$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baseball enthusiast
Orange, California
Jun 1, 2012

Great location and area

The hotel room is small, for a group of four. We have no complaints of the area or what the hotel had to offer. They have ironing boards, hair dryer, and one quick call down stairs and they were prompt with extra towels and cups. They do have a laundry facility, and its a buck for the wash and dryer. The mini fridge was great for our leftovers and water/drinks. The tv had basic cable and hob, in the area for food, you can find a mini mart, a coffee shop and a sandwich shop. a further walk you can find a well know grocery store, also a wing place thats open till midnight. Not every store sells beer or alcohol. getting around town we took the bus and the CTA(subway system) buy your 1/3/7 day passes at cvs or walgreens. and their good for the bus and the train. The hotel also offers shuttle to the Navy pier. Also the bus stop is right out side the hotel and their we always found cabs sitting outside the hotel waiting for costumers. overall the hotel was great and so was the staff, i planned early and saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Theirs a Lou Malnaties in the area, and the WIllis towe is about 15 min walk and across the street is a Giordanos pizzeria(some of the best pizza we had during our trip. ANd if you plan on taking pizza on the plane. we had no problem in fact we took three 12'' pizza, (no special packaging just in their take out boxes, although we did manage to fit two in one of our carry on bag. I am also active military and it never hurts to ask for discounts, I was able to get a free ticket to the White sox game and a complimentary ticket for the Wendella bout tour. If you stop by the USO at the Navy Pier, you can get free water and snacks as well as a print out of freebees and discounted places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
orbitztravelerreview
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 14, 2013

Not the Most Comfortable, But A Clean Place w/ Nice Staff

I didn't have any major problems at the Essex Inn during a recent business trip there. The staff was great. They printed my event itinerary right at the desk when I explained that I needed a printer. If I can't get a place closer the Loop or the Magnificent Mile, I'd stay here again, but I wouldn't go around telling folks to stay at the Essex if they asked. They are much better places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

There is an indoor pool there though, which is a bit rare. That may be of interest to some of you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Majid Q
Business
muncie,Indiana
Dec 17, 2012

Really good deal!!

The good location of this nice hotel gave us a good chance to have an amazing vacation during the Thanksgiving break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Field museum, Shedd aquarium and Millennium park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D.Wood
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 11, 2012

Early Christmas Vacation

We decided to get away for an early Christmas vacation, and the Essex had the best prices. The hotel was closer to the museum campus than the major shopping centers. My only complaints are that there was construction going on right outside our room that started at 6 am and that the heat was very hard to control.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop and get a true Chicago dog from outside the museums. They're life-changing!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bern59
Business
LoHud NY
Nov 17, 2012

nice enough

Staff prompt and helpful Old building so heating/cooling inflexible Could open window however to regulate Clean quiet Fine for a single nite stay enroute to elsewhere as I was

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kyle o
Business
highland, in
Sep 17, 2012

good time

Hotel was great. Just there for one night and had an excellent experience. thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

taxi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gail UK
Business
Sheffield, UK
Aug 23, 2012

Good central location

A comfortable, clean hotel within walking distance of all central attractions. Nicely situated facing the lake. Of course, that means it isn't a budget hotel, but it was the best deal I could find at the time for central Chicago. Watch out for extra cost of parking - the website did not make that clear. Parking charge similar to other valet-parking nearby. Nice roof-top (glass covered) pool/fitness and out-door terrace. We didn't try the in-house restaurant, but good places for breakfast close by (as recommended in hotel info).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is a multi-attraction pass which saves money if you have time to take them all in (we didn't). The Art Institute does a free (included in entrance price) lunchtime talk - very interesting and took you through different sections of the museum. But beware the nightmare map - you need always to go to the central building to access the others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bourbonnais, Il
Aug 23, 2012

End of Summer vacation Trip

Staff was wonderful and the room was spotless. We had a wonderful view of Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WRKR
Business
Springfield, Illinois
Jun 28, 2012

A Work Conference

Nice, clean, inviting enviornment. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baseball enthusiast
Business
Orange, California
Jun 1, 2012

Great location and area

The hotel room is small, for a group of four. We have no complaints of the area or what the hotel had to offer. They have ironing boards, hair dryer, and one quick call down stairs and they were prompt with extra towels and cups. They do have a laundry facility, and its a buck for the wash and dryer. The mini fridge was great for our leftovers and water/drinks. The tv had basic cable and hob, in the area for food, you can find a mini mart, a coffee shop and a sandwich shop. a further walk you can find a well know grocery store, also a wing place thats open till midnight. Not every store sells beer or alcohol. getting around town we took the bus and the CTA(subway system) buy your 1/3/7 day passes at cvs or walgreens. and their good for the bus and the train. The hotel also offers shuttle to the Navy pier. Also the bus stop is right out side the hotel and their we always found cabs sitting outside the hotel waiting for costumers. overall the hotel was great and so was the staff, i planned early and saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Theirs a Lou Malnaties in the area, and the WIllis towe is about 15 min walk and across the street is a Giordanos pizzeria(some of the best pizza we had during our trip. ANd if you plan on taking pizza on the plane. we had no problem in fact we took three 12'' pizza, (no special packaging just in their take out boxes, although we did manage to fit two in one of our carry on bag. I am also active military and it never hurts to ask for discounts, I was able to get a free ticket to the White sox game and a complimentary ticket for the Wendella bout tour. If you stop by the USO at the Navy Pier, you can get free water and snacks as well as a print out of freebees and discounted places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teeshe
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Apr 16, 2012

great location, good value

We easily traded rooms from a double to a single bed, the staff were courteous and helpful, overall a good experience. Parking was expensive, but we saw a lot a block away for $10 but decided to go for the ease of using the valet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Plan ahead if you normally eat dinner late, during the week all of the close by eateries closed by ten.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top