$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bourbonnais, Il
Aug 23, 2012

End of Summer vacation Trip

Staff was wonderful and the room was spotless. We had a wonderful view of Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amfortas
Business
VA
Nov 26, 2013

Every thing is nice!

Everything is nice. The room is clean, and the staffs are friendly and willing ti help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetsi
Business
Washington, D.C.
Nov 18, 2013

plumbing

The room was great, staff great, food at restaurant great, location great, and decor nice. The only problem was the cold water faucet handle fell off in my hand, and the shower drain was stopped up, and the water did not go down fast enough. Otherwise, excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gioco's , very close to hotel. Fabulous Italian food. Great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Daughter's Mom
Business
Ohio
Oct 16, 2013

2013 chicago marathon

We stayed at the Essex because we were in Chicago to watch the Marathon and it was very close to start and finish; All of the hotels raise prices during this event. We loved the location but the room was extremely small. The beds were ok as far as comfort. The iron had some stuff stuck to it and it was quickly replaced by housekeeping. We parked in garage and paid the price but was easy to get to our room from there. I did notice some public parking nearby. So overall it was ok but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marco14
Business
NC
Oct 10, 2013

Big mistake!!

Room on 10th floor was not clean at check-in, very dusty behind beds, and very small overall. Bathroom sink tiny, and the TOILET WOULD NOT FLUSH ALL WEEKEND!! We had to call the Engineer 3 times to come plunge it...not good. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBYOTS
Business
Bunker Hill
Aug 31, 2013

Chicago

GREAT EXPERIENCE, everyone was helpful and went out of their way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ttravels
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Aug 21, 2013

Thumbs Up!

The location, amenities, view, friendly and knowledgeable staff (Norma, especially!), were an all-around WIN! WIN! We're already planning on returning in December! Thanks, EVERYONE, for a most memorable experience! T-travels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zac C
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 1, 2013

Great weekend stay

This hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful. I thought there was supposed to be a breakfast included in the stay, however that was not the case. The restaurant downstairs is very good though. Location of the Essex was perfect for our visit and within walking distance of everything we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sewing maven
Business
Takoma Park, MD
Jul 3, 2013

Excellent hotel

My roommate and I had a wonderful time and would consider returning to the hotel in the future. It was very convenient for what we needed to do and see in Chicago. The location on Michigan avenue provided easy access to Lake MIchigan as well as other key sightseeing sites such as the Navy Pier, the Art Institute of Chicago as well as both high end shopping and restaurants and theaters. The one drawback is that it is far from the ball stadium and the convention center. The hotel is very convenient if one travels into Midway since it is about half an hour from downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P.A. Trick
Business
Lincoln, Nebraska
May 28, 2013

Great Location

Great location, you can walk or take a <$10 cab ride to about anywhere you need! The hotel has a complementary shuttle service that is very good as well. The room was clean and the staff was excellent. You can't beat this place for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

YOLK for breakfast!! ~2 blocks from the hotel, the portions and prices are very good for chicago! We had a 30-40min wait, but it was a nice day out and the food was worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcisaacpr
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Apr 18, 2013

A truly fine mid-priced hotel.

Very clean, warm, good-smelling place; close to a CTA stop. It's currently being renovated, so I hope it doesn't go too far up in price. But this is the second time I've stayed at the Essex, and I'll definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the CTA (train) to get to and from Chicago Midway Airport. It's faster than a cab and about $50 cheaper each way. A very efficient system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top