$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 14, 2014 Check-out: Oct 16, 2014

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
228 reviews
Great

Clean and comfortable in the heart of downtown. Well worth the price. See full review

  • Cynthiamb123
  • May 10, 2014
Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean... See full review

  • Tony91
  • Jan 2, 2014
Affordable hotel south of Chicago's bustling downtown area
Chicago's Essex Inn has an ideal location ideal on Michigan Avenue, just a few blocks south of the more congested areas of downtown Chicago. Grant Park is across the street, along with many famous Chicago attractions, including Millennium Park and the Art Institute. Sleek in design, the Essex Inn boasts a metal and glass lobby, floor-to-ceiling windows with city views and an impressive atrium housing a large pool. ADA-compliant areas are also available at Chicago's Essex Inn.
Highlights
  • Great value in the city for its location and amenities
  • Rooftop pool available year-round
  • Large, well-equipped fitness room overlooks pool deck
Rooms
A color palette grounded in rich orange and brown earth tones keeps the scene warm. Floor-to-ceiling windows play up the hotel’s strongest asset, the city views. Flat-screen TVs and refrigerators are standard amenities in each room at Chicago's Essex Inn. Guests can have complimentary access to wireless Internet. Rooms also feature ADA-compliant areas.
Features
In a metropolis like Chicago, pools and green space are precious real estate. Chicago's Essex Inn has both.

The garden pool feels like a competitive swimming complex, with a retractable atrium and global flags hanging from the rafters. The pool area features large windows that look out onto the well-manicured grounds of the rooftop garden. From the garden, guests enjoy skyline views of Grant Park and Lake Michigan from comfortable patio chairs and tables. Next to the pool is a large fitness center, featuring bikes, treadmills, weight machines, free weights, as well as six TVs.

Visitors to Chicago who have come to sightsee take advantage of a hotel shuttle bus free of charge. It makes several stops along Michigan Avenue, including Water Tower Place. Other stops include Navy Pier and the Museum Campus.

Travelers who want to stay connected access high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel for a fee, or visit the 24-hour business center.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/26 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (8.7 mi/14.1 km)
  • Blue Line (LaSalle to O’Hare) (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Campus (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with space for 12 for 125 guests
  • 24-hour business center with desktop computers, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and a printer
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet available throughout Chicago's Essex Inn
Policies and fees
Parking fee is $50 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8712 -87.6247
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Midway
Area description
Millenium Park, Art Institute Chicago, Navy Pier, Adler Planetarium, Field Museum, McCormick Place, Buckingham Fountain, Lakefront, Grant Park

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago's Essex Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chicago's Essex Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Our tastefully designed guest rooms are thoughtfully appointed with everything you need to enhance your stay whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Our standard rooms feature one queen size bed or two double beds and have amenities such as hairdryers, data port hookups, voicemail messaging, automated wakeup service, iron and ironing board, and 25-inch color TV with extended cable package, including HBO.
Standard Room -ADA accessible
ADA-compliant entrances to the hotel, valet parking in the hotel garage and Accessible public restrooms. There are a number of designated accessible guest rooms which include accessible features as: grab bars in the showers; ADA-compliant sitting stools for showering; hand held shower spray wands; protected plumbing covers; ADA-compliant lavatory fixtures; Lowered security "peep" holes on the doors. Touch lamps and TTY Kits for hearing & visual assistance. The swimming pool and garden deck areas are also accessible and we provide ADA-compliant pool lift; and Accessible Fitness Center with ADA Universal Gym. There are accessible paths of travel to the restaurant located on the premises of the Essex Inn and the restaurant has accessible dining tables.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tee~Ecstatic Mom
Severn,MD
Dec 22, 2009

Great Place to Stay on a Budget

When I arrived I asked if my room had 2 beds. I was advised 1 king bed. I told desk manager that my daughter may come and stay and I prefer 2 beds. I told him that this is a mini vacation for me and if the room with 2 beds is not as nice as the room I have, don't change it. Well he did one better. He provided me with a king suite with a queen pull out. My daughter did stay and used the pull out and I stretched out in the king bed. The furnishings were beautiful and the view of Lake Michigan from my room was fabulous. I would definitely stay again. I found the accomodations to be more than worth the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 25, 2008

Exceeded expectations

Our room at the Essex Inn Chicago was just beautiful. We had a fantastic room on the south east corner of the hotel, and had a great view of Lake Michigan from Navy Pier to the north to Soldier Field and the museums to the south. I believe the hotel had recently been remodeled, and rooms were beautifully done in rich golds, browns and purples. The bathroom was small, but certainly adequate, and not unexpected, in an older, urban hotel. Location was perfect for our activites in Grant Park. Hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two great restaurants nearby for a casual meal - Yolk is just south on Michigan for breakfast (all day) and lunch. Eleven Diner a couple of blocks south on Wabash - open 8a - 9p most days, late night on the weekends. Upscale diner, plus a (quiet) bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Yuper Lover!
Business
Springfield, IL
May 28, 2009

Great location for the price

The room was great, even though it was on the backside of the hotel, I was in the corner and could see Lake Michigan and the Sears Tower. The room was cozy and comfortable. I really liked having windows on two walls. Everything was clean and neat. The pool was great, the fitness center was wonderful, inside the hotel was peaceful. The L was outside my window and was a bit loud; although I was able to sleep just fine. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tamerind is a wonderful restaurant, but a little pricy. Service is great, food is to die for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cynthiamb123
Ohio
May 10, 2014

Great

Clean and comfortable in the heart of downtown. Well worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony91
Crown Point, IN
Jan 2, 2014

Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Nov 24, 2009

Great location for a great hotel

Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, IN
Jul 27, 2009

We loved the Essex Inn!

While we had options available at less cost than our room at the Essex Inn, we opted to pay a little more for an excellent location on Michigan Avenue. We did not have the best view in the hotel, but we believe our view from the 15th floor was spectacular, allowing us a view a portion of the lake and much of the museum campus. The staff was very courteous, friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The Essex Inn demonstrates an awareness of its environment, both locally and globally, by promoting recycling and water conservation and by offering guests the opportunity to make a donation to help those less fortunate by checking a box on the incidentals form... no pressure. These are all values in line with my own, and added value to my experience. While in Chicago, we visited the Shedd Aquarium, which was very convenient to the hotel. We noted the natives were very friendly in allowing us to cross lanes in traffic when we were too far to one side. Some Chicago friends thought it must be because they had had so much nice weather lately. It took us about 4.5 hours to drive home, which should have taken less than 2.5 hours. If we had been clever enough to ask the Concierge, I am inclined to think we could have easily avoided some of that delay. That would be my fault. The Essex Inn was perfect for our trip to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We asked the concierge about the distance to a particular destination. He did his best to tell us, not knowing our time constraints, as we were meeting friends. When I inquired about calling a cab, he informed us one is stationed outside 24 hours. This may be standard protocol in Chicago, but we found it to be hugely convenient!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 5, 2007

Clean, Convenient, Inexpensive

The Chicago Essex Hotel was very clean as well as convenient being downtown near shopping,tour buses,restaurants,art galleries, etc. About 20 miles from airport. Staff was courteous and nice room with internet and copier which enabled us to check in and print our tickets right from the hotel for our return trip. Nice garden patio, pool area, and hotel restauant. Would stay again - not fancy but affordable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 2, 2008

easily accessable

The hotel clean ,friendly,check in very easy and also check out no hassle The bathroom clean and big flat TV very nice and I always goes to chicago cause my son in school I hope they give a discounted price I love to stay .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

College campus with short distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 9, 2008

Great Grant Park location

This was our second stay at the Essex Inn. Both times, we had great rooms, with views of the lake, Navy Pier and Grant Park. The rooms are small, but what you would expect for that type of hotel. They are laid out well, so you don't feel crowded. They have also been recently remodeled in lovely, rich tones. Check in and check out is quick and easy, and we have been able to check in early. Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. It is close to stores, etc in the Loop. A longer walk to Mag Mile stores, but they do run a shuttle service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than a block away - on Michigan at Balbo is restaurant Mercat al la Plaxa. A beautiful space with excellent Spanish/Tapas cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search