$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
380 reviews
Great

Clean and comfortable in the heart of downtown. Well worth the price. See full review

  • Cynthiamb123
  • May 10, 2014
Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean... See full review

  • Tony91
  • Jan 2, 2014
Affordable hotel south of Chicago's bustling downtown area
Chicago's Essex Inn has an ideal location ideal on Michigan Avenue, just a few blocks south of the more congested areas of downtown Chicago. Grant Park is across the street, along with many famous Chicago attractions, including Millennium Park and the Art Institute. Sleek in design, the Essex Inn boasts a metal and glass lobby, floor-to-ceiling windows with city views and an impressive atrium housing a large pool. ADA-compliant areas are also available at Chicago's Essex Inn.
Highlights
  • Great value in the city for its location and amenities
  • Rooftop pool available year-round
  • Large, well-equipped fitness room overlooks pool deck
Rooms
A color palette grounded in rich orange and brown earth tones keeps the scene warm. Floor-to-ceiling windows play up the hotel’s strongest asset, the city views. Flat-screen TVs and refrigerators are standard amenities in each room at Chicago's Essex Inn. Guests can have complimentary access to wireless Internet. Rooms also feature ADA-compliant areas.
Features
In a metropolis like Chicago, pools and green space are precious real estate. Chicago's Essex Inn has both.

The garden pool feels like a competitive swimming complex, with a retractable atrium and global flags hanging from the rafters. The pool area features large windows that look out onto the well-manicured grounds of the rooftop garden. From the garden, guests enjoy skyline views of Grant Park and Lake Michigan from comfortable patio chairs and tables. Next to the pool is a large fitness center, featuring bikes, treadmills, weight machines, free weights, as well as six TVs.

Visitors to Chicago who have come to sightsee take advantage of a hotel shuttle bus free of charge. It makes several stops along Michigan Avenue, including Water Tower Place. Other stops include Navy Pier and the Museum Campus.

Travelers who want to stay connected access high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel for a fee, or visit the 24-hour business center.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/26 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (8.7 mi/14.1 km)
  • Blue Line (LaSalle to O’Hare) (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Campus (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with space for 12 for 125 guests
  • 24-hour business center with desktop computers, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and a printer
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet available throughout Chicago's Essex Inn
Policies and fees
Parking fee is $50 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Chicago's Essex Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Our tastefully designed guest rooms are thoughtfully appointed with everything you need to enhance your stay whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Our standard rooms feature one queen size bed or two double beds and have amenities such as hairdryers, data port hookups, voicemail messaging, automated wakeup service, iron and ironing board, and 25-inch color TV with extended cable package, including HBO.
Standard Room -ADA accessible
ADA-compliant entrances to the hotel, valet parking in the hotel garage and Accessible public restrooms. There are a number of designated accessible guest rooms which include accessible features as: grab bars in the showers; ADA-compliant sitting stools for showering; hand held shower spray wands; protected plumbing covers; ADA-compliant lavatory fixtures; Lowered security "peep" holes on the doors. Touch lamps and TTY Kits for hearing & visual assistance. The swimming pool and garden deck areas are also accessible and we provide ADA-compliant pool lift; and Accessible Fitness Center with ADA Universal Gym. There are accessible paths of travel to the restaurant located on the premises of the Essex Inn and the restaurant has accessible dining tables.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago's Essex Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8712 -87.6247
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Midway
Area description
Millenium Park, Art Institute Chicago, Navy Pier, Adler Planetarium, Field Museum, McCormick Place, Buckingham Fountain, Lakefront, Grant Park

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (380)

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
380 out of 380
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPMMusic
Michigan
May 16, 2011

Very nice stay

The stay was great after taking care of the issue of [...]not contacting the hotel with our reservation information (we had reserved 2 rooms). The front desk staff handled the situation very professionally and got us into our room quite quickly.This is a very nice, clean hotel toward the south end of Michigan Avenue. The staff was very friendly and the price was fair. The pool and workout area were very nice. Shuttle service was provided to a few of the more distant locations like Navy Pier. We were in the area for a family get together. There were only two issues with the hotel that they actually had control over and that was the heating/cooling for the room. The hotel determines weather the units will either heat or cool. They had it set on heat for the first few days and the rooms were way too warm.The other was their "breakfast. It consisted of prepackaged muffins and danishes, coffee and juice.Other than that, it really was a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 20, 2011

Chicago Essex Inn

I attended a conference across the street from the Essex at the Hilton. This was my 1st time in Chicago and I can honestly say that I will NOT stay at the Essex Inn again. During my first day in the room, the iron was old and rusted at the bottom thus ripping a hole in my business suit. Although the hotel reimbursed me for my suit (the 1 good thing that happened while I was there), there were still enough other things that went wrong which will make me not recommend this hotel. The walls are very thin (you can hear every detailed conversation from people in the next room), 2 light bulbs blew in my room, and my curling iron "disappeared" (side note - no one was in my room during the entire conference except me and the cleaning crew....so I have no idea why my curling iron was no longer plugged into the wall, but completely missing, when I was ready to use it on my last day there). Oh yeah, and what they are calling "breakfast" is awful!! Such a shame :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 20, 2011

Chicago Essex Inn

I attended a conference across the street from the Essex at the Hilton. This was my 1st time in Chicago and I can honestly say that I will NOT stay at the Essex Inn again. During my first day in the room, the iron was old and rusted at the bottom thus ripping a hole in my business suit. Although the hotel reimbursed me for my suit (the 1 good thing that happened while I was there), there were still enough other things that went wrong which will make me not recommend this hotel. The walls are very thin (you can hear every detailed conversation from people in the next room), 2 light bulbs blew in my room, and my curling iron "disappeared" (side note - no one was in my room during the entire conference except me and the cleaning crew....so I have no idea why my curling iron was no longer plugged into the wall, but completely missing, when I was ready to use it on my last day there). Oh yeah, and what they are calling "breakfast" is awful!! Such a shame :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Apr 18, 2011

Essex Inn

The hotel didn't have a microwave service, which sucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Apr 18, 2011

Essex Inn

The hotel didn't have a microwave service, which sucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Orion, Michigan
Mar 25, 2011

Great location!

The Essex hotel is right on Michigan Ave., a little south of the main loop. This worked out great for us. It is with walking distance (about 3/4 of a mile) to the aquarium, planetarium, and Field museum. Hotel looks out onto Grant Park. Easy access to many bus runs. Hotel does have a shuttle to some museums and shopping areas however it is only one way and fills up fast. Cabs and busses were easier. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Rooms are small, but clean. Bathrooms are very small. Not a lot of restraunt choices near by. There is a restraunt in hotel however it was being remodeled. Continental breakfast is pastry, fruit, juice, and coffee. Over all, price was reasonable and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on riding the busses, find out where to purchase a bus pass. Each time you enter the bus, it is $2.25 per adult. If you are going to get on and off more the once per day, it is worth it. We found out the hard way.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
China
Mar 10, 2011

Great Location!

Taking the AIRPORT EXPRESS mini bus from O'Hare to this hotel is easy. It's right at the S Michigan Ave. and easy to get around. Rooms are clean and smell free. Space is enough for business stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
China
Mar 10, 2011

Great Location!

Taking the AIRPORT EXPRESS mini bus from O'Hare to this hotel is easy. It's right at the S Michigan Ave. and easy to get around. Rooms are clean and smell free. Space is enough for business stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

To visit Chicago Houseware Show, I mostly stay at hotel for working and sleeping. Nothing was missed. I personally think room wireless service is not detailed when the guest firstly came and had no idea to easily use wireless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It is in downtown and close to Micomick Place to attend Houseware Show. Just take you 10 minutes by taxi.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

To visit Chicago Houseware Show, I mostly stay at hotel for working and sleeping. Nothing was missed. I personally think room wireless service is not detailed when the guest firstly came and had no idea to easily use wireless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It is in downtown and close to Micomick Place to attend Houseware Show. Just take you 10 minutes by taxi.

Back to menu Return to top