$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
239 reviews
Great

Clean and comfortable in the heart of downtown. Well worth the price. See full review

  • Cynthiamb123
  • May 10, 2014
Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean... See full review

  • Tony91
  • Jan 2, 2014
Affordable hotel south of Chicago's bustling downtown area
Chicago's Essex Inn has an ideal location ideal on Michigan Avenue, just a few blocks south of the more congested areas of downtown Chicago. Grant Park is across the street, along with many famous Chicago attractions, including Millennium Park and the Art Institute. Sleek in design, the Essex Inn boasts a metal and glass lobby, floor-to-ceiling windows with city views and an impressive atrium housing a large pool. ADA-compliant areas are also available at Chicago's Essex Inn.
Highlights
  • Great value in the city for its location and amenities
  • Rooftop pool available year-round
  • Large, well-equipped fitness room overlooks pool deck
Rooms
A color palette grounded in rich orange and brown earth tones keeps the scene warm. Floor-to-ceiling windows play up the hotel’s strongest asset, the city views. Flat-screen TVs and refrigerators are standard amenities in each room at Chicago's Essex Inn. Guests can have complimentary access to wireless Internet. Rooms also feature ADA-compliant areas.
Features
In a metropolis like Chicago, pools and green space are precious real estate. Chicago's Essex Inn has both.

The garden pool feels like a competitive swimming complex, with a retractable atrium and global flags hanging from the rafters. The pool area features large windows that look out onto the well-manicured grounds of the rooftop garden. From the garden, guests enjoy skyline views of Grant Park and Lake Michigan from comfortable patio chairs and tables. Next to the pool is a large fitness center, featuring bikes, treadmills, weight machines, free weights, as well as six TVs.

Visitors to Chicago who have come to sightsee take advantage of a hotel shuttle bus free of charge. It makes several stops along Michigan Avenue, including Water Tower Place. Other stops include Navy Pier and the Museum Campus.

Travelers who want to stay connected access high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel for a fee, or visit the 24-hour business center.
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (16.1 mi/26 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (8.7 mi/14.1 km)
  • Blue Line (LaSalle to O’Hare) (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum Campus (3.1 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with space for 12 for 125 guests
  • 24-hour business center with desktop computers, high-speed Internet access (fees apply) and a printer
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet available throughout Chicago's Essex Inn
Policies and fees
Parking fee is $50 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago's Essex Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chicago's Essex Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Our tastefully designed guest rooms are thoughtfully appointed with everything you need to enhance your stay whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Our standard rooms feature one queen size bed or two double beds and have amenities such as hairdryers, data port hookups, voicemail messaging, automated wakeup service, iron and ironing board, and 25-inch color TV with extended cable package, including HBO.
Standard Room -ADA accessible
ADA-compliant entrances to the hotel, valet parking in the hotel garage and Accessible public restrooms. There are a number of designated accessible guest rooms which include accessible features as: grab bars in the showers; ADA-compliant sitting stools for showering; hand held shower spray wands; protected plumbing covers; ADA-compliant lavatory fixtures; Lowered security "peep" holes on the doors. Touch lamps and TTY Kits for hearing & visual assistance. The swimming pool and garden deck areas are also accessible and we provide ADA-compliant pool lift; and Accessible Fitness Center with ADA Universal Gym. There are accessible paths of travel to the restaurant located on the premises of the Essex Inn and the restaurant has accessible dining tables.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (239)

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sewing maven
Business
Takoma Park, MD
Jul 3, 2013

Excellent hotel

My roommate and I had a wonderful time and would consider returning to the hotel in the future. It was very convenient for what we needed to do and see in Chicago. The location on Michigan avenue provided easy access to Lake MIchigan as well as other key sightseeing sites such as the Navy Pier, the Art Institute of Chicago as well as both high end shopping and restaurants and theaters. The one drawback is that it is far from the ball stadium and the convention center. The hotel is very convenient if one travels into Midway since it is about half an hour from downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P.A. Trick
Business
Lincoln, Nebraska
May 28, 2013

Great Location

Great location, you can walk or take a <$10 cab ride to about anywhere you need! The hotel has a complementary shuttle service that is very good as well. The room was clean and the staff was excellent. You can't beat this place for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

YOLK for breakfast!! ~2 blocks from the hotel, the portions and prices are very good for chicago! We had a 30-40min wait, but it was a nice day out and the food was worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcisaacpr
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Apr 18, 2013

A truly fine mid-priced hotel.

Very clean, warm, good-smelling place; close to a CTA stop. It's currently being renovated, so I hope it doesn't go too far up in price. But this is the second time I've stayed at the Essex, and I'll definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the CTA (train) to get to and from Chicago Midway Airport. It's faster than a cab and about $50 cheaper each way. A very efficient system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MoeTB Great Mom
Business
Northern Michigan
Apr 8, 2013

family vacation

The hotel was in the perfect location - right downtown on Michigan Street - walking distance to almost everything. The hotel room was spotless, beds comfortable (although small for a queen). Even thought the hotel was going through some remodeling of the lobby the service was great and the personnel working there were extremely nice and very helpful. We came by train and what a great experience that was. We went to the Blue Man Group, a Bulls game and the Navy Pier and Sheds Aquarium, just to name a few of the events we planned. Great coffee shops behind on the next block, great little lunch spots and breakfast at the Yolk just down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of singles to tip the cab drivers because you can go through a lot of fives and tens if you want to tip or just pay for your road trip,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wannabe on the road
Business
Aptos, California
Apr 8, 2013

Under re-model

My first impression of the hotel was NOT good because they are under a re-model of the lobby and a big part of the lobby walls are boarded up. I would have liked to know that before I got there. Our three-day stay was actually fine though. I would have liked two chairs in the room, not just one, given that we were two people. I was visiting Columbia College with my daughter, and the Essex location was perfect. We went to the restaurant attached to the Essex for breakfast on morning and soup one night and both meals were very good.Noise? There is a train that travels close by, but the sound proofing in the rooms is good enough to block most of it out and we slept very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the visitor trolley that tours you around the town and shows you the fun highlights of the city. We had an awesome guide.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeffmpls2013
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 6, 2013

Good place to stay and convenient

Our timing was a bit unfortunate as the hotel was going through a renovation of the main floor but in spite of this, our stay was very pleasant. They have a very nice pool, a workout facility and the rooms are pleasant. The floor to ceiling windows in the room gave us great views of the lake and it was an easy walk to the museum campus (Shedd, Adler and Field) and a pleasant walk to much of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the paths under Congress and Lake Shore Dr to access the Museum Campus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Physician
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 17, 2013

One of the "cheapest" stays in downtown Chicago

I recently visited Chicago for sight-seeing and stayed at the Essex Inn for one night. As I was searching for places to stay, I immediately understood that staying in downtown Chicago is really expensive. Most hotels started from $250 per night for a standard double bedroom. The dismal part was that parking is generally not included in your hotel charge and has to be done at an extra cost. The biggest advantage of this hotel is its location. It is situated within about a mile's walking distance from most major downtown attractions in Chicago (the Willis Tower, Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile, the Buckingham Fountain, the Shedd Aquarium and the Museum). After I reached Chicago, I did not bother to get into my car as I could just walk to all these places. The hotel itself would not leave a great impression by its look from outside, but the room was clean. They offer free Wifi, while most other hotels make you pay a surcharge. This is another advantage. There is a great indoor pool and fitness center that is open long hours which could be convenient for fitness freaks. You could either work out early before your sight-seeing or return later in the evening and get it done. That would be another big plus for the hotel. Breakfast was not included, but that seemed to be the case with all other hotels in Chicago when I did my search. That would be a minus, not for the hotel, but for Chicago itself! Parking costed me a fifth of my hotel stay itself. They valet your car for $41 per night. If you would really like to save on that, you could just park your car in one of the several public parking lots located in the neighborhood (there is a public parking at almost every block) that is twice cheaper if you did an overnight parking. When I checked out the following morning I still had about 6 hours of allotted parking time remaining. I had quite a few places to visit and thought that I might be gone an hour longer than my scheduled car pick-up time. As I thought that it would not be sensible to return to the hotel just to move my car, I had requested if they would bear with me in case I got delayed by an hour or so. I was told that it would cost me an additional $14 per hour if I did not pick up my car on time. I just decided to move my car right away to a nearby public parking where I ended up paying $12 for the next 10 hours that gave me ample time to complete my sight-seeing. Bottom line: This is a decent place if you need to stay in downtown Chicago (the loop). Be prepared to spend a lot of money, in general during your visit. You could plan ahead and save money through time management and utilizing public parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

PUBLIC PARKING

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivan Austin
Business
Chicago
Feb 14, 2013

Great location

The location of this hotel was ideal for the trip! The service was not anything too special and the lobby's construction definitely did not make the entrance appealing. No major complaints, overall I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
0kat3
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jan 28, 2013

Great stay !

It was a great location to walk to things. Staff and hotel were great ! Had an amazing time !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reiki Master
Business
Indiana
Jan 20, 2013

Buddy Guy trip

Great hotel,fair price and wonderful location. We were in town to attend Legends to see Buddy Guy. Walk was about 1 1/2 blks. Will return in the summer and take advantage of their shuttle service to Navy Pier & surrounding sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit Legends - 1 1/2 blk. walking. Great entertainment and food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top