Universal Gym. There are accessible paths of travel to the restaurant located on the premises of the Essex Inn and the restaurant has accessible dining tables.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago's Essex Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8712 -87.6247
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Midway
Area description
Millenium Park, Art Institute Chicago, Navy Pier, Adler Planetarium, Field Museum, McCormick Place, Buckingham Fountain, Lakefront, Grant Park

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (380)

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 380
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Aunt
Phoenix Az
Jun 29, 2014

Horrible

I was so disappointed with the room it was very small smelled bad will not be staying there on my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mish father
New york
May 24, 2014

Family

The hotel is good but it has very bad issolation. I hope this issue is fixed to improve the hotel quality..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
no help
mankato mn
Apr 28, 2014

No help.

I was very dissatisfied with my stay. We drove from Mn and when we got there we were told to park our car in their ramp was $50 a night. As a guest i would think parking was inincluded. Then once we got to our room it was really small and not clean. There were socks left there from other guest. When i called the front desk to tell them they just said sorry. Didnt offer to clean it up or anything. The pool also was very dirty. There was items floating on the top of the pool, and what looked like mold growing around the edge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bears Dan
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Dec 11, 2013

Excellent overnight for Bears game

Pretty much the closest hotel to soldier field. Was a great choice for an overnight after a night Bears game. Positives: Room was clean and recently modernized, with a comfortable bed. Not luxurious, but had an upscale feel. There was a nice french-style bistro attached, which was nice for a quick meal before the game. Negatives: cramped, spartan bathroom; not a lot of lobby amenities. Bottom line: if you can get this for a good price, it's an excellent south loop choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetsi
Washington, D.C.
Nov 18, 2013

plumbing

The room was great, staff great, food at restaurant great, location great, and decor nice. The only problem was the cold water faucet handle fell off in my hand, and the shower drain was stopped up, and the water did not go down fast enough. Otherwise, excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gioco's , very close to hotel. Fabulous Italian food. Great service.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marco14
NC
Oct 10, 2013

Big mistake!!

Room on 10th floor was not clean at check-in, very dusty behind beds, and very small overall. Bathroom sink tiny, and the TOILET WOULD NOT FLUSH ALL WEEKEND!! We had to call the Engineer 3 times to come plunge it...not good. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wannabe on the road
Aptos, California
Apr 8, 2013

Under re-model

My first impression of the hotel was NOT good because they are under a re-model of the lobby and a big part of the lobby walls are boarded up. I would have liked to know that before I got there. Our three-day stay was actually fine though. I would have liked two chairs in the room, not just one, given that we were two people. I was visiting Columbia College with my daughter, and the Essex location was perfect. We went to the restaurant attached to the Essex for breakfast on morning and soup one night and both meals were very good.Noise? There is a train that travels close by, but the sound proofing in the rooms is good enough to block most of it out and we slept very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the visitor trolley that tours you around the town and shows you the fun highlights of the city. We had an awesome guide.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MoeTB Great Mom
Northern Michigan
Apr 8, 2013

family vacation

The hotel was in the perfect location - right downtown on Michigan Street - walking distance to almost everything. The hotel room was spotless, beds comfortable (although small for a queen). Even thought the hotel was going through some remodeling of the lobby the service was great and the personnel working there were extremely nice and very helpful. We came by train and what a great experience that was. We went to the Blue Man Group, a Bulls game and the Navy Pier and Sheds Aquarium, just to name a few of the events we planned. Great coffee shops behind on the next block, great little lunch spots and breakfast at the Yolk just down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of singles to tip the cab drivers because you can go through a lot of fives and tens if you want to tip or just pay for your road trip,

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeffmpls2013
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 6, 2013

Good place to stay and convenient

Our timing was a bit unfortunate as the hotel was going through a renovation of the main floor but in spite of this, our stay was very pleasant. They have a very nice pool, a workout facility and the rooms are pleasant. The floor to ceiling windows in the room gave us great views of the lake and it was an easy walk to the museum campus (Shedd, Adler and Field) and a pleasant walk to much of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the paths under Congress and Lake Shore Dr to access the Museum Campus.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bourbonnais, Il
Aug 23, 2012

End of Summer vacation Trip

Staff was wonderful and the room was spotless. We had a wonderful view of Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top