$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Aunt
Business
Phoenix Az
Jun 29, 2014

Horrible

I was so disappointed with the room it was very small smelled bad will not be staying there on my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AffordableChicagoTraveler
Business
Cleveland, OH
May 30, 2014

Affordable hotel in downtown Chicago

This hotel is very reasonably priced. The rooms are on the small side, but they are clean and comfortable. My room had a shower stall which was pretty small. There is a large indoor pool and workout room though the facilities close for staff breaks. The hotel restaurant is good. Front desk staff are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhillyChi traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 26, 2014

Great location for the price

I visited Chicago for a conference and the Essex Inn was convenient to the convention center. The view of the Lake was beautiful and the French restaurant next door had a fantastic brunch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mish father
Business
New york
May 24, 2014

Family

The hotel is good but it has very bad issolation. I hope this issue is fixed to improve the hotel quality..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JMac0824
Business
Windsor, Ont Canada
May 21, 2014

Fine for me

I have stayed at this hotel before because it's convenient for me when attending my conference in Chicago. Our only complaint was that daily we had to ask for more towels or washcloths. If two people are checked into the room, the maid should leave a minimum of 2 towels/washcloths per person, no? And once you've had to call to correct this, it shouldn't have to be done on a daily basis. The room was clean though, no complaints there. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I don't know if the restaurant is actually affiliated with the hotel but we ate there quite often for convenience and the food was very good and we enjoyed the serving staff immensely. Essex Inn will always be an option for me when visiting Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blahblahblah823470834913
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 16, 2014

My room was a dud.

Caulking needs to be re-done in the shower. I don't really like the "moldy crack" look. There wasn't any soap in the room. I had to call down for that. Also, the tv made a constant high pitched whistling noise. Pretty minor stuff. But, there was a cumulative effect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashleyyyyyy
Business
Calgary, Canada
May 13, 2014

Good stay at Essex Inn.

The best part I would say about Essex was the location, we walked everywhere! Very close to everything, millennium park, shopping, eating etc. The room was clean, and the maid did a good job of cleaning it daily. The food was good from the room service we ordered from the restaurant downstairs but very pricey. We were told to call a number when finished for them to pick up the tray, we did that and they never showed up after calling twice. It sat out side our door for a day and a half. we then said something to the front desk and they were quite rude when told them about it. Mind you, upon checking in the agent was really nice! overall we would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cynthiamb123
Business
Ohio
May 10, 2014

Great

Clean and comfortable in the heart of downtown. Well worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RRusty
Business
Phila
May 7, 2014

ok for the money

nice pool and gym, good location and reasonable price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vickie F.
Business
Plainfield, IL
May 5, 2014

Great spot

It was easy in and out. We didn't stay long enough to use the pool or gym even though we planned on using the gym. Room was great except one wall is Windows so we could hear the loud people talking downstairs. Got the room to attend Wine Riot. Walked to Water Tower too. Overall, great location and room. Would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top