$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
273 reviews
Trip for Niece's 5th Birthday

Great location, very friendly staff at check-in and check-out and rooms were clean and comfortable. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 15, 2015
Chicago Trip

Had a great stay. The staff and valet was friendly and professional. The location was excellent.... See full review

  • angela c.
  • Apr 25, 2015
Affordable hotel south of Chicago's bustling downtown area
Chicago's Essex Inn has an ideal location ideal on Michigan Avenue, just a few blocks south of the more congested areas of downtown Chicago. Grant Park is across the street, along with many famous Chicago attractions, including Millennium Park and the Art Institute. Sleek in design, the Essex Inn boasts a metal and glass lobby, floor-to-ceiling windows with city views and an impressive atrium housing a large pool. ADA-compliant areas are also available at Chicago's Essex Inn.
Highlights
  • Great value in the city for its location and amenities
  • Rooftop pool available year-round
  • Large, well-equipped fitness room overlooks pool deck
Rooms
A color palette grounded in rich orange and brown earth tones keeps the scene warm. Floor-to-ceiling windows play up the hotel’s strongest asset, the city views. Flat-screen TVs and refrigerators are standard amenities in each room at Chicago's Essex Inn. Guests can have complimentary access to wireless Internet. Rooms also feature ADA-compliant areas.
Features
In a metropolis like Chicago, pools and green space are precious real estate. Chicago's Essex Inn has both.

The garden pool feels like a competitive swimming complex, with a retractable atrium and global flags hanging from the rafters. The pool area features large windows that look out onto the well-manicured grounds of the rooftop garden. From the garden, guests enjoy skyline views of Grant Park and Lake Michigan from comfortable patio chairs and tables. Next to the pool is a large fitness center, featuring bikes, treadmills, weight machines, free weights, as well as six TVs.

Visitors to Chicago who have come to sightsee take advantage of a hotel shuttle bus free of charge. It makes several stops along Michigan Avenue, including Water Tower Place. Other stops include Navy Pier and the Museum Campus.

Travelers who want to stay connected access high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel for a fee, or visit the 24-hour business center.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/26 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (8.7 mi/14.1 km)
  • Blue Line (LaSalle to O’Hare) (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Campus (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with space for 12 for 125 guests
  • 24-hour business center with desktop computers, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and a printer
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet available throughout Chicago's Essex Inn
Policies and fees
Valet parking fee is $60 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago's Essex Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Chicago's Essex Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Our tastefully designed guest rooms are thoughtfully appointed with everything you need to enhance your stay whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Our standard rooms feature one queen size bed or two double beds and have amenities such as hairdryers, data port hookups, voicemail messaging, automated wakeup service, iron and ironing board, and 25-inch color TV with extended cable package, including HBO.
Skyline King Suite
This corner Suite offers tremendous natural light due to our floor to ceiling windows that also give you an incomparable view of the spectacular Chicago skyline, the lovely Grant Park. Depending on the season enjoy views of Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, and the famous Chicago Museum Campus. The suite has a bedroom with a King size bed and a separate living area with a pull-out sofa bed giving you a little more privacy on a family getaway, or space for a meeting if youre traveling on business. The living area includes a work desk with outlets, convenient ergonomic rolling chair, and a mini fridge. Each room features flat screen TV.
Skyline Two Double Bed Suite
This corner Suite offers tremendous natural light due to our floor to ceiling windows that also give you an incomparable view of the spectacular Chicago skyline, the lovely Grant Park. Depending on the season enjoy views of Lake Michigan, Millennium Park, and the famous Chicago Museum Campus. The suite has a bedroom with two Double size beds and a separate living area with a pull-out sofa bed giving you a little more privacy on a family or friends getaway. The living area includes a work desk with outlets, convenient ergonomic rolling chair, and a mini fridge. Each room features flat screen TV.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed KRS
Business
Normal, IL
Nov 12, 2010

not so hot

I was in town for a funeral and I must say my stay was less than pleasant. The beds were HARD my daughter and I tossed and turned all night long, the bathroom was small and OLD! We were woke up around 6:30 in the morning to what appeared to be hammering on the walls, the maid banged on the door at 8 am to see when we were checking out. The food at the restarant was awful to put it lightly will NOT stay there ever again! Plus parking for ONE NIGHT in THEIR parking deck was almost $40!! Not impressed planning a trip again soon but will not be at that hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K262626
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Disappointed

We were suppose to have a nonsmoking floor but it reaked of smoke. The shower trickled out and the none of the drains worked so you told a shower in water shin deep and the sink to brush your teeth overflowed when you used it. I called to have someone. One look at t and thy never did. When I asked about it at checkout they were like too bad you alreadyed prepaid for your room. it says they have a restaurant onsite but it was closed. The pool was less than desirable and freezing cold. Overbid is added to a place I will never stay at again!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marco14
Business
NC
Oct 10, 2013

Big mistake!!

Room on 10th floor was not clean at check-in, very dusty behind beds, and very small overall. Bathroom sink tiny, and the TOILET WOULD NOT FLUSH ALL WEEKEND!! We had to call the Engineer 3 times to come plunge it...not good. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas, KS
Jul 26, 2009

Expensive price and lower service

We lost some of our personal items when we checked out while the bellperson took them to the garage. the hotel told us that they have no idea about it. it is unsafe I believe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Dec 3, 2009

The Ash Tray of Chicago

The Essex Inn is a dirty, smelly and disgusting hotel. You need to wear your shoes to bed to avoid stepping barefoot on the floor in the morning. The restaurant is dark and dingy, which matches the character of the food. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chicagokate
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Dec 16, 2009

Decent Location Horrible Service

The website and reviews made this sound like a four star hotel- it wasn't. The lobby and check-in area was dingy and the staff was unhelpful and unfriendly. Parking cost almost as much as the hotel and it didn't mention it on their website. Wireless internet was expensive and there was no hub to plug in my internet cable. Our shower was broken and only would spray halfway and the rest of the water ran out of the bottom faucet and the temp control was broken as well- it was either scalding or cold. When we asked the desk for directions to the nearest train or bus they had no clue and weren't helpful. Upon checkout it was packed and they only had 2 luggage carts for the whole hotel so we had to wait a long time and the man was rude to us and also unhelpful and disappeared with our stuff. When we went to get our car they mixed up our tags so our car was sitting parked in the garage exit for twenty minutes. Their ATM was broken as well. I hope to never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Wrigleyville it is similar to college bar life!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lisa in Indy
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jan 23, 2011

Very Disappointing

The room was so hot we had to turn off the heater and open windows - it was 19 degrees outside and more comfortable outside our room than inside. The restaurant is closed for renovation and that wasn't mentioned anywhere on their website. The walls are very thin, and it felt like we were never alone because of all the other conversations in other rooms. Definitely won't return - and we visit Chicago 5-6 times a year, so I'm back on the hunt for a hotel I can depend on for quality service and facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 6, 2010

Great Pool facilities but not much more.

Hot day in April, and the whole hotel's heating and air conditioning system is on a season cycle. So the rooms air conditioners would not work since they were still on a winter cycle. Cracking open a window (that is as far as they would go) was very noisy and made little difference in the heat. Older hotel building, slow drains, very small bathrooms and sleeping areas. Great pool area, the kids loved that. And extremely close to the museums and many, many other attractions. Would not stay there again, pay a little extra and get a nicer room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Aunt
Business
Phoenix Az
Jun 29, 2014

Horrible

I was so disappointed with the room it was very small smelled bad will not be staying there on my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cxmi
Business
davenport
Mar 3, 2015

worst

The worst customer service. Bed is small. Waste my time to waiting their call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top