$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
239 reviews
Great

Clean and comfortable in the heart of downtown. Well worth the price. See full review

  • Cynthiamb123
  • May 10, 2014
Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean... See full review

  • Tony91
  • Jan 2, 2014
Affordable hotel south of Chicago's bustling downtown area
Chicago's Essex Inn has an ideal location ideal on Michigan Avenue, just a few blocks south of the more congested areas of downtown Chicago. Grant Park is across the street, along with many famous Chicago attractions, including Millennium Park and the Art Institute. Sleek in design, the Essex Inn boasts a metal and glass lobby, floor-to-ceiling windows with city views and an impressive atrium housing a large pool. ADA-compliant areas are also available at Chicago's Essex Inn.
Highlights
  • Great value in the city for its location and amenities
  • Rooftop pool available year-round
  • Large, well-equipped fitness room overlooks pool deck
Rooms
A color palette grounded in rich orange and brown earth tones keeps the scene warm. Floor-to-ceiling windows play up the hotel’s strongest asset, the city views. Flat-screen TVs and refrigerators are standard amenities in each room at Chicago's Essex Inn. Guests can have complimentary access to wireless Internet. Rooms also feature ADA-compliant areas.
Features
In a metropolis like Chicago, pools and green space are precious real estate. Chicago's Essex Inn has both.

The garden pool feels like a competitive swimming complex, with a retractable atrium and global flags hanging from the rafters. The pool area features large windows that look out onto the well-manicured grounds of the rooftop garden. From the garden, guests enjoy skyline views of Grant Park and Lake Michigan from comfortable patio chairs and tables. Next to the pool is a large fitness center, featuring bikes, treadmills, weight machines, free weights, as well as six TVs.

Visitors to Chicago who have come to sightsee take advantage of a hotel shuttle bus free of charge. It makes several stops along Michigan Avenue, including Water Tower Place. Other stops include Navy Pier and the Museum Campus.

Travelers who want to stay connected access high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel for a fee, or visit the 24-hour business center.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/26 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (8.7 mi/14.1 km)
  • Blue Line (LaSalle to O’Hare) (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Campus (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with space for 12 for 125 guests
  • 24-hour business center with desktop computers, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and a printer
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet available throughout Chicago's Essex Inn
Policies and fees
Parking fee is $50 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago's Essex Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chicago's Essex Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Our tastefully designed guest rooms are thoughtfully appointed with everything you need to enhance your stay whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Our standard rooms feature one queen size bed or two double beds and have amenities such as hairdryers, data port hookups, voicemail messaging, automated wakeup service, iron and ironing board, and 25-inch color TV with extended cable package, including HBO.
Standard Room -ADA accessible
ADA-compliant entrances to the hotel, valet parking in the hotel garage and Accessible public restrooms. There are a number of designated accessible guest rooms which include accessible features as: grab bars in the showers; ADA-compliant sitting stools for showering; hand held shower spray wands; protected plumbing covers; ADA-compliant lavatory fixtures; Lowered security "peep" holes on the doors. Touch lamps and TTY Kits for hearing & visual assistance. The swimming pool and garden deck areas are also accessible and we provide ADA-compliant pool lift; and Accessible Fitness Center with ADA Universal Gym. There are accessible paths of travel to the restaurant located on the premises of the Essex Inn and the restaurant has accessible dining tables.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (239)

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 5, 2008

The Little Hotel that Could

The Essex Inn has a great location. Staff was very welcoming and helpful. Though upgraded, rooms were not 4 star...no dresser in bedroom, very small closet...and bathroom was incredibly small...sleeper sofa was not very comfy...But bedroom and living room were large...2 phones and 2 TVs...large windows...air conditioning didn't work very well and when sun poured in it was warm..Pool and fitness center on site are a plus. Also a plus that there's a restaurant attached. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Near beautiful Grant Park. Also, short drive or long walk to Shedd Aquarium, Adler Planetarium and Field Museum. Near red line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tee~Ecstatic Mom
Business
Severn,MD
Dec 22, 2009

Great Place to Stay on a Budget

When I arrived I asked if my room had 2 beds. I was advised 1 king bed. I told desk manager that my daughter may come and stay and I prefer 2 beds. I told him that this is a mini vacation for me and if the room with 2 beds is not as nice as the room I have, don't change it. Well he did one better. He provided me with a king suite with a queen pull out. My daughter did stay and used the pull out and I stretched out in the king bed. The furnishings were beautiful and the view of Lake Michigan from my room was fabulous. I would definitely stay again. I found the accomodations to be more than worth the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
juliea
Business
Peoria, IL, USA
Dec 20, 2011

perfect location for football

very nice room, gentleman at check in was very nice. lady at check out not so nice. would we stay again absolutely. great location, very nice room and parking (for a fee) worth it because its right on location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to soldier field

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BKL FL
Business
Cocoa, FL, USA
Feb 5, 2012

My favorite heart of Chicago retreat

Walk everywhere easily, metro to/from airport, museums, restaurants, theater, symphony-- free wireless internet, coffee, fridge in room, easy to check in/out, friendly and convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk everywhere easily, metro to/from airport, museums, restaurants, theater, symphony-- free wireless internet, coffee, fridge in room, easy to check in/out, friendly and convenient

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich chgo
Business
Worcester England
Mar 5, 2012

Regular visitor

I have been a regulaor visitor to Chicago since 2006 & nowadays always stay at the Essex. Excellent hotel, good rooms, facilities & helpfull staff. Great location too, have not used a cab in years as the nearby red line will get you anywhere in the city. Have stayed in other Chicago hotels but find the Essex by far the best, for value, location, comfort & friendlness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Red line CTA 2 blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baseball enthusiast
Business
Orange, California
Jun 1, 2012

Great location and area

The hotel room is small, for a group of four. We have no complaints of the area or what the hotel had to offer. They have ironing boards, hair dryer, and one quick call down stairs and they were prompt with extra towels and cups. They do have a laundry facility, and its a buck for the wash and dryer. The mini fridge was great for our leftovers and water/drinks. The tv had basic cable and hob, in the area for food, you can find a mini mart, a coffee shop and a sandwich shop. a further walk you can find a well know grocery store, also a wing place thats open till midnight. Not every store sells beer or alcohol. getting around town we took the bus and the CTA(subway system) buy your 1/3/7 day passes at cvs or walgreens. and their good for the bus and the train. The hotel also offers shuttle to the Navy pier. Also the bus stop is right out side the hotel and their we always found cabs sitting outside the hotel waiting for costumers. overall the hotel was great and so was the staff, i planned early and saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Theirs a Lou Malnaties in the area, and the WIllis towe is about 15 min walk and across the street is a Giordanos pizzeria(some of the best pizza we had during our trip. ANd if you plan on taking pizza on the plane. we had no problem in fact we took three 12'' pizza, (no special packaging just in their take out boxes, although we did manage to fit two in one of our carry on bag. I am also active military and it never hurts to ask for discounts, I was able to get a free ticket to the White sox game and a complimentary ticket for the Wendella bout tour. If you stop by the USO at the Navy Pier, you can get free water and snacks as well as a print out of freebees and discounted places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bourbonnais, Il
Aug 23, 2012

End of Summer vacation Trip

Staff was wonderful and the room was spotless. We had a wonderful view of Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBYOTS
Business
Bunker Hill
Aug 31, 2013

Chicago

GREAT EXPERIENCE, everyone was helpful and went out of their way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amfortas
Business
VA
Nov 26, 2013

Every thing is nice!

Everything is nice. The room is clean, and the staffs are friendly and willing ti help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony91
Business
Crown Point, IN
Jan 2, 2014

Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top