$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Daughter's Mom
Business
Ohio
Oct 16, 2013

2013 chicago marathon

We stayed at the Essex because we were in Chicago to watch the Marathon and it was very close to start and finish; All of the hotels raise prices during this event. We loved the location but the room was extremely small. The beds were ok as far as comfort. The iron had some stuff stuck to it and it was quickly replaced by housekeeping. We parked in garage and paid the price but was easy to get to our room from there. I did notice some public parking nearby. So overall it was ok but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marco14
Business
NC
Oct 10, 2013

Big mistake!!

Room on 10th floor was not clean at check-in, very dusty behind beds, and very small overall. Bathroom sink tiny, and the TOILET WOULD NOT FLUSH ALL WEEKEND!! We had to call the Engineer 3 times to come plunge it...not good. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBYOTS
Business
Bunker Hill
Aug 31, 2013

Chicago

GREAT EXPERIENCE, everyone was helpful and went out of their way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ttravels
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Aug 21, 2013

Thumbs Up!

The location, amenities, view, friendly and knowledgeable staff (Norma, especially!), were an all-around WIN! WIN! We're already planning on returning in December! Thanks, EVERYONE, for a most memorable experience! T-travels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zac C
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 1, 2013

Great weekend stay

This hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful. I thought there was supposed to be a breakfast included in the stay, however that was not the case. The restaurant downstairs is very good though. Location of the Essex was perfect for our visit and within walking distance of everything we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sewing maven
Business
Takoma Park, MD
Jul 3, 2013

Excellent hotel

My roommate and I had a wonderful time and would consider returning to the hotel in the future. It was very convenient for what we needed to do and see in Chicago. The location on Michigan avenue provided easy access to Lake MIchigan as well as other key sightseeing sites such as the Navy Pier, the Art Institute of Chicago as well as both high end shopping and restaurants and theaters. The one drawback is that it is far from the ball stadium and the convention center. The hotel is very convenient if one travels into Midway since it is about half an hour from downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P.A. Trick
Business
Lincoln, Nebraska
May 28, 2013

Great Location

Great location, you can walk or take a <$10 cab ride to about anywhere you need! The hotel has a complementary shuttle service that is very good as well. The room was clean and the staff was excellent. You can't beat this place for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

YOLK for breakfast!! ~2 blocks from the hotel, the portions and prices are very good for chicago! We had a 30-40min wait, but it was a nice day out and the food was worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcisaacpr
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Apr 18, 2013

A truly fine mid-priced hotel.

Very clean, warm, good-smelling place; close to a CTA stop. It's currently being renovated, so I hope it doesn't go too far up in price. But this is the second time I've stayed at the Essex, and I'll definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the CTA (train) to get to and from Chicago Midway Airport. It's faster than a cab and about $50 cheaper each way. A very efficient system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MoeTB Great Mom
Business
Northern Michigan
Apr 8, 2013

family vacation

The hotel was in the perfect location - right downtown on Michigan Street - walking distance to almost everything. The hotel room was spotless, beds comfortable (although small for a queen). Even thought the hotel was going through some remodeling of the lobby the service was great and the personnel working there were extremely nice and very helpful. We came by train and what a great experience that was. We went to the Blue Man Group, a Bulls game and the Navy Pier and Sheds Aquarium, just to name a few of the events we planned. Great coffee shops behind on the next block, great little lunch spots and breakfast at the Yolk just down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of singles to tip the cab drivers because you can go through a lot of fives and tens if you want to tip or just pay for your road trip,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wannabe on the road
Business
Aptos, California
Apr 8, 2013

Under re-model

My first impression of the hotel was NOT good because they are under a re-model of the lobby and a big part of the lobby walls are boarded up. I would have liked to know that before I got there. Our three-day stay was actually fine though. I would have liked two chairs in the room, not just one, given that we were two people. I was visiting Columbia College with my daughter, and the Essex location was perfect. We went to the restaurant attached to the Essex for breakfast on morning and soup one night and both meals were very good.Noise? There is a train that travels close by, but the sound proofing in the rooms is good enough to block most of it out and we slept very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the visitor trolley that tours you around the town and shows you the fun highlights of the city. We had an awesome guide.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top