$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
228 reviews
Great

Clean and comfortable in the heart of downtown. Well worth the price. See full review

  • Cynthiamb123
  • May 10, 2014
Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean... See full review

  • Tony91
  • Jan 2, 2014
Affordable hotel south of Chicago's bustling downtown area
Chicago's Essex Inn has an ideal location ideal on Michigan Avenue, just a few blocks south of the more congested areas of downtown Chicago. Grant Park is across the street, along with many famous Chicago attractions, including Millennium Park and the Art Institute. Sleek in design, the Essex Inn boasts a metal and glass lobby, floor-to-ceiling windows with city views and an impressive atrium housing a large pool. ADA-compliant areas are also available at Chicago's Essex Inn.
Highlights
  • Great value in the city for its location and amenities
  • Rooftop pool available year-round
  • Large, well-equipped fitness room overlooks pool deck
Rooms
A color palette grounded in rich orange and brown earth tones keeps the scene warm. Floor-to-ceiling windows play up the hotel’s strongest asset, the city views. Flat-screen TVs and refrigerators are standard amenities in each room at Chicago's Essex Inn. Guests can have complimentary access to wireless Internet. Rooms also feature ADA-compliant areas.
Features
In a metropolis like Chicago, pools and green space are precious real estate. Chicago's Essex Inn has both.

The garden pool feels like a competitive swimming complex, with a retractable atrium and global flags hanging from the rafters. The pool area features large windows that look out onto the well-manicured grounds of the rooftop garden. From the garden, guests enjoy skyline views of Grant Park and Lake Michigan from comfortable patio chairs and tables. Next to the pool is a large fitness center, featuring bikes, treadmills, weight machines, free weights, as well as six TVs.

Visitors to Chicago who have come to sightsee take advantage of a hotel shuttle bus free of charge. It makes several stops along Michigan Avenue, including Water Tower Place. Other stops include Navy Pier and the Museum Campus.

Travelers who want to stay connected access high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel for a fee, or visit the 24-hour business center.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/26 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (8.7 mi/14.1 km)
  • Blue Line (LaSalle to O’Hare) (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Campus (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with space for 12 for 125 guests
  • 24-hour business center with desktop computers, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and a printer
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet available throughout Chicago's Essex Inn
Policies and fees
Parking fee is $50 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8712 -87.6247
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Midway
Area description
Millenium Park, Art Institute Chicago, Navy Pier, Adler Planetarium, Field Museum, McCormick Place, Buckingham Fountain, Lakefront, Grant Park

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago's Essex Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chicago's Essex Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Our tastefully designed guest rooms are thoughtfully appointed with everything you need to enhance your stay whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Our standard rooms feature one queen size bed or two double beds and have amenities such as hairdryers, data port hookups, voicemail messaging, automated wakeup service, iron and ironing board, and 25-inch color TV with extended cable package, including HBO.
Standard Room -ADA accessible
ADA-compliant entrances to the hotel, valet parking in the hotel garage and Accessible public restrooms. There are a number of designated accessible guest rooms which include accessible features as: grab bars in the showers; ADA-compliant sitting stools for showering; hand held shower spray wands; protected plumbing covers; ADA-compliant lavatory fixtures; Lowered security "peep" holes on the doors. Touch lamps and TTY Kits for hearing & visual assistance. The swimming pool and garden deck areas are also accessible and we provide ADA-compliant pool lift; and Accessible Fitness Center with ADA Universal Gym. There are accessible paths of travel to the restaurant located on the premises of the Essex Inn and the restaurant has accessible dining tables.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ljohnson
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 12, 2012

expecting better

I know you don't get a lot of space in a city hotel but for almost $200/night, I was expecting a bit more than a minuscule sink (literally, barely large/deep enough to wash my hands) with serious drainage problems; large flat screen TV with no cable signal; and a toilet which looked like it had taken out a public restroom stall and plopped down into the hotel bathroom. The room was just not cozy ... and it didn't help that teenagers' shouts could be heard the ENTIRE night. When I told the staff about our issues, all I got was, "Thank you for your input. We'll take that into consideration." In other words, 'Sorry you had a bad time but I could care less. See ya later.' I think next time we'll pay the extra $20 and try the larger hotel chain next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gioco's is cute, rustic Italian restaurant less than a mile's walk from the hotel. The atmosphere is cozy, prices are fairly average and the food is good!

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich chgo
Worcester England
Mar 5, 2012

Regular visitor

I have been a regulaor visitor to Chicago since 2006 & nowadays always stay at the Essex. Excellent hotel, good rooms, facilities & helpfull staff. Great location too, have not used a cab in years as the nearby red line will get you anywhere in the city. Have stayed in other Chicago hotels but find the Essex by far the best, for value, location, comfort & friendlness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Red line CTA 2 blocks away

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emva
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Great location and inexpensive price

The Essex hotel is in a great location that is walking distance from the Orange line to Midway, 2 blocks away from the Red line, and has bus stops right in front. There are plenty of tourist attractions walking distance from the hotel, including Buckingham fountain and the Bean! The hotel room is small and has an incredibly small sink. It was hard to share with 4 people because there was not enough storage space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
waiwai
Champaign, IL, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Perfect semi-budget stay

Shared a room with a friend, room was spacious and equipped with all the essentials we need! Even come with hair dryer, ironing board and iron, flat screen TV etc. Also, it's near the loop and attractions, we just walked everywhere, and the free shuttle from the inn was just awesome. And luggage storage service after we checked out. Really value for money for all the facilities offered, very satisfied stay overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BKL FL
Cocoa, FL, USA
Feb 5, 2012

My favorite heart of Chicago retreat

Walk everywhere easily, metro to/from airport, museums, restaurants, theater, symphony-- free wireless internet, coffee, fridge in room, easy to check in/out, friendly and convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk everywhere easily, metro to/from airport, museums, restaurants, theater, symphony-- free wireless internet, coffee, fridge in room, easy to check in/out, friendly and convenient

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richardfl
Business
Plantation, FL, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Good location

Near good restaurants and convention center. Nice staff attitude, very helpful at all times. Gym and Restaurant closed, which made me qualify with a low score, they should make arrangements for breakfast availability either in the room or the lobby to overcome the closed restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weekly biz travel
Business
Fremont, MI
Jan 6, 2012

exactly what I needed

The room was clean, small but adequate, interesting, inexpensive, and perfect for my one-night business stay. They provide Rusk toiletries. My only minor complaint was that the vending machines on 5 floors would not accept my change - all my quarters were perhaps too new and the machines too old? - so I gave up (and did not pursue with the hotel staff, so perhaps a fix was available). But I will definitely return for all my business trips, and have already suggested to my husband using this hotel as a base for future leisure travel to Chicago. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a short walk - 10 min maximum - from the Red Line Jackson station.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sus74s7s
grand rapids
Dec 29, 2011

it was alright

the location was great. located near three trains and walkind distance from lake shore drive. i was not impressed with the 39 a night in and out parking tab and no free breakfast in the morning like many other hotels that i have stayed at. plus the restaurant in the hotel was closed the entire weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

rannilis is amazing and they do deliver . the food and portion size is out tof this world for the price.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
juliea
Peoria, IL, USA
Dec 20, 2011

perfect location for football

very nice room, gentleman at check in was very nice. lady at check out not so nice. would we stay again absolutely. great location, very nice room and parking (for a fee) worth it because its right on location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to soldier field

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lakota Music Dad
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Dec 19, 2011

2-Day Getaway

We attended the Midwest Clinic held at the McCormick Center. The Essex was very close to the McCormick Convention Center and served our purpose quite well. The rate was reasonable, the room roomier than other 'loop' hotels, and traffic was not an issue despite the detour on Congress. On the down side, the hotel's restaurant was closed for renovation, making meals an excursion, but in Chicago, not a problem. In addition, we attended the Nutcracker at The Auditorium, two shorts blocks from the Essex.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check for shows at the Auditorium Theatre...well worth the expense....Also there's a nice jazz/blues club just minutes away from the Essex.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search