$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeffmpls2013
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 6, 2013

Good place to stay and convenient

Our timing was a bit unfortunate as the hotel was going through a renovation of the main floor but in spite of this, our stay was very pleasant. They have a very nice pool, a workout facility and the rooms are pleasant. The floor to ceiling windows in the room gave us great views of the lake and it was an easy walk to the museum campus (Shedd, Adler and Field) and a pleasant walk to much of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the paths under Congress and Lake Shore Dr to access the Museum Campus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Physician
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 17, 2013

One of the "cheapest" stays in downtown Chicago

I recently visited Chicago for sight-seeing and stayed at the Essex Inn for one night. As I was searching for places to stay, I immediately understood that staying in downtown Chicago is really expensive. Most hotels started from $250 per night for a standard double bedroom. The dismal part was that parking is generally not included in your hotel charge and has to be done at an extra cost. The biggest advantage of this hotel is its location. It is situated within about a mile's walking distance from most major downtown attractions in Chicago (the Willis Tower, Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile, the Buckingham Fountain, the Shedd Aquarium and the Museum). After I reached Chicago, I did not bother to get into my car as I could just walk to all these places. The hotel itself would not leave a great impression by its look from outside, but the room was clean. They offer free Wifi, while most other hotels make you pay a surcharge. This is another advantage. There is a great indoor pool and fitness center that is open long hours which could be convenient for fitness freaks. You could either work out early before your sight-seeing or return later in the evening and get it done. That would be another big plus for the hotel. Breakfast was not included, but that seemed to be the case with all other hotels in Chicago when I did my search. That would be a minus, not for the hotel, but for Chicago itself! Parking costed me a fifth of my hotel stay itself. They valet your car for $41 per night. If you would really like to save on that, you could just park your car in one of the several public parking lots located in the neighborhood (there is a public parking at almost every block) that is twice cheaper if you did an overnight parking. When I checked out the following morning I still had about 6 hours of allotted parking time remaining. I had quite a few places to visit and thought that I might be gone an hour longer than my scheduled car pick-up time. As I thought that it would not be sensible to return to the hotel just to move my car, I had requested if they would bear with me in case I got delayed by an hour or so. I was told that it would cost me an additional $14 per hour if I did not pick up my car on time. I just decided to move my car right away to a nearby public parking where I ended up paying $12 for the next 10 hours that gave me ample time to complete my sight-seeing. Bottom line: This is a decent place if you need to stay in downtown Chicago (the loop). Be prepared to spend a lot of money, in general during your visit. You could plan ahead and save money through time management and utilizing public parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

PUBLIC PARKING

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivan Austin
Business
Chicago
Feb 14, 2013

Great location

The location of this hotel was ideal for the trip! The service was not anything too special and the lobby's construction definitely did not make the entrance appealing. No major complaints, overall I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
0kat3
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jan 28, 2013

Great stay !

It was a great location to walk to things. Staff and hotel were great ! Had an amazing time !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reiki Master
Business
Indiana
Jan 20, 2013

Buddy Guy trip

Great hotel,fair price and wonderful location. We were in town to attend Legends to see Buddy Guy. Walk was about 1 1/2 blks. Will return in the summer and take advantage of their shuttle service to Navy Pier & surrounding sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit Legends - 1 1/2 blk. walking. Great entertainment and food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
orbitztravelerreview
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 14, 2013

Not the Most Comfortable, But A Clean Place w/ Nice Staff

I didn't have any major problems at the Essex Inn during a recent business trip there. The staff was great. They printed my event itinerary right at the desk when I explained that I needed a printer. If I can't get a place closer the Loop or the Magnificent Mile, I'd stay here again, but I wouldn't go around telling folks to stay at the Essex if they asked. They are much better places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

There is an indoor pool there though, which is a bit rare. That may be of interest to some of you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Majid Q
Business
muncie,Indiana
Dec 17, 2012

Really good deal!!

The good location of this nice hotel gave us a good chance to have an amazing vacation during the Thanksgiving break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Field museum, Shedd aquarium and Millennium park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D.Wood
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 11, 2012

Early Christmas Vacation

We decided to get away for an early Christmas vacation, and the Essex had the best prices. The hotel was closer to the museum campus than the major shopping centers. My only complaints are that there was construction going on right outside our room that started at 6 am and that the heat was very hard to control.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop and get a true Chicago dog from outside the museums. They're life-changing!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bern59
Business
LoHud NY
Nov 17, 2012

nice enough

Staff prompt and helpful Old building so heating/cooling inflexible Could open window however to regulate Clean quiet Fine for a single nite stay enroute to elsewhere as I was

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kyle o
Business
highland, in
Sep 17, 2012

good time

Hotel was great. Just there for one night and had an excellent experience. thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

taxi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top