$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baseball enthusiast
Orange, California
Jun 1, 2012

Great location and area

The hotel room is small, for a group of four. We have no complaints of the area or what the hotel had to offer. They have ironing boards, hair dryer, and one quick call down stairs and they were prompt with extra towels and cups. They do have a laundry facility, and its a buck for the wash and dryer. The mini fridge was great for our leftovers and water/drinks. The tv had basic cable and hob, in the area for food, you can find a mini mart, a coffee shop and a sandwich shop. a further walk you can find a well know grocery store, also a wing place thats open till midnight. Not every store sells beer or alcohol. getting around town we took the bus and the CTA(subway system) buy your 1/3/7 day passes at cvs or walgreens. and their good for the bus and the train. The hotel also offers shuttle to the Navy pier. Also the bus stop is right out side the hotel and their we always found cabs sitting outside the hotel waiting for costumers. overall the hotel was great and so was the staff, i planned early and saved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Theirs a Lou Malnaties in the area, and the WIllis towe is about 15 min walk and across the street is a Giordanos pizzeria(some of the best pizza we had during our trip. ANd if you plan on taking pizza on the plane. we had no problem in fact we took three 12'' pizza, (no special packaging just in their take out boxes, although we did manage to fit two in one of our carry on bag. I am also active military and it never hurts to ask for discounts, I was able to get a free ticket to the White sox game and a complimentary ticket for the Wendella bout tour. If you stop by the USO at the Navy Pier, you can get free water and snacks as well as a print out of freebees and discounted places.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RRusty
Business
Phila
May 7, 2014

ok for the money

nice pool and gym, good location and reasonable price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vickie F.
Business
Plainfield, IL
May 5, 2014

Great spot

It was easy in and out. We didn't stay long enough to use the pool or gym even though we planned on using the gym. Room was great except one wall is Windows so we could hear the loud people talking downstairs. Got the room to attend Wine Riot. Walked to Water Tower too. Overall, great location and room. Would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
no help
Business
mankato mn
Apr 28, 2014

No help.

I was very dissatisfied with my stay. We drove from Mn and when we got there we were told to park our car in their ramp was $50 a night. As a guest i would think parking was inincluded. Then once we got to our room it was really small and not clean. There were socks left there from other guest. When i called the front desk to tell them they just said sorry. Didnt offer to clean it up or anything. The pool also was very dirty. There was items floating on the top of the pool, and what looked like mold growing around the edge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori Marie
Business
chicago, il
Jan 13, 2014

Girls Weekend

The Essex has a great pool. One of the best in downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ttravels
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jan 2, 2014

Windy City Comfort

We enjoyed ANOTHER great stay at the Essex Inn, as staff and location keep us coming back, even through a snow storm! We'll be back!!! T & N

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony91
Business
Crown Point, IN
Jan 2, 2014

Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jose tri
Business
Green Bay, WI
Dec 14, 2013

essex Inn

great check in and check out. Clean adequate room. Lobby is a little under lack luster. The restaurant next to the hotel for breakfast was less than desirable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bears Dan
Business
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Dec 11, 2013

Excellent overnight for Bears game

Pretty much the closest hotel to soldier field. Was a great choice for an overnight after a night Bears game. Positives: Room was clean and recently modernized, with a comfortable bed. Not luxurious, but had an upscale feel. There was a nice french-style bistro attached, which was nice for a quick meal before the game. Negatives: cramped, spartan bathroom; not a lot of lobby amenities. Bottom line: if you can get this for a good price, it's an excellent south loop choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amfortas
Business
VA
Nov 26, 2013

Every thing is nice!

Everything is nice. The room is clean, and the staffs are friendly and willing ti help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetsi
Business
Washington, D.C.
Nov 18, 2013

plumbing

The room was great, staff great, food at restaurant great, location great, and decor nice. The only problem was the cold water faucet handle fell off in my hand, and the shower drain was stopped up, and the water did not go down fast enough. Otherwise, excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gioco's , very close to hotel. Fabulous Italian food. Great service.

Back to menu Return to top