$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sunnyside travelers
Business
New England
Jul 29, 2014

Find Somewhere Else to Stay..There's better choices

We checked into the hotel on Thurs & 3 minutes after we got in our room another couple was given the same room & same key code & opened door with the key...They were given another room. Bathroom-Light worked some days/some days not. We called engineering & he came right away to look at it it but problem continued during our 4 days there. Bathroom door doesn't close properly & opens by itself. Mold, mold, mold on the soap dish in shower. Water from shower doesn't drain properly, takes about 10 minutes, so you stand in water up to your ankles while showering. Carpeting in room was installed when Jesus was a baby. The mattress needed to be changed as it was quite lumpy. Train runs near hotel which was a plus for us but...if you are a light sleeper you will hear it all night. Wi Fi..hardly ever worked which was a major bummer if we wanted to look up sightseeing stuff for Chicago. We went downstairs to use there 2 computers in the lobby only to find they CHARGE you to use it!! We've stayed at lower priced hotels that offer free Wi Fi & it's crazy to pay a decent rate & not get free Wi Fi! No free breakfast is offered either, not even a cup of coffee or muffin! The pool was nice & I used it once. They had 2 lifeguards on duty. I was completely turned off to see that they allowed a family with a baby in diapers to enter the pool!!! How unsanitary is that? The 2 times I asked the front desk for some local info there were clueless! I asked for the closest way to walk to Blue line for the train when we were leaving & the desk clerk suggested a taxi to the stop when it was a few blocks walking distance! There are lots of choices for hotels in this area so if we were going again I would choose somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a 3day, weekly or day pass depending how long you are staying for CTA(transportation). You can get on/off the bus as many times as you want. Go to Wrigley Field, 100 yr anniversary this yr! Go to Navy Pier, very nice. It's the 29C bus form town.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Concert Lovers
Business
Des Plaines, IL
Jul 7, 2014

Convenient to Northerly Island Concerts

Easy 1/2 hour walk thru Museum campus to concerts at northerly island on the lake. Very comfortable beds and could see lake from our room even though we did not have a more expensive lake view room. Very helpful staff and nice restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mayg
Business
Hollywood FL
Jul 6, 2014

short vacation

Like the hotel. Clean and nice staff. Love the location. Close to the subway, the loop, restaurants, the bean. ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Aunt
Business
Phoenix Az
Jun 29, 2014

Horrible

I was so disappointed with the room it was very small smelled bad will not be staying there on my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AffordableChicagoTraveler
Business
Cleveland, OH
May 30, 2014

Affordable hotel in downtown Chicago

This hotel is very reasonably priced. The rooms are on the small side, but they are clean and comfortable. My room had a shower stall which was pretty small. There is a large indoor pool and workout room though the facilities close for staff breaks. The hotel restaurant is good. Front desk staff are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhillyChi traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 26, 2014

Great location for the price

I visited Chicago for a conference and the Essex Inn was convenient to the convention center. The view of the Lake was beautiful and the French restaurant next door had a fantastic brunch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mish father
Business
New york
May 24, 2014

Family

The hotel is good but it has very bad issolation. I hope this issue is fixed to improve the hotel quality..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JMac0824
Business
Windsor, Ont Canada
May 21, 2014

Fine for me

I have stayed at this hotel before because it's convenient for me when attending my conference in Chicago. Our only complaint was that daily we had to ask for more towels or washcloths. If two people are checked into the room, the maid should leave a minimum of 2 towels/washcloths per person, no? And once you've had to call to correct this, it shouldn't have to be done on a daily basis. The room was clean though, no complaints there. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I don't know if the restaurant is actually affiliated with the hotel but we ate there quite often for convenience and the food was very good and we enjoyed the serving staff immensely. Essex Inn will always be an option for me when visiting Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blahblahblah823470834913
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 16, 2014

My room was a dud.

Caulking needs to be re-done in the shower. I don't really like the "moldy crack" look. There wasn't any soap in the room. I had to call down for that. Also, the tv made a constant high pitched whistling noise. Pretty minor stuff. But, there was a cumulative effect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashleyyyyyy
Business
Calgary, Canada
May 13, 2014

Good stay at Essex Inn.

The best part I would say about Essex was the location, we walked everywhere! Very close to everything, millennium park, shopping, eating etc. The room was clean, and the maid did a good job of cleaning it daily. The food was good from the room service we ordered from the restaurant downstairs but very pricey. We were told to call a number when finished for them to pick up the tray, we did that and they never showed up after calling twice. It sat out side our door for a day and a half. we then said something to the front desk and they were quite rude when told them about it. Mind you, upon checking in the agent was really nice! overall we would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top