$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RRusty
Business
Phila
May 7, 2014

ok for the money

nice pool and gym, good location and reasonable price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vickie F.
Business
Plainfield, IL
May 5, 2014

Great spot

It was easy in and out. We didn't stay long enough to use the pool or gym even though we planned on using the gym. Room was great except one wall is Windows so we could hear the loud people talking downstairs. Got the room to attend Wine Riot. Walked to Water Tower too. Overall, great location and room. Would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
no help
Business
mankato mn
Apr 28, 2014

No help.

I was very dissatisfied with my stay. We drove from Mn and when we got there we were told to park our car in their ramp was $50 a night. As a guest i would think parking was inincluded. Then once we got to our room it was really small and not clean. There were socks left there from other guest. When i called the front desk to tell them they just said sorry. Didnt offer to clean it up or anything. The pool also was very dirty. There was items floating on the top of the pool, and what looked like mold growing around the edge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori Marie
Business
chicago, il
Jan 13, 2014

Girls Weekend

The Essex has a great pool. One of the best in downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ttravels
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jan 2, 2014

Windy City Comfort

We enjoyed ANOTHER great stay at the Essex Inn, as staff and location keep us coming back, even through a snow storm! We'll be back!!! T & N

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony91
Business
Crown Point, IN
Jan 2, 2014

Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jose tri
Business
Green Bay, WI
Dec 14, 2013

essex Inn

great check in and check out. Clean adequate room. Lobby is a little under lack luster. The restaurant next to the hotel for breakfast was less than desirable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bears Dan
Business
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Dec 11, 2013

Excellent overnight for Bears game

Pretty much the closest hotel to soldier field. Was a great choice for an overnight after a night Bears game. Positives: Room was clean and recently modernized, with a comfortable bed. Not luxurious, but had an upscale feel. There was a nice french-style bistro attached, which was nice for a quick meal before the game. Negatives: cramped, spartan bathroom; not a lot of lobby amenities. Bottom line: if you can get this for a good price, it's an excellent south loop choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amfortas
Business
VA
Nov 26, 2013

Every thing is nice!

Everything is nice. The room is clean, and the staffs are friendly and willing ti help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetsi
Business
Washington, D.C.
Nov 18, 2013

plumbing

The room was great, staff great, food at restaurant great, location great, and decor nice. The only problem was the cold water faucet handle fell off in my hand, and the shower drain was stopped up, and the water did not go down fast enough. Otherwise, excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gioco's , very close to hotel. Fabulous Italian food. Great service.

Back to menu Return to top